Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Lake Middle 2

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
This school has great potential, but the staff could use a nudge in a more positive direction. They let children slip through the cracks and a big issues seems to be lost grades! SPAN is useless for reporting grades because the teachers do not keep the accounts up to date. Speaking with the principle is like pulling teeth (very defensive!) and they don't care what your concerns are for your child's furture. Seem to be in it for a paycheck. Not a good approach to teaching (especially when preparing for high school). Time for a change!

West Lake Middle 5

Posted August 03, 2012
- a community member
I just graduated from West Lake and am currently going to attend Middle Creek this coming month. I couldn't see myself spending my three years of middle school anywhere else! It was a great environment to learn, and the teachers were extremely helpful, even when you didn't realize you needed a little nudge. The student body is full of kind students (for the most part) and not only that but the administration really cracks down on those who need discipline. I am going to sincerely miss West Lake and all of the teachers in it.


West Lake Middle 3

Posted July 16, 2012
- a parent
The office personel is friendly and helpful. However the Principal doesn't give a flip about your situation or anything!! I wish my child didn't have to go here just because of her! The teachers seem to be great....Get a new principal!

West Lake Middle 1

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
This school along with its Principal needs a major reformation. This school and its administration is indicative of the failed public school system here in NC.

West Lake Middle 5

Posted September 04, 2011
- a community member
I'm a current 8th grader at West Lake and my years there have been great! The teachers are wonderful, and it has a wonderful academics curriculum. The teachers are truly caring for the students and take time out of there day to help other students when needed. Once I graduate I'm sure to miss West Lake.


West Lake Middle 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a teacher
I love West Lake Middle school because it has so many dedicated, caring, and experienced teachers. It has been rated as one of the top year-round middle schools in the county and the state of NC. The year-round calender gives students, parents, and teachers periodic breaks, which allows for non-traditional vacation times and venues!

West Lake Middle 1

Posted July 19, 2010
- a parent
Parents are not welcome by administration. Admin. flexes their authority on students and parents alike. Students experience quiet lunches, blanket punishments, etc. NOT FAIR for the majority to suffer for the few bad apples in the bunch. Keep an open dialect between students and other parentS. STAND TOGETHER! Standing alone brings negative outcome. I've done my research. The newest concern is who is going to replace the outgoing principal. Will it be the current female administrator who rules with an iron hand and lacks honest care and concern?

West Lake Middle 2

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
School is struggling under the new principal's leadership. He is not responsive to emails and school is running more and more sluggishly. Carpool line is now a quagmire, teachers are grubbling--can't imagine how the day to day operations are going.


West Lake Middle 5

Posted February 19, 2010
- a student
West Lake is an excellent school with wonderful teachers. Every teacher is willing to adjust to individual needs and take time out of their day to help explain something you didn't quite get or help you get caught up on a assaignment that you miss. West Lake offers many great sports and extracurricular activites for all students. They have a great advanced program. West Lake has been nothing but a great experience for me.

West Lake Middle 0
no rating

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
I cannot stand the way this school is run. They never answer the phones and they don't care about the students or parents, only their reputation. Forget it if you have a child with special needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Lake Middle
4600 West Lake Road, Apex, NC  27502
(919) 662-2900
Last modified West Lake Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Lake Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews.