Advertisement

Carolina Day School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Asheville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2010

Key School at Carolina Day has been one of our most difficult experiences. Buyer be ware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

My two children have been enrolled at Carolina Day School for the past 11 years. We have had an amazing experience at CDS. My children have had the usual ups and downs of 'growing-up" but we have had great support from every teacher and administrator along the way. As my children have transitioned into the Upper School, I continue to be grateful for the excellent preparation they receive as they progress from one division to another. My children are thriving and becoming people I feel very proud of, in large part thanks to CDS and the caring faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

Our three children graduated from CDS - the youngest in 2009. One question other parents often ask about is our kids'preparation for college. Each of our kids chose academically challenging schools - Williams College, NYU - Tisch School of the Arts and Yale. I had real concerns about their ability to handle these challenges. I didn't need to be worried - the incredible faculty at CDS made sure they were more than ready. Our kids knew how to study and organize their time. They placed out of many freshmen classes and entered on a sophomore level. They were asked to tutor other students in writing skills and they have each excelled in their chosen fields. Even better - all three have had or are having fun and have been incredibly happy with their choice of a college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

I have two boys who have been at CDS since Pre-K. Their education has been exceptional, not only academically, but by learning to be good citizens, stewards of our planet, and responsible adults. Now my youngest is getting ready to transition to the Middle School. Since we have already done this once with his older brother, I am confident that the turbulent middle school years will be met with understanding and compassion, from an excellent faculty and staff who have so much experience with middle school children, and with challenge of strong academics, provided for both the individual and team effort. I must also say that these teachers KNOW my child. When my son was struggling, emails were exchanged & meetings set up to come up with a plan to keep him on track. He finished the year with straight A's after working with his teacher to make it happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

I have been thrilled with the education my daughter has received at Carolina Day School. She started in the public school system, but was working so hard to stay with the class. We requested testing through the public school and with the results they said they would have to wait until she FAILED in 3rd or 4th grade in order to help her. We immediately looked at the Key School at CDS and have never looked back. Now my daughter is a rising Freshman and will transition to the Upper School. We feel she is well prepared to attend the Upper School and are pleased with the special programs they have in place for kids with learning differences. We are confident she will be successful, because the teachers are dedicated to helping her achieve to her highest potential. I am so glad we found Carolina Day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

My son started at Carolina Day as a pre-schooler and loved it. At the beginnig of first grade he was diagnosed with dsylexia and moved to the Key School. Wow - this has changed his life and ours. The transition was very smooth and my son's reading has improved beyond my hopes. He now says "I am a reader!" I don't see how anyone can consider Carolina Day School not welcoming to all types of kids and families when they developed the Key School specifically to meet the needs of students with learning differences. The teachers are caring and great at what they do, they are there because they love what they do. I hope my sons stays at Carolina Day through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Sent our youngest daughter here as an alternative to Asheville Middle School. CDS does an excellent job of nurturing middle schoolers. The academic side leaves much to be desired. Both my wife and I attended private schools and both of our older daughters attended private schools for elementary. With the exception of the public middle school this is the worst educational facility we have ever experienced. We transfered our daughter out of CDS after making mediocre grades for 3 years into the public high school. We enrolled her into AP and honors level classes and she is all honor roll as a Sophomore. In addition she has had more homework over the summer break then she did in the entire three years at CDS. Don't get me wrong CDS has a few excellent teachers per grade. Their failure at $16,000.00 a year is that they all aren't Excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

My daughter attended Carolina Day last year and we hate this school!! There is too much emphasis placed on monitary values and not enough on education. We switched to a private Christian school and love it there! The parents at CDS are snobby and not welcoming to new families! Horrible school not worth what you pay for it....it is just another status symbol!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I love CDS. All my sisters have graduated from here and I plan to do the same. We, CDS, are a close knit community who help each other at all cost. Really not 'snobby', but open to newcomers! Hope to see you here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2005

By far the best private school our child has attended, including California and Hawaii. Many students go all the way from pre-K to 12th grade.Everyone is treated like family, including newcomers! and-the kids are not 'snobby or entitled'!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 53%
Hispanic 3% 11%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 32%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1345 Hendersonville Road
Asheville, NC 28803
Phone: (828) 274-0757

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carolina Day School
Asheville, NC





T C Roberson High
Asheville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT