Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Yorktown Heights, NY
Students enrolled: 1,296

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yorktown High School 1

Posted October 07, 2014
- a community member
Yorktown High School used to be a place of joy and fun. Teenagers used to walk through the doors so happy to go to class, have lunch with their friends and then go play sports. Since the school has placed ridiculous rules and regulations kids are rebelling even more. What high schooler wants to go to school 5 minutes late and get detention? They would rather just not go in at all. Well there you go, so now more kids will be missing school. The common core is ridiculous also. Kids are now learning things that they already have, at least for the older grades. Finally some of the authority figures wear such short skirts I don't know how they don't have to go home and change. I am so disappointed with this school and will never let my child walk into this high school.

Yorktown High School 5

Posted March 28, 2012
- a community member
Yorktown High School is amazing! The faculty is top notch and dedicated to the students. Everyone from teachers to counselors use a team effort to help students. New administration over the past few years has given the district a new, positive look and more consistency. Parents and students can view their teacher grade books online and receive up to date information on a daily basis. Parents love this!


Yorktown High School 3

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
Just wanted to concur with complaints about the administrators of this school. Awful. They are petty and more concerned about the school's reputation in the press than about student welfare. School psychologist and special education services compare quite poorly compared with other area schools (ie, Chappaqua, Briarcliffe, Pleasantville). Good music, sports, and science research programs. Science department is strong.

Yorktown High School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
Both of my kids have gone through the Yorktown school system. My son is about to graduate from college and my daughter is a senior at YHS and she is making her college choice now. Many AP and Honors classes are available, great sports, and and I can't say enough about the incredible music program in all of the schools. Parents of course need to be involved and it is encouraged. We are all pleased with the results!!

Yorktown High School 1

Posted December 21, 2010
- a parent
Incompetent administration. School psychologist and social workers are utterly unqualified and misguided. Although there are some excellent teachers, others are deficient and incapable of teaching their subjects. If your child is an athlete or self-motivated learner, they may have a good experience. However, the average student is likely to be ignored and left to their own devices until they get into trouble at which time, they will be summarily suspended. Suspension seems to be the sole solution to all student difficulties at this school.


Yorktown High School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
Great attitude towards learning, sports and overall development. Teachers are top notch and the school is like a college campus. A great atmosphere for learning.

Yorktown High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My experience with Yorktown Schools have been excellent. Both my sons graduated from YHS and have gone on to College. Their experience was a positive influence on the men they have become. Thank you YHS!!!

Yorktown High School 5

Posted December 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Yorktown High School 5

Posted December 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Yorktown High School 5

Posted November 04, 2008
- a parent
Yorktown is a great school with dedicated teachers and amazing student body. Almost 95% of the students that graduate go on to higher learning. It is set in a very safe community about 40 minutes outside of New York City. A great place to raise a family.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yorktown High School
2727 Crompond Road, Yorktown Heights, NY  10598
(914) 243-8000
Last modified Yorktown High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yorktown High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top