Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ira B Jones Elementary

Public | K-5 | 406 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Jones has been great for our family. We have so far enjoyed 14 student-years at jones between our three sons and have NEVER had a bad year. The atmosphere is wonderful - positive and friendly! While the other elementary schools may boast higher average end-of-grade scores, I wholeheartedly believe that my kids have received the best instructors and instruction avalable. I'd recommend Jones to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

My daughters went to Jones and loved it. They are now at Asheville High School and they are both taking all honors classes. My junior is taking 4 AP courses and they both say that they had a wonderful experience at Jones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

Why are the test scores so low? Im moving to Asheville and my kids are being placed in Jones because there isn't enough space in the 1st ,2nd or 3rd choices.


Posted September 30, 2009

Our school has a diverse population, and everyone works together to form a wonderful learning community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Jones has a wonderful administration and is a very organized school So far we've had the best kindergarten experience I could have imagined. My child has had no problems making new friends and the children in his class are delightful. His teacher Ms. Smith keeps the daily activities fun and he adores her. We looked at all the schools in Asheville, both public and private and I have no doubt in that we made the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

My son just started at Jones this year as a kindergartener. His teacher is wonderful and the parents are very involved. This is the best choice I could have possibly made for my son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

Our school has a very energetic staff. Our class numbers range from 16-18 students per class. K and 1st have full-time assistants in the classrooms along with the classroom teacher. We have 3 computer labs and each classroom is currently being outfitted with SMARTBoard technology. We also feature 2 outdoor classrooms and a fabulous playground at Jones Park.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 5, 2006

This school was outstanding for me. I'm a former student and even though I was attending the school for 3 years, it prepared me for the later schools well. The teachers are great, campus is great, clean food, clean restrooms, and overall amazing. I recommend this school for anyone in the Asheville area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 9, 2004

This is a fantastic school. I have two children, a third grader and a first grader here. This is the second year at Jones for both of them. Core Knowledge curriculum is the best--teachers and staff do whatever is necessary to ensure the success of every student. Lots of enthusiasm from parents and volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female50%
Male59%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students60%
Female69%
Male52%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female60%
Male65%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students57%
Female60%
Male55%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students83%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students52%
Female62%
Male44%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically gifted82%

Science

All Students65%
Female71%
Male60%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students75%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 52%
Black 22% 26%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Sarah Cain
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (828) 251-4914

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

544 Kimberly Avenue
Asheville, NC 28804
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 350-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Orton Academy
Asheville, NC


Claxton Elementary
Asheville, NC



MacCabi Academy
Asheville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT