Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Avery's Creek Elementary

Public | K-4 | 662 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

My child started attending Avery's Creek in the 2012-2013 school year. He was unhappy about the move and leaving his first school behind. The staff worked very hard with him and his teachers have been more than we could hope for in their determination to help him be his best. He has gone from below reading level to above, his math scores are excellent, and he is happy there. Principal Nunez has been very good for the school. She shows interest in all the students and works very hard to help the school excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

Once again, the bully prevails with the help of an ineffectual, disrespectful, and rude administration. The victim's family is left paralyzed from the farcical policies and nonexistent regulations of their zero tolerance bully system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

One of my children, was consistently assaulted both verbally and physically, by a particular student. The administration failed to protect my child. One day at car rider line dismissal, I was told that my kindergartener could be located. After 20 minutes, I found my child huddled, in a corner crying. Administration blamed my 5 year old instead of the person, being paid to watch the children. Enroll your children at your own risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

Avery's Creek is far ahead of the curve in embracing a global identity. This school is exceptional.


Posted August 19, 2013

This school is horrible! They claim they don't allow bullying yet my daughter has been tormented on several occasions without anything being done. The administration and staff is absolutely incompetent and rude as can be! The principal is the worst of them all! The only reason I gave it two stars is because of Mr.Worley! He is the only teacher there worth mentioning and cares about the students, besides making a positive impact in their lives. Thank you Mr. Worley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

my daughter attended this school and was treated with disrespect and unconcern for her needs, the princapal is rude, hateful and uncaring. this school is over crowded and unorganized. my daughter was also bullied at this school and nothing was every done about it .it was always just dismissed as normal childhood behavior. i would not allow my children to attend this school if you can help it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

Averys creek is a great school with very nice staff members. All I have to say is that their food is not always good. I'd like them to cook their chicken nuggets a little longer.But alltogether it is the best school in buncombe county, and I would certanly recommend it!


Posted August 1, 2008

This school is overcrowded and has not passed the end of grade testing for a least 2 years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

We LOVE Avery's Creek Elementary. The teachers are great and our child has enjoyed going to school every day. We are excited about starting first grade in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

My child finished kindergarten this year. For the most part, I was very pleased with how things went. Her teacher was a former 1st grade teacher from another school. She challenged the kids to do the best they can. She was always friendly & very willing to help out and deal with any concerns/questions we had. My biggest gripe was not getting enough notice when fundraisers were about to start, or when they were selling something, like field day t-shirts & pictures. In most cases, we got a week. It would be nice to have several weeks notice, to be able to save up the money. All in all, I'm happy with the school & look forward to next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

We experienced bullying at this School with both of our children attending there. We are very disappointed in the School system & Teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

We've not been impressed with the school so far. We've been very disappointed. At open house we didn't see anything they've been doing for the entire month. We were shocked about that. The former teacher now bus driver made my kids cry several times so I finally pulled them off the bus. I think they're unorganized and not prepared for anything. I'll give them one star for trying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

Our daughter really enjoys going to Avery's Creek. Nice kids, nice families. We really appreciate how caring the teachers and the bus drivers are! Academically, we feel the school is challenging enough and our daughter's reading level and mathmatic abilities have greatly improved since she has attended Averys Creek. She seems to want to do well there! The only improvement we could wish for is more extracurricular opportuinities.. A chorus, drama club, science club.? We believe this could really make this school stand above the rest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

Overall it's a good school with a friendly and caring environment. The bus drivers are great! The cafeteria is crowded. Some teachers are burned out and need to go while others still love what they do! There seems to be a lack of discipline or control in some classes. Kindergarten and 5th grade were tough for my son as there was a noticeable personality conflict between him and his teachers. Mr. Wince the art teacher is the best ever! The school is made up of very diverse families. I would love to see afterschool activities or clubs for students of all backgrounds to have a chance to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

I was VERY happy with my daughters teacher. She really cared about all of the students and my daughter loved every day she went to school! My son had a great year too but his teacher seemed a little overwhelmed. There were a lot of boys in his class and it got pretty crazy in there. I felt like my son wasn't pushed enough in work they did and because the class was so out of order, they didn't get to focus and do the best they could do in work. The lunch room is also very small for the amount of children at that school. They have to really rush to eat and get out of there so the next class can take their place. Overall I like the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

Avery's Creek is a great school! It helped my child so much!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female55%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students57%
Female55%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female57%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students55%
Female61%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 52%
Hispanic 32% 14%
Black 8% 26%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Ibis Nunez
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (828) 654-9801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Park South Boulevard
Arden, NC 28704
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 654-1810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carolina Day School
Asheville, NC


Carolina Day School
Asheville, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT