Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Apex, NC
Students enrolled: 925
 

3 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lufkin Road Middle 3

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
The only reason I don't rate this school 2 star, because its definition: bad. Although the school by itself isn't bad, but as a parent's of a student who studies there I would rather describe as a factory. Teachers are very uninterested to inspire students (although it could be part of their exhausting daily grinds coming from the certain political pressures) Other than trying get through their curriculum they have no interest and looks like knowledge how to expend the children' interest. My child doesn't study home at all and still an A student, yet the school does nothing to challenge these kids. No effort was put in to Spelling bee, Geo bee, (teacher hardly knew when is the competition because they were so busy just to keep up with the politics if they want to keep either their job or salary. Us parents, technically know nothing what goes around in the school unless we have an articulate child, who is willing talk about the daily things. I don't blame the teachers (mostly) but the leadership who gives more emphasis -just look at LRM school home page- for events that has nothing to academic achievement, than recognizing their hard working students. It is definitely a disappointment at least the leadership in the point of comparing to Oak Grove Elementary. And just as my last thought I just saw one of my fellow parent's review and had the exact experience and opinion "I'm not sure what awards program the reviewer below this attended, but I have to agree that it was a mess and the principal did neglect to recognize an entire group of students." Principal Sinders is either not aware what goes around in her "court" or really incompetent to understand what is her job truly.

Lufkin Road Middle
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
school does nothing. We parents probably do this work. I have not experienced one occasion that teachers or the school did something to develop these traits.


Lufkin Road Middle 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a community member
Recent test scores were released and Lufkin Road Middle School was in the top 5 middle schools in a 3-4 county area. Great leadership! High expectations!
1 person found this helpful

Lufkin Road Middle 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
There is poor communication and leadership at this school. Some teachers here are very good, but there are too many that do not meet the needs of the students, especially in math and language arts. I really appreciate those teachers here that give their all, but the failure in the math and language arts have done immense damage to my child s academic progress. Check the year over year test performance on the EOG before you send your child here.
1 person found this helpful

Lufkin Road Middle 1

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
Why must children go here to this school! I can't believe why is there such great reviews!
2 people found this helpful


Lufkin Road Middle 1

Posted June 23, 2013
- a community member
FIVE more days! Thank goodness, as this year has been the total opposite of last year at Lufkin under the leadership (or lack of) Principal Sinders. The only thing I can say she's good at is delegating...she doesn't return emails, phone calls, promises made, etc. Oh, she's also very good at moving teachers around from one subject and grade to another...even the tenured teachers who have mastered their curriculum. I'm not sure what awards program the reviewer below this attended, but I have to agree that it was a mess and the principal did neglect to recognize an entire group of students. My child was one of them!
4 people found this helpful

Lufkin Road Middle 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers who give sufficient homework that related to what their students learned in class. I especially like the study guides they provided to their students to help them prepare for the quizzes or tests. Furthermore, the regular tests they provided help the students to keep up with what they learned. Language Art writing assignments were interesting and challenging for my son. School environment is great and promote learning. We like this school a lot. My son especially won't miss classes and always looking forward to go to school.

Lufkin Road Middle 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
This was our first year at Lufkin and we liked it very much. My child LOVES all her teachers and likes the other kids. After experiencing 2 other middle schools (with older children), it seems Lufkin has practically no discipline problems or disruptive students in class. I also feel like the work is challenging but relevant. The only drawback I see is the lack of electives that other middle schools might have.


Lufkin Road Middle 1

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
This year was a nightmare. I agree with other comments posted below about Tr 3. We will not be coming back next year.
4 people found this helpful

Lufkin Road Middle 1

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
Lufkin Road Middle School had a reputation of being top notch, with encouraging, happy teachers her were eager to inspire greatness in their students every day. The same can not be said this year, especially of the teachers on Track 3. Either they aren't receiving positive support from above or their light has burned out and they are just ticking off the days. This is our second year here and it is a disappointment compared to last year and years passed. Putting in request for transfer; something we never though we'd do after last year's success. I'd steer clear of Band as an elective, unless you don't mind playtime as a class period.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lufkin Road Middle
1002 Lufkin Road, Apex, NC  27502
(919) 387-4465
Last modified Lufkin Road Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lufkin Road Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top