Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Middle Creek Elementary 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
My daughter loves this school. She's in Miss Morgans class for elementary school and is having a blast. Miss Morgan is very attentive to detail spends a lot of time with the children and treats each one equally. We are enjoying our first year at this school. the principal is very good. Very focused on academic and student growth. Melissa

Middle Creek Elementary 3

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
I am feeling frustrated! We just began kindergarten in August and have seen a consistent disconnect in communication since the first day. I have emailed the teacher, sent notes and still no response. This school will send home newsletters via email and paper form referring to websites or special dates to pay attention to, but lack the tools to get there. For example the daddy and daughter dance. It has no link on either the school website or kindergarten website. Nothing was sent home in our folder either. Over all very disappointed in the school and teacher communication / involvement they brag about.


Middle Creek Elementary 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
We are so thankful to Middle Creek Elementary, Ms. Parrish, the teachers and staff! Ms. Parrish's enthusiasm and warmth create a loving and supportive environment that has helped our children thrive. With the exception of one substitute, we have had overwhelmingly positive experiences with all employees at MCES! We have a 5th grader who has been here since 2nd grade and is in AIG and a Kindergartner who is being evaluated for an IEP. The school has been very supportive of both of our children, despite the fact that they are very different students, and has provided resources to help them both be happy and successful! MCES also has a great PTA and the parents provide extra resources for the classrooms. We have been at several schools, including private, and this is the best place for our children. We love the school so much that we chose to stay and provide transportation after we moved across town. We can't say enough good things about MCES!

Middle Creek Elementary 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely excellent school. The teachers are wise and caring, and extend themselves beyond expectation to make sure all students are nurtured and made to feel successful. The focus is on the child--not on the test score, a refreshing change from another school we had unfortunate experiences with. The administration is the best I have ever seen. The principal is a gifted manager, surrounding herself with competent and talented staff-- and she lets them shine. I feel so lucky to have found such a marvelous school.

Middle Creek Elementary 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Awesome school, having my child enrolled this year. Teachers are professional yet have special relationship with parents and students. This reay helps the students with their learning and comforts the parents, I know my child will be jus fine.


Middle Creek Elementary 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school related to parent involvement. While I am not too impressed by my daughter's teacher in Track 2, the activities for the kids are great! The principal; Ms Parrish is a wonderful presence and clearly has great goals for the school. This year there was the Annual Art Expressions contest, which was a wonderful opportunity for the students, and the 2nd Scripps Spelling B at the school. They had a father daughter dance, which was a lovely time for the students. The list goes on and on. I think that over time this school will get better and better.

Middle Creek Elementary 5

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
This is our second year in MCES. I am very, very happy with the teachers my children have this year. They are challenged, disciplined appropriately and nurtured. Both teachers display a great desire to want to teach the children in their classes. My children come home with an appropriate amount of home work that isn't just "busy work" but an extension of what they are learning in the classroom. The principal is new this year so I do not have much feedback on her yet, but to say she is a very friendly, approachable person. Overall, I'm very happy with the staff, policies and procedures at MCES.

Middle Creek Elementary 2

Posted July 07, 2010
- a parent
I find that many of the teachers here are too young just out of college, the teachers my children had this year were very poor at communication and overall were lazy in regards to teaching. If it weren't for my persistence in helping my children learn, I am not sure where they would be right now. Teachers also change grades way to much, there is no consistency and chance to become proficient in that grade.


Middle Creek Elementary
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I found Middle Creek Elementary a school in which they really believe it is all about the children. Providing an education strong on ensuring our well rounded individuals who show respect for one another while learning the fundamentals on which we all strive to know.

Middle Creek Elementary 2

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Although the principal seems friendly and approachable, the school seems to lack an emphasis on pushing the children to excel academically. Most recognition and decisions are made to ensure every child is included. It appears the principal frowns on recognizing students academic achievemenst for fear he might be leaving a group out. We have attended much strong academic schools where a students' talents in reading, math, writing, art, etc. were recognized as examples for the whole school. You don't feel the academic push here at MIddle Creek. I always get the feeling that the teachers and staff are just trying to get by. There is a lot of effort on the underachievers, but someone needs to ask why there are so many to begin with in this school system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Middle Creek Elementary
110 Middle Creek Park Avenue, Apex, NC  27502
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (919) 773-9555
Last modified Middle Creek Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top