Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harnett Central Middle
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
If your child is in upper grade AG courses, beware. Tons of homework. Maybe this is preparing them for college?

Harnett Central Middle 4

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
For an overcrowded school, because of the lack of funds and insight to the quickly growing central area, this school functions well. Extremely diverse. Many student activity possibilities. Vast array of elective possibilities. Pull out programs for EC to AG. To address the previous comment about walking in lines and waiting your turn to go into a bathroom....wouldn't you want the safest environment possible for your child? Safety isn't exhibited when 40 11 year olds are jammed into a bathroom. Obviously the task cannot take place efficiently or safely. When 1200 students transition in a hallway, lines are impossible. However, students are expected to stay in line on the way to lunch, the library, etc. Otherwise, there would be chaos and people would be commenting on the chaos.


Harnett Central Middle 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a community member
I am a student and this is not a bad school. I have AG classes with mrs.king and we learn everything we have to. I fee like the person that said that Hispanics are racist to white people is lying I have many white and black friends and if you ask any student they would tell you that they are friends with at least a Hispanic. We are currently getting chrome books every student is getting one. For all those people who have said that this is a bad school are lying yes it's not a perfect school but the teachers are great at what they do. And yes maybe they can't stop all the fights that happen but there ain't any school that doesn't have fights.

Harnett Central Middle 1

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
The teachers have said to the students that they don't know what they are teaching. Fights break out in front of teachers and they do not do anything. The teachers are absent AT LEAST once a week. This school could not be any worse. Hispanics are racist towards the white kids. It is truly a terrible school.

Harnett Central Middle 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a teacher
I have worked in three middle schools and this one is by far the best. The administration is extremely fair and they work hard to promote a positive morale among students as well as the staff. We have excellent teachers on our staff that really care about kids. The kids are some of the best I've worked with, as well. We have some problems, like any middle school, but overall this is a great place to work and learn.


Harnett Central Middle 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a teacher
Reading some of these reviews I have to clear some problems up. To people that talk about poor communication: HCMS has Sunday all calls, meaning that every person that is on the school call list gets a phone call with all the upcoming information that is necessary. To talk about how students are in the hall, we have one of the largest middle schools in the state and if you just allow middle school students to roam, they will roam and a lot of them cause problems in the hall with noise and playing around. To talk about that students are not to be heard, I will disagree whole heartedly, I myself use SIOP and many other student centered and driven classroom instruction models daily. I know many to most of my other co-workers are alike in this. I hope this shines a better light on my workplace and everyone takes a second look at HCMS.

Harnett Central Middle 1

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
This school has the worst communication between parents and teachers. They rely on students to relay messages home verbally. Is it to hard to use email?

Harnett Central Middle 1

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
If you are moving to the area and are considering enrolling your child into this school I have one piece of advice for you. DONT DO IT! This school is run by egomaniac authoritarians who believe that children should be seen and not heard. If you have never seen 6th, 7th, and 8th graders standing outside the bathroom going in one at a time then you will be shocked when you see it here. They are required to walk in lines everywhere they go, and are constantly followed and observed so they can be immediately disciplined for the smallest of infractions. It reminds me of my days in Marine Corps Basic Training! The children are segregated on the bus as well as in PE class, and they are not allowed to talk to each other, EVER! If they open their mouths to speak they are immediately and publicly disciplined by the staff. And that includes while they are eating lunch. The teachers believe that parent teacher conferences are only for children who are having problems with their grades, or who they deem to be causing problems. I strongly urge you to spend a few minutes walking the hallways observing how the students and teachers interact before enrolling your child here.


Harnett Central Middle 4

Posted January 18, 2012
- a teacher
Centrally located in Angier, NC. Population of around 1200 students, grades 6-8. Awesome arts department!

Harnett Central Middle
no rating

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
Harnett county isnt too bad once you see it. It's really ok the classrooms are nice and the teachers are stern but fun and that always helps getting childerens attention

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harnett Central Middle
2529 Harnett Central Road, Angier, NC  27501
(919) 639-6000
Last modified Harnett Central Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harnett Central Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top