Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Haw Creek Elementary 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Haw Creek Elementary is one amazing school! My son just finished his kindergarten year - and I couldn't imagine sending him anywhere else. The teachers are dedicated, caring and open minded enough to realize that every child may not learn the same way. My son LOVES school and cannot wait to go back in August. He's already counting the days! I think that says it all. Overall, I am extremely happy with the academic and extracurricular activities that HCES has to offer each year. The PTO is the most dedicated I have seen in this area. There is also a strong anti-bullying atmosphere throughout the school. I would highly recommend Haw Creek Elementary.

Haw Creek Elementary
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I'm proud to say my sons biggest accomplishment was how hard he worked throughout the year. I appreciate the confidence and determination that was instilled in my son.


Haw Creek Elementary
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I am so impressed with how respectful and caring the children are in my sons kindergarten class. He attended the JCC for preschool - and the atmosphere was not nearly as positive and respectful.

Haw Creek Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I'm always amazed by the calm and collected atmosphere in my sons classroom. The teachers at HCES have an amazing ability to pull the best out of each student while making each one feel special.

Haw Creek Elementary 1

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Unorganized and incompetent on all levels. Do not send your child to this school. There is no communication, complete apathy, and management is nonexistent. Just look at the decline in test scores, if you don't want to take my words.


Haw Creek Elementary 1

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
A serious decline in this school since the new principal has taken over. My child's teacher failed to give out handouts in a timely manner. This may have been because the handouts were given to her late. Whatever the reason there is a total disconnection between how a real school should operate. The school seems to expect the kids to notify their parents of last minute changes. The new principal seems to care more about saving face than making a difference. Some teachers do not "believe in homework," but my question is, how does the classwork get reinforced? The whole leadership system has declined and lacks good structure.

Haw Creek Elementary 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a parent
We love this school. The teachers are great--very warm caring, bright, flexible, creative, hard-working. Lots of individual attention and emails home if something is not going well. An anti-bullying culture of sweet kids. A principal who was voted best principal in western NC last year. Our son is finishing 3rd grade, and we have had very good teachers each year. He is a minimalist with respect to homework (does what he has to to get by); yet he has done very well on state standardized tests. The campus is pretty and wooded. Parents can be as involved as they want to be. There is always a good group of parents in PTA.

Haw Creek Elementary 5

Posted July 17, 2008
- a parent
Great class sizes and wonderful teachers. The new principal (Marcia Perry) even arranged for the students to get free or for donation year books last year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haw Creek Elementary
21 Trinity Chapel Road, Asheville, NC  28805
(828) 298-4022
Last modified Haw Creek Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Haw Creek Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top