Advertisement

Carolina Day School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Asheville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

This school is amazing and the primary focus is well centered on the children and how to teach according to their learning styles keeping the environment challenging and safe. Greatest school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

My son has been at Key School for 2 years now, and it has been just what he needed. An excellent fit. He went from being a boy terrified, and discouraged with respect to reading, to a boy who always has a book in his hands! He loves it there, and the other students and the teachers "get" how he is wired. I highly recommend it. I wish it were a lower cost to be more in reach for all, but the school does community outreach, & has a pool of great tutors at their "tutoring connection". We are not elitist or wealthy; the school has been very supportive of our son's learning and nurturing his gifts. We appreciate their positive view of students with learning differences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

I am bewildered by the wide range of reviews. It's either the best or the worst. No school is perfect for every child. It is always difficult to be part of a new school especially after many of the students have been together since p-k. I have had 2 children and now my 4 grandchildren attend this school. I sat on the board and havebeen part of parents group. One thing that never changes is the caring and talented teachers. Both my children did well in college and felt well prepared. One grandchild just completed 2 years at Key school and has entered the Middle school where he is excited about going to school everyday. They recognized that he might be having difficulty in Kindergarden. A plan was put in place and carefully monitored. Are the facilities bright and shiny with every gadget that has come along, no. What they do have are well trained teachers who get the most out of each child. They realize every child doesn't learn the same way and work with their talents. I think if you are interested, set up an appointment and judge for yourself. It may be the perfect place for your child.


Posted January 8, 2014

i had my son in this school .he never liked it since the first day .very rude and ignorant environment .curriculum is not according to the grade standard .this school can not compete a good public school .public schools runs on the organized system while this school has nothing like that .i do not recommend this school to anyone.worst ever school i have ever seen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

I am both a parent of a child at the Key School and a public educator. The Key School has been a truly remarkable experience for my daughter. She was very successful in public school (A's & 4's on EOG's), but I could tell she wasn't enjoying school. The Key School focuses on a child's strengths, while providing a comprehensive multi-sensory program for her dyslexia. We tried the public school route with tutoring, but she was exhausted from the hours of tutoring after school. Now, she has a differentiated program during school and has the energy to EXCEL in sports and other activities after school. We aren't "rich" and I have to work to put her through school. Every day, I am thankful that we have the Key School in Asheville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

I have had a wonderful experience at Carolina Day. The school has consistently provided intellectually and academically advanced child the enrichment and acceleration that she has needed over the years. The school is flexible and looks at the needs of the whole child to provided appropriate accommodations for exceptional and twice exceptional children. I highly recommend it for a rich educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Spent 2 years at this school (after receiving a partial scholarship for our gifted 2nd grader). Though the curriculum is taught at a higher level than public school, there was no plan in place for gifted students - no AIG program. Our child was consistently sent to the office for "behavioral" problems where we were lectured to by the lower school principal in a condescending tone and eventual threatened expulsion with the undertone that we needed to medicate. It was not until the 2nd semester that we learned that the teacher was having issues and took a leave of absence. Still CDS never took responsibility for the poor experience. If you have an average to slightly above average student and a hugely above average bank account, I suppose this school may work out for you. Go to the staff directory first and see if you can find a person of color, if diversity in education means anything to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

Carolina Day School is a little gem of a school. CDS serves 650 students from pre-K through 12. It has the best student-teacher ratios around; many classrooms have teacher assistants. Students get plenty of one-on-one attention, and receive extra help in subjects that challenge them. If a topic sparks special interest, teachers encourage that student and support him in pursuing it further. The quality of education is unparalleled. The challenging curriculum gives upper school students an edge when applying for college. The Key School (a separate part of CDS) offers specialized assistance to students with learning differences. Carolina Day imparts the virtues of honesty, integrity, compassion, and working hard to achieve one's goals to its students. CDS reaches out into to the community, stressing volunteerism to help prepare its charges to be future leaders. Carolina Day feels like family. It is a close-knit, welcoming community. Parents and alumni are very involved and enjoy participating in the classroom. My daughter has blossomed at Carolina Day - personally, socially and academically. I would highly recommend it to any family looking for high-quality, personalized education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

The best education in town. We have three kids there and they enjoy going to school, being challenged academically and having wonderful opportunity in sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Carolina Day is an amazing school! They are kind, whole-child focused, innovative educators who continue to impress me at every step. I am blessed to have one child completing his 3 years at the Key School and three other children in various divisions of the school. I have been delighted as a parent. I see such loving teachers who truly love what they do and the kids seem so happy - both challenged and supported. I would say, please understand that many contented parents don't leave a review because they aren't looking at this website. The school is remarkable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

The Key School is too small, never any room, and pretty run down for the high price tag of $25,000. Get yourself an Orton Gillingham Trained Tutor, and do not bother with this place. They have nerve. They do not pay the teachers anywhere NEAR what they are worth. 3 kids per reading class, 10 or more in Math...not what you think it is going to be. High turnover. Rude, arrogant, rednecks.


Posted June 7, 2013

Let's get this out of the way, Carolina Day is a "rich kid" school, and at around $20,000 a year, per child, how could it not be? But that being said, it is a wonderful school, with strong academics and teachers who truly care about the "whole" child. No school is perfect, but CDS comes pretty close. I've had children in both the Lower School and the Middle School, and have been very happy with the education both of them have received. The MS is particular is excellent at conflict resolution and very proactive in discouraging bullying. The kids are rather pampered, but for the most part they are really good kids. I plan on keeping mine there through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Loved the school for awhile until it began to focus on the richest of the rich. Tuition increases. Love the community and the people and for those whom the tuition is pocket change, great school. For those who work hard to make the tuition, can't keep up with the increases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

I enrolled my son two years ago , he find hard time in making friends , also the environment is rude and administration is well know of making unjustified decisions . This school always favor those whose parents work their , There is a bunch of upper class (rich) people who do not welcome new kids into their circle , they always make a boundary between them and other kids .Pretty rude and non welcoming environment .The principal and her assistant are pretty mean ladies . They can do what ever they want and no one can raise questions against them . Now my sone is in public school and is friend with his whole class . The teachers admire him and he love to go to school every single morning .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

The Key School at Carolina Day was extremely disappointing and financially cumbersome; made all the more frustrating by the arrogance of the Administration at Carolina Day School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

For all of the bonuses of Carolina Day, including many fine teachers, this school is over-hyped. A few teachers, though, are downright hostile towards students. The education offered, especially in the middle school, is not nearly worth the fortune paid for it. Of course, if your child is a self-motivated student then their situation may be fine. However, many genuinely outstanding students are not challenged appropriately. Discipline is quite lax in the middle and upper schools. Parents are not welcome on middle school field trips where something always "happens" and might not have occurred if more adults were present. Repeated administrative firings, meant to spur the school in new directions, have eroded morale and confidence in recent years. The Key School is the growth component of CDS. The middle school program is hardly "college prep." Individual families may find differences, based on their income and perceived social status. Still, I might have given 4 stars, were it not for the price tag.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

I've been a student at this school since Pre-K (I'm now a senior,) and I'm so thankful that my parents were able to send me here. Every school has its flaws, and I'll admit that CDS is a little too obsessed with keeping a good image and that some people are snooty. However, if a student is willing, CDS also provides a fantastic education. I feel much more prepared for college than many of my peers at other nearby schools. I love all my teachers and actually enjoy going to class. Furthermore, CDS is a great school for strengthening writing skills and also for promoting service in the community. In the upper school, there is a strong feeling of trust. People leave their iPhones and laptops sitting out without fear of them being stolen. Teachers take your word for the truth, and the honor code upholds integrity. I'll admit that some groups of students are better than others, and you always run the risk that your kid will be in a small class with some not-so-nice kids (especially in middle school.) But mean kids are easy to avoid, and there are plenty of nice ones to befriend. Bottom line: CDS is a great place for people who like to learn.


Posted November 20, 2011

CDS is a fantastic school. Our kids are in the upper school now and we have had wonderful enriching experiences! Teachers and administrators are realistic and solid. Theater program amazing. Spirts and clubs great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

Never consider this school for your child, I had the worst experience ever, I will never let my child stay there for 1 more second
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

This school is nothing more than rude kids, non welcoming teacher. Worst experience ever. I hope we never send our child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 53%
Hispanic 3% 11%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 32%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1345 Hendersonville Road
Asheville, NC 28803
Phone: (828) 274-0757

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carolina Day School
Asheville, NC





T C Roberson High
Asheville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT