Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Ayden, NC
Students enrolled: 646

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ayden-Grifton High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Progressive in working with a rural population in Eastern North Carolina. Excellent Sports program, and Great Leadership with an improving academic focus. Test scores are improving with subsequent classes

Ayden-Grifton High School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
Ayden-Grifton excels in sports. It has a comprehensive auto mechanics program, but needs to better serve those who may have talents in science and math.-not that the curriculum is lacking in any respect, but there are initiatives to enhance science and math education, STEM for example.Pitt County schools need to develop these initiatives to serve a diverse student body.


Ayden-Grifton High School 0
no rating

Posted August 20, 2009
- a student
it is an amazing school that works hard to give each and every student the oppertunity to learn and achive great things as well they prepare u for ur choice of career and yes it is a small country school but hey we love it here and nothing will change how we feel

Ayden-Grifton High School 5

Posted May 20, 2008
- a student
it is a great school because it is small and has great test scores

Ayden-Grifton High School 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a student
As a student at AGHS, I see a lot of the things that go on both in the classroom, and behind the scenes. I know for a fact that the teachers really care about their students, and the administrators try their hardest to improve things like security, availibility of programs, and overall equality among students. The teachers are indeed top-notch. Students are more familiar with one another due to the smaller class sizes. There is great support from the administrators for the various programs that are offered. They have a love and support for the arts programs, which is not found many other places. It truly is a fine institution with great opportunities for your children to grow and learn.


Ayden-Grifton High School 5

Posted April 21, 2007
- a former student
I am a former student and AG is great. I was well prepared to enter the college arena and my other classmates are very well educated also. AG has a low enrollment, that means fewer student to teacher ratio. Yeah, we didn't have all the money and classes, that Rose and Conley have, but we had great teachers who made the best of what we had. I knew everyone in my graduating class, not many can say that. Mr. Tyer, Mrs. Skinner, Mrs. Leich, and Mr. Avery are exceptional teachers. Thanks Mr. Avery for AP Biology, it made A&P for nursing school alot easier. Mr. D. Wilson made World History very interesting with his hand drawn maps of Europe. AG is great, thanks to the wonderful education, it greatly prepared me for College.

Ayden-Grifton High School 5

Posted June 26, 2006
- a former student
As a former student of Ayden-Grifton High School I can say first hand that this school is a good high school. Everyone that I have met with in Pitt County that attend other schools act as if there is a problem with AGHS because the school enrollment is fairly low. A low school enrollment has nothing to do with the actually students, staff, and educators, but instead just the size of the towns and how the county has drawn out the school districts. In fact AGHS is strong in vocational and health studies. There is a very low amount of 'clicks' and 'bullies' and since it is a smaller school most of the students known each other there whole school careers. AGHS gets low funding due to stuckup parents of students from Conley, Rose, SCHS who denied Pitt County Schools to redistrict the county to even out school enrollments numbers.

Ayden-Grifton High School 1

Posted January 23, 2004
- a student
There is a nice racial balance and a lot of potential in many of the students. However, funds are depressingly low. Teachers leave often to teach for a better school while dedicated honors students often apply for vocational schools. In short, everyone wants to get out because the Pitt County School District constantly refuses to fund any programs. However, in defense of the teachers and behaved students, there is a lot of eagerness to improve...they just need to resources...and that is the district's fault.


Ayden-Grifton High School 2

Posted August 23, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ayden-Grifton High School
7653 Nc 11 South, Ayden, NC  28513
(252) 746-4183
Last modified Ayden-Grifton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ayden-Grifton High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top