Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public
Bryson City, NC
Students enrolled: 412

5 stars
Based on 3 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Swain Co West Elementary 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
As my three children went through school they experineced teachers who cared far beyond the classroom, seeking parental imput, ensuring the childs needs were met in order for them to suceed.

Swain Co West Elementary 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
I am doing my student teaching at Swain West and I love it!! It is a great environment to work. I have had a school placement every semester for the past three years and by far Swain West is the best. It is a positive environment. The staff is supportive. There is great community and everyone there takes pride in their school.


Swain Co West Elementary 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a teacher
Good is never enough. The staff, parents, and volunteers are always trying to find a way to make things even better!

Swain Co West Elementary 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a community member
Wonderful students, parents and supportive community...add an amazing faculty and a great new principal who care so much about students - and you have a school that is exactly as it should be!!!

Swain Co West Elementary 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
Swain West Elementary is a great place. There is a wonderful community of students, parents, and teachers who work together to provide the best for each other.


Swain Co West Elementary 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a community member
I retired from working at this school and it consistently strives to be the best for the students. Academics are emphasized, but integrity and compassion for the students has been a priority. Teachers are encouraged to try new innovative ideas, and if they don't work, they are not chastised about them, but are told 'try again' or 'at least you tried.' This is a rural community and many families are transferring in to live with other family members due to the economic situation nationally. SC West could use every penny they can get, and they would use it for the whole student, not just a part.

Swain Co West Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
West Elementary is off to a great start this school year. Students, staff and parents seem very excited about this school year.

Swain Co West Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a teacher
Swain West is a very safe and caring enviroment. The welfare of the students is not felt only by the principal but all those who have a position at West. West is the BEST!


Swain Co West Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a teacher
West Elementary School is a wonderful place to learn and work. I consider myself to be extremely lucky to be a part of such a wonderful team of professionals!! The children are extremely polite and well rounded. The school environment is a very positive one that pushes students on a daily basis to be their personal best. I am excited to get the chance to work here every day!!

Swain Co West Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
I love West because the teachers truly care about the students. There is a high expectation for every child and wonderful families.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Swain Co West Elementary
4142 Hwy 19 West, Bryson City, NC  28713
(828) 488-2119
Last modified Swain Co West Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Swain Co West Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top