Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clement Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 417 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2011

Overall the school is just ok. My biggest complaint is the nepotism that exist in the school. The principle has hired her sister and her daughter in law to work under her. Small school and just about everyone is family! Not good for outsiders. In addition, her granddaughter attends the school too. Her daughter in law was teacher of the year (surprising) and her granddaughter is in student government every year. Elections are held and she wins every time (my daughter ran against her three times and lost every time). The granddaughter's best friend won each year too. This was devasting to my daughter because she campaigned hard each time. Had I known it was a lost cause, I would have saved my money. The school offers no tutoring for those that need it and the teachers are not interested in helping the students that may need extra attention . Some teachers are nice but most of them don't want to be bothered. I'm happy that my kids are changing schools. Maybe now they will be better stimulated and have more of a chance as those that are IN with the principle and her clique. SAD BUT TRUE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I have 3 children who have attended this school. The teachers care and are friendly. They work hard and go the extra mile to make sure that your child not only learns but also that their needs are met. They have ridden the bus and have had no problems. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

My child goes to Clement School.I don't think this is a good school.I have had problems with the teachers and staff.They are unfriendly to my parents and me.The staff and kids treat you different if you are not from this area or grew up here.It is a very negative school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

My child attends this school and i have had no problems at all. I have joint custody with my child's father and i know that if he don't show up they are to call me and find out where he is. This is a very conserning school and people from the community work here also so it's like one big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

my child goes to this school because it is a rural area. I have had many problems with the teachers and bus driver of the school. i have made many complainants to the teachers about the bulling and racism in the school. I do not think my child should suffer this injustice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2004

I have recently moved to another state but my three children have all attended Clement. It is a wonderful school with excellent teachers.The whole school faculty goes above and beyond to help all of the students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

I have two kids attending Clement Elementary this school is wonderful. The teachers and staff members are kind and caring. Very good atmosphere for kids to learn. My family is from Puerto Rico so my English is not fluent but these people are always there to help me and my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female60%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities46%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiency32%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female57%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiency36%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students46%
Female41%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female56%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female49%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female40%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students40%
Female31%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 52%
Hispanic 35% 14%
Black 8% 26%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Linda Williams
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 567-5910

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3220 Maxwell Road
Autryville, NC 28318
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 567-2112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Salemburg Elementary
Salemburg, NC


Stedman Primary
Stedman, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT