Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Yonkers Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 151 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Yonkers

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $272,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2010

Both of my children attended YCA from Pre-K through 8th grade. They left and excelled in high school. I was so pleased with a staff that loved God and my children, and how they provided such a great environment for them to learn and grown in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

I have two children in the school. Both have attended since preK. My oldest reads above average and my youngest is learning Spanish! Most importantly YCA is teaching them Godly values, which is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My son has completed two grade levels at YCA. My husband and I are surprised and excited at how much he has learned in such a short time. He's reading and progressing faster that what we had planned for him. Most importantly he's developing realationships and making friends along the way. The camp is a blessing for working parents. Thank you YCA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

YCA has taken a turn for the worse. The staffing and maintenance is sub par at the best. At this point the only thing the school has over other schools is the class size. January of 2008 the do not have a full t
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My daughter has attended YCA for 3 years and I love the idea of a small school. I believe that the students at all levels are working hard to gain the knowledge thats needed to suceed. But the school could use some improvements. Teachers need to be giving workshops to enhance the knowledge that needed for the changing times. It is my opinion that the pride of YCA's teachers, students, and adminstrative staff should reflect the standards of what YCA is all about. In addition a building facelift is desperately needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

My son started attending YCA at age 3. Now at age 5 his reading, spelling, mathematics, Bible studies etc. is way above normal. With YCA rigorous curriculum and wonderful teaching staff my son has gained knowledge that will prepare him for 1st grade. I would like to say, thank you to all the loving staff and principal Moodie for doing a fantastic job. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

The Yonkers Christian Academy is a small school (which I like) where the principal knows all of his parents as well as his students. My twins started in the pre k-3 (3 year old) program and they write as well as identify the letters of the alphabet. Due to this they are writing and spelling their names. They also give you the sound of every letter of the alphabet as well as give you an example of a word that begins with this letter/sound. My children love their teacher as well as their classmates. Looking at the older students, one can only look forward to their child reaching the upper grades. They are always well mannered and respectful. The school has a very good curriculum and I would definately recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

My childs first year in YCA and he loves it.Yca is a school the children come first each child is encouraged to do their best without being label.The principal is a great principal (i wish every one could be like him.)He's very active with each students the staff,teachers are also great to. I'm proud of this school it gave my child encouragement and confidence that he needs for the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

YCA is a small, private school with top rated teachers and a rigorous curricullum. I am happy to have my son attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 21%
Hispanic 25% 21%
Two or more races 14% N/A
Asian 10% N/A
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ruth Narvaez
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

229 North Broadway
Yonkers, NY 10701
Phone: (914) 963-0507

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




School 9
Yonkers, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT