Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Lake Middle
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The service club does a great job with this. Teachers are very caring. No programs to promote this overall that we can see this year.

West Lake Middle
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Education on bullying and social media needed. mean girl drama needs counseling. attitude of inclusiveness apart from sports and clubs is not there.


West Lake Middle 3

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
There is new leadership at this school. We have had some great teachers in the past. We now feel like the staff is spread too thin and discipline issues are affecting learning. The principal sends out a good communication each week but otherwise is unapproachable. "Mean kid" issues including social media bullying were addressed in the past to teach kids behavior and anti bullying . We are not seeing that this year nor the safety officer presence. The verdict still out on how this affects education. Clubs and sports and PTA at this school are all great.

West Lake Middle 5

Posted December 21, 2014
- a community member
All of my years at West Lake have been amazing! It is a very hard core school but everything is done to raise your potential. This school has been known for lots of homework, which is true coming from a current eighth grader at this school, but now I am almost positive I'm prepared for high school. I don't know what I would have done if it weren't for all my amazing teachers that really do care about everyone and encouraged me to do better and study harder. Our sports teams are really hard to make but that's a reason that we are so good in almost all of them. Their have been mean kids at school, the only thing you can do is avoid them and be sure to get in the right crowd when you start school. If things really get bad that is when you tell a teacher or talk to the school counselor so they can handle the problem. You really have to work hard and do your best each year, but those three have been the best.

West Lake Middle 3

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
The school is ok but a lot of the kids here at this school are snobby and mean.My daughter got picked on by a bunch of girls while one of her friends spread a rumor about her.She is usually lonely on a daily basis and the teachers don't even talk to her about it.


West Lake Middle 2

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
This school has great potential, but the staff could use a nudge in a more positive direction. They let children slip through the cracks and a big issues seems to be lost grades! SPAN is useless for reporting grades because the teachers do not keep the accounts up to date. Speaking with the principle is like pulling teeth (very defensive!) and they don't care what your concerns are for your child's furture. Seem to be in it for a paycheck. Not a good approach to teaching (especially when preparing for high school). Time for a change!

West Lake Middle 5

Posted August 03, 2012
- a community member
I just graduated from West Lake and am currently going to attend Middle Creek this coming month. I couldn't see myself spending my three years of middle school anywhere else! It was a great environment to learn, and the teachers were extremely helpful, even when you didn't realize you needed a little nudge. The student body is full of kind students (for the most part) and not only that but the administration really cracks down on those who need discipline. I am going to sincerely miss West Lake and all of the teachers in it.

West Lake Middle 3

Posted July 16, 2012
- a parent
The office personel is friendly and helpful. However the Principal doesn't give a flip about your situation or anything!! I wish my child didn't have to go here just because of her! The teachers seem to be great....Get a new principal!


West Lake Middle 1

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
This school along with its Principal needs a major reformation. This school and its administration is indicative of the failed public school system here in NC.

West Lake Middle 5

Posted September 04, 2011
- a community member
I'm a current 8th grader at West Lake and my years there have been great! The teachers are wonderful, and it has a wonderful academics curriculum. The teachers are truly caring for the students and take time out of there day to help other students when needed. Once I graduate I'm sure to miss West Lake.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Lake Middle
4600 West Lake Road, Apex, NC  27502
(919) 662-2900
Last modified West Lake Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Lake Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top