Advertisement

Odyssey Community School

Private | PK-12 | 100 students

Our school is best known for being heart-centered.
 
 

 
 

Living in Asheville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $214,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Poorly run. Health dept reports are pretty bad. You can check that for yourself. Teachers (many) are flaky or strange. Turnover of teachers is not good. Children are troubled, behavioral issues, no consequences. Across the street from a rehab facility - adults de-drugging. Typical weird downtown Asheville freakiness
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

Poorly run. Health department has made some "reports" that are not pretty. This is just weird Asheville at its' best. No real structure, no text books. Kids are not disciplined and they are (many) troubled kids with issues and problems. Ok teachers, lots of turn over. They sold out to UNCA and are moving downtown. Perfect place for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Odyssey has been a great place for my son to grow up and find himself. He started Odyssey as a preschool kid and as a third-grader, he is a strong reader, logical thinker. He has created a thirty page book on his own, as a personal goal, and developed a chalkboard animation for his project on plants this year. The school's focus on reflection and centering makes him thoughtful and intelligent above and beyond his peers. Our family loves Odyssey!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

Without exception Odyssey Community School provides an outstanding education to each and every student. The teachers' compassion for every student is matched by their understanding and creative instruction of their courses of study. It is a delight to enter the school and feel genuine joy eminating from each member of the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Odyssey Community School is a amazing and magical place. The teachers (who are called by their first names) are skilled at helping the children learn not only the academics, but also the social and emotional aspects of life. They form a bond and partnership with the parents to work together to meet the children where they're at and get them to the next level. The school community itself is tight knit and quickly welcomes new families to join in and enjoy the special place that is Odyssey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Our school is the most community oriented, student focused, whole child centered program in our area by far. The integral model that these teachers all very effectively apply (and continue to train in) really prepares them to pursue a life that will allow them to flourish in more than just the ways that passing tests will promote. Odyssey allows children the space to find and follow their interests and passions, and then teaches them how to set and achieve goals along the way toward accomplishment. This school is still relatively new and is only growing stronger. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I can't imagine a better school for my son. He has grown so much here. All of the teachers and staff truly care about the kids. I highly recommend if you need an alternative to public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

when I went to this school I was nervous and scared but when I walked in the school I got a warm welcome. the school has lots of cool teachers. We do a lot of science and cool outdoor activities like camping ,archaeological digging ,hiking, and sports.


Posted August 1, 2013

This is a truly amazing place. Our daughter has grown immensely during her first year at Odyssey. After a few years in public school we realized that she needed to be someplace different. Odyssey has taught her to be herself in a very loving and nurturing environment. Her teachers have her excited about the world and what there is to discover. Camping trips, botanical garden trips, creek stomps, a performance at LEAF - it has been an amazing year and we look forward to many more years at Odyssey. We are so grateful to watch our child blossom. Thank you to her teachers, thank you to the staff - the result is priceless, really. Our child was languishing before Odyssey and now she is flourishing. We are so very thankful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

"I want to nurture him through it", the preschool teacher told us, when our son cried at each morning's dropoff. That support told us we were in the right place! That teacher is now the preschool program director, and our child is about to start second grade at Odyssey. The founder and headmaster created such a strong foundation and faculty. They are ideal to support Odyssey s nurturing and caring environment. This along with the attention given and value placed on each individual child is what makes this school such a great experience. Every student, Kindergarten - 12, works on their own Independent Research Projects each year, with progressively more detail and age appropriate standards. When our son, as a Kindergartener, got up in front of his class and class parents to give an oral report on a topic that he researched and learned about on his own, I could see the pride, confidence and excitement blossoming These opportunities to grow and flourish should be available to all. Odyssey ensures that they are every day for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Like other schools where the needs are varied and not everyone can have all their needs met, it is a school guided by the Integral Model. Not for everyone, agreed.That is the beauty of selecting a school that is right for your child, & of being part of an evolving Community. It is a school where children learn to resolve conflict, practice compassionate communication (that the Teachers model), & learn their own 'authentic self'. Reading,research, writing reflections, discussing,working independently, & problem solving all happen there.Often, children have different learning styles, and reading skills come later -by no fault of the teachers, leadership and/or school philosophy. The Multiple Intelligences Model has been well researched & there is no mystery why, over the past several years since Odyssey was founded, many children thrive there.An environment where children are encouraged to get to know themselves, give of themselves and be themselves. I can only wish the same for us parents, adults, and 'grown ups' who have a lot to learn from a school like Odyssey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

This school is a great find!! I can only imagine the negative reviews above came from parents who need a conservative educational setting. This school is quite progressive and its curriculum is hands on, real world problem solving. It is just what my son needs. He is thriving since moving here in a way he has never done before. The headmaster keeps the school deceloping in a manner that I believe will equip my child to successfully address the problems he will face in the future. The teachers are wonderful and very nurturing. We have a community of families that grows stronger every year. I found it warm and friendly to our family who moved here from another state. Highly recommend Odyssey Comunity School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

This school is poorly run. There is a problem with bullying, no consequences for the children who do this, there are displacements of children and teachers. Do not go here! Some of the teachers are terrific but the headmaster at the helm is inadequate. There are more dysfunctional parents at this school than any other where my child has attended. Don't bother!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

This school offered a great high school experience for our son. He was able to perform a five week anthroplogical field study on the Galapogos Islands, build a solar panel, and do advanced placed statistical research on the impact of weather extremes on the Savanah River Nuclear Plant in SC, under the direction of the past Deputy Director of NOAA Climate Research. He was admitted to several colleges and universities, receiving a significant Presidential Scholarship from one. Odyssey was a perfect fit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

Odyssey is so much more than a school - it's a support network for the entire family as we navigate the world. My son loves learning, loves to be here, and we have great friendships. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

My wife and I moved to Asheville from Florida last summer and after a year at Odyssey we couldn't be happier with the results for our two children. The school was a major contributor to our selecting Asheville as a place to live, and the Integral Education Model is cutting edge in its philosophy yet compassionate in it's approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 53%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 32%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. John Johnson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • None
Fax number
  • (828) 250-3640

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Integral
  • Internships
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Hospitality League
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Model UN
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

90 Zillicoa Street
Asheville, NC 28801
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 259-3653

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Claxton Elementary
Asheville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT