Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William W Estes Elementary 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a community member
The administration at this school and staff are amazing! They go out of their way to make children and parents feel welcome and appreciated. My child with autism is a challenge for anyone but the staff at this school just roll with it. This has to be the best principal we've ever met.

William W Estes Elementary 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
Exceptional. The Principal is top notch. He really cares! He gives his time to everyone who asks. You cannot find a better Principal, Mr Barbour is wonderful. Nice campus, excellent teachers. Safe, happy place


William W Estes Elementary 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
My children have received an amazing, well-rounded education at Estes. Their classes are differentiated, challenging and engaging. Solid leadership and amazing array of extra curricular activities.

William W Estes Elementary 5

Posted November 06, 2011
- a parent
I love how dedicated teachers and staff are. there was no single day my children didn't want to go to school and it's already November ;) I also really like how handicapped children are integrated.

William W Estes Elementary 3

Posted March 20, 2009
- a parent
I would agree most teachers are good, but there are a few who believe in punitive punishment for elementary school kids. It is shameful that a few rotten ones can put a blemish on an otherwise great school, with a great principal and vice principal.


William W Estes Elementary 5

Posted March 01, 2009
- a parent
My daughter started Estes in November when we relocated to Asheville. As most parents, we reviewed test scores and all of the statistics. Estes performs well on standardized testing, but I am most impressed with the nurturing school environment. Everybody is so caring and positive! Instead of 'yelling' at students to look in the lost in found, the administrators and teachers put on a 'fashion show' for the students using clothes from the lost and found. (Everybody was laughing.) That is just one example of how this school uses positive reinforcements on a daily basis to get the best from their staff and students!

William W Estes Elementary 5

Posted March 20, 2006
- a parent
My daughter loves Estes! Her teachers are wonderful and I feel she is getting a good education.

William W Estes Elementary 2

Posted September 18, 2003
- a parent
Class size needs to be smaller. There are 24 students in my childs class with one teacher and one aide. I believe that all children would be better served with a 12 to 2 ratio.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William W Estes Elementary
275 Overlook Rd, Asheville, NC  28803
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (828) 654-1795
Last modified William W Estes Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top