Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A C Reynolds High

Public | 9-12 | 1377 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2012

This is a amazing school with above average in every class. I am very impressed by this school.


Posted July 6, 2011

My daughter just graduated from Reynolds high school and loved attending there! She was well prepared for college, and had opportunities to get involved in student government, theater, and athletics. She had challenging course work and most of the staff are helpful, supportive and really care about the students. The music department has been somewhat of a disappointment, but every other area has been stellar. Parent and community involvement are very high and athletic events are very well attended and a lot of fun... Friday night football was our personal favorite! I highly recommend Reynolds high school unless your student desires an excellent music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

It is against the rules for any student to advise any teacher in any information they already did not know as I quote from Ms. McKnight "It makes our school look bad" Fights daily in the hallways, little to no remaining school spirit. This place has fallen a long long way since the days of Mr. Baldwin being principal.


Posted December 6, 2009

Our family moved up here from South FL in 1996. I am so imressed in the high school which I have 3 children graduated. They live in this area to be in Reynolds district for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

I'm delighted to say my son loves school. We came from Long Island NY and he worked at that school to get by with B+ average. Here he is more active and wants to attend school. He joined student Government, if he doesn't know something and/or doesn't understand it he gets help. He joined the cross country team and volunteers for feeding the poor and so on and so on. I attribute this to the staff and of course the teachers. He now has a 99 grade pt. average and an all out better kid even though he is 16 now. His Dad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

ACR has intelligent, compassionate and socially aware students, supportive parents and a dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

This is one of the best high schools in the area. There are really great teachers and teachers I wish I did not have, but I am sure it is like that any place. There are a lot of extra curicular activities. If there isn't something there for you, just start it! The principals and teachers are supportive of that. Most teachers are really there to help you succeed. Reynolds has one of the best Fine Arts programs in the county. They helped me prepare for college and exceed my personal limits and try harder.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2007

It's not what I would call a friendly place, although I think that the teachers and administration seem to be trying to improve. I would describe it as a businesslike environment (not a bad thing), but I would like to see it be more friendly and less reserved. The work ethic is very strong with heavy loads of classwork and homework, so I think students should be well prepared for college. The focus on developing analytical thinking is probably the most outstanding academic feature. Parent involvement is probably about average. This school is very obsessed with football. However, we have success in other sports with conference and state championships and some very outstanding athletes with college athletic scholarships and even one baseball pitcher going to the pros right out of high school. The physical environment is about average with the school needing some sprucing up, but generally it is clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

Our son is a graduating senior and has had a great experience academically, as well as in music, theatre and other extracurricular opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

My name is Brittany Booth, and I went to A.C. Reynolds High School and I absolutely loved it! A.C. Reynolds has a great academical system, has dedicated teachers, and also a fair, and effective disciplinary system. My teachers included Coach Anders in World History, Mrs. Jackson for integrated math, Mrs. Melton for Computer Applications and Mrs. Brown for Earth Science. I thought that my teachers were exquisite teachers with wonderful teaching strategies. Even though I only attended Reynolds High for a few months, I greatly miss it there and I just wanted to tell you how great I thought a.c. renolds high school was, and I guarantee you I am not the only one who thinks that either.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

7 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

7 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

7 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

322 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities43%
Proficient in English43%

Reading

All Students57%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities57%
Proficient in English57%

Science

All Students43%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities43%
Proficient in English43%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

228 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

343 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

387 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

134 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

309 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students16%
Female18%
Male13%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracial8%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students20%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students55%
Female54%
Male56%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracial43%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted95%

English II

All Students63%
Female66%
Male60%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracial45%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 52%
Black 11% 26%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Doris Sellers
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (828) 298-2002

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Rocket Drive
Asheville, NC 28803
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 298-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carolina Day School
Asheville, NC


Carolina Day School
Asheville, NC



Asheville High
Asheville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT