Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mangum Elementary 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
As a parent with 2 children in this school, I have to say that the staff is fantastic! Special Education is wonderful and my children LOVE school. That in itself says it ALL. The children are rewarded for their positive behavior which limits the bad behavior. Positive reinforcement has been proven here. GREAT SCHOOL!!!!!!!

Mangum Elementary 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
Absolutely wonderful in all respects. This is the most nurturing staff I have ever worked with.


Mangum Elementary 0
no rating

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
We love Mangum! I'm disappointed that our rating dropped from a 9 to an 8...not sure why? Other than that, the teachers are great and very responsive. Our daughter has excelled very much even after being diagnosed with ADHD. She is not medicated, and continues to excel.

Mangum Elementary 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
Love it! My daughter is doing great. The teachers are excellent.

Mangum Elementary 0
no rating

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
Mangum has been great for our daughter. She has excelled in all her studies and appears to have another successful year in 3rd grade coming up. All of the teachers and the principal have the best in mind for your children. I recommend this school whenever I talk to other parents in the Durham School District.


Mangum Elementary 3

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
I think this school perfect for average children. The staff is friendly, the school is too. I wish there were more funding available for enrichment programs geared towards non-average children. My child is gifted. I found it hard to motivate the teachers to add to the daily lesson plan to keep my child moving fowards. In that setting my child became bored, restless, and unhappy with school. I was told reguarly it was due to lack of funding and overcrowding. I now homeschool.

Mangum Elementary 5

Posted June 14, 2009
- a parent
My son has attended Mangum since our return to Durham. After choosing to opt out of lesser performing schools, our experience has been the best. My hat goes off to Mrs. Gwen Johnson and the staff at Mangum. Thank for all you support and dedication to the well being of our children.

Mangum Elementary 5

Posted February 18, 2009
- a parent
Mangum there is no words to describe how GREAT this schhol is, this includes Principals, Teachers, Students. We are all truely a family there and we as adults have used the Mangum Way in our everyday lives it's GREAT. I can't speak highly enough about this school. I'm really sad though I wish Mangum went all the way to 12th grade because one of my sons is in the 5th grade and I'm terrified as to where to put him. Thank You Mangum Staff for ALL you do!


Mangum Elementary 5

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
Mangum is the best school ever. The staff, students, and the parents all give 100%. This is why they are so successful. If there is a need (emotional, academical, or physical) the 'mangum family' will be there.

Mangum Elementary 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a community member
5 STARS! Excellent teaching, office and custodial staff. Test scores reflect the students performance.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mangum Elementary
9008 Quail Roost Road, Bahama, NC  27503
(919) 560-3948
Last modified Mangum Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mangum Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top