Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hall Fletcher Elementary 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Both of our sons attended Hall Fletcher from 2010 - 2012. Without fail all of their teachers (classroom plus music, art, p.e., etc.) were highly skilled, passionate about the kids, and committed to the school community. A new principal took over the second year they were there and began to make great strides in reaching out to parents and increasing communication with them. In addition, community involvement with the school has increased under his leadership. Morale is high among the students and staff. Even the physical environment of the school is changing to include bright murals on the exterior of the building by local artists. Reading is highly touted by the leadership of the school, as is encouragement to the kids to prepare their minds/hearts for college. Parental involvement is growing as communication has increased. In summary, Hall Fletcher is a growing, thriving school community that is the hidden gem of the Asheville City Schools. Academics are strong, and it is a safe environment in which children can learn and grow. Staff is responsive and friendly. Our children thoroughly enjoyed their time at the school. It is a 5 star school in the making!

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This school's reputation is certain to change for the better. The atmosphere is friendly & positive. The faculty and staff are dedicated and clearly love what they do and genuinely care about the children. Since the school is smaller, children get a great deal of individual attention and support compared to most schools. The library media center is beautiful and the children get time there, as well as other specials like P.E., music and art every week--something less common in schools these days. I especially love the garden program, which not only supports the science emphasis at this magnet school but gets the kids outside and engaged with learning by working with their hands. With the composting program there is a growing environmental consciousness at the school; it would be nice to see even more development in this direction. Programs like FEAST and ASAP's Growing Minds are great additions. There are always neat things going on in this place! Room for improvement would include the playground (soon to be renovated) and the food, which is neither better nor worse than the standard highly-processed fare at most schools.


Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
It's simply the best kept secret in Asheville. I have two children, one is a Hall Fletcher graduate, and the other is still attending the school. They are both gifted students who have a clear understanding of the importance of their academic careers and how much they will impact their futures. There has never been a time when I felt that they weren't being challenged appropriately in the classroom. The community itself is very close and involved and growing in many beautiful ways. There is almost a palpable "buzz" in the air, with constant improvement and academic innovation. It's the kind of place that will make your child excited about learning, despite all of the hard work.

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
At Hall Fletcher you will find an incredibly dedicated faculty and staff who are interested in each student's individual needs, both academic and social. Our son is academically gifted, but very shy with older kids and his teacher has gone out of her way to bring enriched activities to him without having him join the higher grades. This is our first year at Hall Fletcher after a not great experience at a different school and the difference has been wonderful. Parents are encouraged to be involved and welcomed into the school. I really can't speak highly enough about our experience at Hall Fletcher.

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
Hall Fletcher is an excellent school. The staff is excellent. My child has received and excellent education. I have found over the many years that she attended, that the staff and administration have gone over and above to educate and treat with fairness and love all of the children at this school. Most of the parents and students are incredibly happy with the school.


Hall Fletcher Elementary 4

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
The teachers and staff are super at Hall Fletcher!! I am a very proud parent of 2 boys who attend and enjoy this school.

Hall Fletcher Elementary 2

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
I write this with all due respect for the hard work being done here! There is a major behavior issue going on here. My child has picked up many negative behaviors: violent tendencies, rude language, lack of manners, sharing info of seriously inappropriate adult matter...I echo the last review; that much of the behavior mangement is inaffective and often mis-directed. Especially by the teacher's assistants. My child has been quickly and wrongly accused and punished. Some of the teachers do put their heart and soul into their work and really love the kids, they are just lacking the skills needed to fully handle the situation. There is also a strong emphasis on the technology, and much less of science and math. I have seen the computers so over used. I have seen this school be a great fit for children, and totally not for others!

Hall Fletcher Elementary 1

Posted April 16, 2011
- a community member
This school was truly disappointing. The punishments were almost torturous, and the teachers nearly punished the students for being more intelligent than the others. There was no discipline where there was needed and too much where there was none required. Being yourself is something not allowed Hall Fletcher. The kids were rude and inappropriate and the teachers were rather ignorant to these facts. This is not a school I recommended.


Hall Fletcher Elementary 2

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
I enrolled my child because it was a school of math and science. In this I have been disappointed. The three years my child has been enrolled have lacked cohesion and focus. Classroom rules penalize the just and unjust. Fundraisers abound. I hold the principal responsible. This is not a school I recommend.

Hall Fletcher Elementary 4

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hall Fletcher Elementary
60 Ridgelawn Road, Asheville, NC  28806
(828) 350-6400
Last modified Hall Fletcher Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hall Fletcher Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top