Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
Hall Fletcher is a great school. We live in the neighborhood and enrolled our children and really, really like the convenience of walking to school. On the way to school, my kids pass the sweet playground, basketball courts, the F.E.A.S.T. School garden that has a dedicated teacher who teaches the kids to plant, grow, prepare and eat healthy foods. There is a massive field adjecant to the school which hosts School events like Slide the Fletch (water slide fun in the summer!), Fall the Fletch (Autumn inspired event) and Camp the Fletch, in addition to many more wonderful community events. As this isn't enough, there will be a soon to be completed Outdoor Learning Center where kids will learn in dynamically designed space. The PreK room has 3 wonderful teachers and little ones become familiar with school which shortens the achievement gap. The staff, teachers and PTO is friendly, involved and very important, diverse! The staff has one of the lowest turn over rates for the district which shows how committed they are to the students. For afterschool there is the YMCA who have two dedicated staff that are fun and engaging with the kids and there is MusicWorks! which is tied to the Asheville Symphony and teaches children instruments and being part of the band. MW! Concerts are so fun to attend! I can't praise Hall Fletcher enough. We are Hall Fletcher!

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
The Staff, Principals, Teachers, Volunteers, Parents, and Students of Hall Fletcher are supportive and fully embrace diversity. It is a really lovely community. My son is in his third year at Hall Fletcher, in the 2nd grade. He participates in Gardening, Chess Club and MusicWorks (the after school music program). We are excited about the Outdoor Learning Center that is taking shape adjacent to our school. The balanced school calendar is wonderful. The school breaks (which are spread evenly throughout the year) always arrive just when the kids really NEED a break.


Hall Fletcher Elementary
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Dr.Gordan Grant is a wonderful principal. He shows his passion through his dedication to each student and faculty member!!!

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Hall Fletcher is a wonderful diverse school with great programs that encourage students to soar!!!!!

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
HFE boasts a wide range of innovative programs that serve a very diverse student body. We chose HFE because we believed in what we saw happening there and can see the potential that this school is on a fanatic trajectory to blossom into now and in the future. We love the balanced calendar year, Musicworks!, FEAST the outdoor learning center currently under construction and the super dedicated teachers and staff there.


Hall Fletcher Elementary
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
As a patent if a child with ADHD and SPD e did struggle at first to find the right balance of things and methodologies to help him through the transition into kindergarten. Jan Thomas the assistant principal was a predominantly champion and genuine friend to our son. We are forever grateful for the role she had played in turning him around into a thriving successful first grader. Of course Dr Grant is amazing as well but I think everyone knows that already.

Hall Fletcher Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
The school has a set of core values that they instill in all the children by creatively integrating them into the curriculum and daily activities. Curiosity, Grit, Gratitude, Optimism, Self-control, Social Intelligence and Zest

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
What an amazing community of families and staff all working together. There's a vibrant energy at Hall Fletcher and a feeling of belonging to a big family. Our family chose to attend Hall Fletcher and we are so glad we did. The teachers (all of them, the specials teachers to the main classroom teachers to the assistants) are so committed to the children and go above and beyond the call of duty. They make sure every child is taken care of. I volunteer at Hall Fletcher and see first hand how the staff interact with and support the students and work hard to help them learn in many different ways. The gardens are wonderful, chess club is fantastic, MusicWorks! is amazing... so many cool things happening there!!


Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Test scores are not everything! This school has adopted some major changes for the better that continue to improve the progress towards excellence. Part of the reason that the scores are lower is because Hall Fletcher welcomes kids from all backgrounds who might not get the support at home to become great learners. We chose this school because we believe in supporting our neighborhood with our choices, we love the year-round schedule and the excellent MusicWorks! program, and we want our children in a diverse environment. HFE is truly a community with involved parents and a staff that really cares.

Hall Fletcher Elementary 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Hall Fletcher is an amazing community of families, teachers and staff. Everyone is so obviously caring and committed to the kids, and the diversity of the student body and teachers is a huge plus. Principal Dr. Gordon Grant knows all the kids by bame and goes above and beyond for the school and the community. School ratings can sometimes be deceiving, when really what they reflect in this case is a school that opens its doors and its heart to some of the most underserved children in Asheville and creates a wonderful education environment for all to enjoy. Student scores simply aren't the whole story. We love Hall Fletcher!

Nearby schools

Hall Fletcher Elementary
60 Ridgelawn Ave, Asheville, NC  28806
(828) 350-6400
Last modified Hall Fletcher Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top