Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


Virginia Williamson Elementary 5

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has received all the additional help needed to get on track with her speech. I am so thankful for not only the qualified teachers that care but all the additional support staff that help all the children. It has been amazing to see her reading soar and the love she has for learning, so much more than just prepping for a test! Thank you all!

Virginia Williamson Elementary 1

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
teachers do not care about student success. they do not follow their motto of doing "whatever it takes" to teach each child. unless your child is perfect in their eyes they will not go out of their way to assist your child. they are more concerned with EOGS than how your child is performing throughout the year. send your child somewhere else if they have special needs or require any type of accommodation or reinforcement.


Virginia Williamson Elementary 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a community member
I went to this school and visited the teachers and the deaf students. The teachers are awesome and very helpful to the deaf students. I'm impressed. I feel welcomed. I would like to visit again. Thank you.

Virginia Williamson Elementary 5

Posted June 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Virginia Williamson Elementary 5

Posted May 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Virginia Williamson Elementary 5

Posted April 21, 2008
- a parent
My son is in the special autistic class at VWES and he has progressed so much all the years he has been there. He is non-verbal and has 'classic' autism and the staff is just fantastic with him.

Virginia Williamson Elementary 5

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
There is no other elemantary school in Brunswick County that compares to VWES. My daughter is in third grade and gets everything she needs and the teacher is always helpful.

Virginia Williamson Elementary 4

Posted November 02, 2005
- a parent
VWES is almost 6 years old. It's starting to become a little crowded already, as they had to add trailers behind the school for additional classrooms. The music, art, and gym teachers are superb. The correspondence from the school is outstanding. They produce a monthly newsletter to keep you informed. VWES does an outstanding job of generating parent involvement/volunteer programs. Parents are always invited to join their child during their lunch time in the cafeteria. VWES definitely makes you feel welcome, I have alot of faith and a sense of security with this school. The only thing I find disappointing is the playground. It is seriously lacking in equipment. For car riders, they offer a 'valet' type service in the morning to keep the traffic flowing; a very personal and kind act in my opinion. Keep it up VWES!


Virginia Williamson Elementary 3

Posted April 17, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Virginia Williamson Elementary 4

Posted February 27, 2004
- a parent
VWES is terrific! My daughter is in the 3rd grade and is struggling quite a bit with the curriculum. However, VWES implemented a new program, PBL (project based learning) which helps students learn with hands on intervention. I feel strongly that eventually, learning will become a 'breeze' for her. However, the progress may be long term oriented, but the PBL program has all the right tools to promote her learning capabilities. The PBL program will be a part of my daughters curriculum until she completes the elementary school. In my opinion it has proven to be a remarkable curriculum even for students who have slight short attention spans.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Virginia Williamson Elementary
1020 Zion Hill Road Southeast, Bolivia, NC  28422
(910) 754-8660
Last modified Virginia Williamson Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Virginia Williamson Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.