Advertisement

Gaston Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 840 students

Our school is best known for it's college prep, biblically integrated program.

 

Living in Belmont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2012

Gaston Christian School is fully accredited at ALL grade levels by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (AdvancEd). Both of our children have attended Gaston Christian School since Pre-K. One is now in college and the other is in High School. Because of its mission focus, tuition rates are much lower than any other comparable school in the area. The spiritual emphasis is on partnering with families to promote Christian ideals. The academic emphasis is on excellence & it shows in the achievements of students. Our oldest was able to select from the finest universities in the country & was admitted to every school to which he applied (incl Honors & scholarship programs). GCS students have wins & championships in Quiz Bowl and Mock Trial at the county & state levels. The sports emphasis is on integrity, sportsmanship and excellence. GCS offers all usual sports except tackle football. GCS teams have brought home conference & state championships in many sports. We highly recommend GCS to everyone! The spiritual support, academic & athletic excellence, dedicated faculty and staff and family atmosphere make it, in our opinion, the best private school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

Is ACSI the assoc of christian schools? I know GCS was going through accreditation with SACS (Advance Ed) at the elem level a few years ago. Was that completed? I think high school does have this accreditation. Don't think ACSI certification means teachers are certified by the state. I too used to have a child at GCS - teachers were very kind and hard workers - weak in critical thinking skills - most of elem curriculum was rote memorization- hopefully this has changed-our child did well at GCS but struggled with reading comprehension and critical thinking skills when moved to another school.


Posted April 14, 2011

I have three children who have attended Gaston Christian since their 4 yr old preschool year. The oldest is now in College. The education has been top notch and the school is committed to continuous improvement. The school offers a comprehensive education environment and my kids have thrived in social, academic and athletic areas. The commitment of the board of directors and administration to making this the best school in the area and serve Christ at the same time is impressive. Is everything perfect? No, but needs are known and every effort is made to improve. I am excited in the plans they have for the future and the campus is beautiful. I could not be happier with the choice made 15 years ago to send my children to Gastion Christian. My family has made friends for life at Gaston Christian and it plays a huge role in our lives today. Our investment in our childrens spiritual and educational development could not have been better made. Thank you GCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

In response to the review indicating the lack of qualified teachers at the Elementary level, our entire school was deemed fully accredited by the ACSI in Fall of 2101. This process require a very indepth evaluation of our school and teachers. Our teachers and administrators are all certified through the state of NC or through ACSI.


Posted July 26, 2010

Gaston Christian has always been a great school. The leadership there is excellent. One of the best after school programs in Gaston County also picks up at Gaston Christian, Carolina Galaxy. I'm sure you will be very impressed with Gaston Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

We started our daughter here in Pre-K and she absolutely loves it, as do my wife and I. It is a great Christian school with teachers who really care about the students. We plan on sending our son there as well for Pre-K next year. We would recommend it to anyone who cares about a solid Biblical foundation to their child's learning process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Gaston Christian School is a great place for students who need structure. Most of the work at the elementary level is done in a text/worksheet format. There aren't many hands on activities. Students spend time in the Bible each day which is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 53%
Black 1% 32%
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, Korean, German

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. marc Stout, Head of School
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (704) 824-9013

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, Korean, German
  • Girls on the run
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
60
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
90

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1625 Lowell Bethesda Road
Belmont, NC 28056
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 824-9012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT