Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Central Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Out of the 8 classroom teachers at CES (K-5) one or more of my children have been taught by 7. Most of the teachers reach outside the box to either meet the needs of a student who's struggling OR creatively challenge those who are gifted. My only frustration was with those who felt "comfortable" allowing our oldest to "wait for testing" before academically challenging him. This however was quickly addressed and remedied.

Central Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
My Kindergartener had reading each night. My 2nd grader had reading, spelling and sometimes math... My 3rd grader rarely had homework BUT he was able to complete his homework at school so I have no issue with it.


Central Elementary
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Since CES is such a small school there is very little change of the Teachers and Staff missing behavior good or bad, that needs to be addressed. The Administration is very very prompt in monitoring and responding to negative actions from students privately and praising positive choices very public ally; which in turn creates at atmosphere where students want to be recognized for positive actions.

Central Elementary
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Central is the center of a specialized program for students with different abilities or specific needs. These kids aren't tucked away or removed from the student body - they are part of the Eagle Family. The students at Central are encouraged to be friends with, work with and support ALL of their fellow Eagles. The result of ALL students working together is a literal application of leadership, compassion and empathy for their fellow students with different ranges of ability physically and/or academically. Our kids are learning to BE helpers.

Central Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Central installs "The Seven Habits " in each student. Some of these habits are Be Proactive, Synergize, Seek first to understand then be understood... These habits are part of their everyday learning. Those who demonstrate the habits are recognized as Eagle Leaders. In addition when students maintain their habits or are "caught" doing the right thing they are given Eagle Leader Tickets which can lead to a reward.


Central Elementary 4

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Central Elementary's staff and administration are constantly updating their approach in reaching students. The teaching staff works diligently to provide the material in creative and effective ways. Like any other school they are bound by federal,state and local parameters, but they put an effort into making learning fun. Central goes beyond the text book to ensure students are taught personal and relationship values as well. They highlight leadership and selflessness by recognizing Eagle Leaders and rewarding good citizenship. Each morning you'll hear the Pledge of Alligance, the flag is properly raised at the start of the day and respectfully lowered and folded at the close of the school day by the 5th graders. The halls are covered in children's class work and artwork. The gym is filled with music and fun. The support staff checks for visitor passes diligently and takes pride in not only the appearance of the school, but the protection of our children. Finally, Central hosts some exceptional children who have very specific needs. These amazing little ones are part of our Eagle Family, and the students at Central support and protect their friends by helping in art or going to PE or reading to those who are unable. Our kids are learning that different isn't strange or scary it's just different. I'm proud that my three kids have learned how to help others instead of looking the other way. Finally, if you remember elementary school as a safe, fun and HAPPY place? Than Central is what you remember. Feel confident that your kids will be in good hands at CES.

Central Elementary 1

Posted December 13, 2011
- a parent
my children have been going to this school for a couple months and have said many times they like their old school more . my older son says it is much easier than his old school .

Central Elementary 1

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
I really done like being told we are trying not to give the children homework because it might take to much time away from the outside activities they have or they just need be kids and have fun (which I'm sure that will get them into to a good college) are these teachers and principals going to be around when it s time for college--I think this NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND need to be look into a little further because it seems like Currituck Schools have changed the true meaning of this. Please think about just pushing a child through it only hurts them in the end.


Central Elementary 5

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
Central is a wonderful small community school with great teachers and administration.

Central Elementary
no rating

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
This school is not what it used to be. It has gone seriously downhill under the new administration. Parents are treated with disrespect by administration (see conference scheduling) and good teachers seem to be at a loss as to how mend the fences. Go back to what you were Central!

Nearby schools

Central Elementary
504 Shortcut Rd, Barco, NC  27917
(252) 453-0010
Last modified Central Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top