Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mountain Discovery Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
We loved mrs Kristin, mr jonathan, and mrs Angie. They made my kids very happy!

Mountain Discovery Charter School 2

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
We loved the school and all of its quirks until we had a special circumstance and then the director was evasive and unhelpful to say the least. He is not a people person and is horrible at communication with an ego the size of a Mack truck. Some of the teachers are awesome and some should not be teaching anymore or are not appropriate for the grades they are assigned. If your child is a good student with no learning or health problems you should be fine. Otherwise you have to figure it all out on your own. They won't go out of their way at al. Overall it is not the most professional school.


Mountain Discovery Charter School 5

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter loves MDCS and is thriving. The teachers really care and pay individual attention. The great field trips are a big part of this. We feel lucky to have found MDCS and look forward to seeing it grow.

Mountain Discovery Charter School 1

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
Awful. Like the other reviewer, kindergarten is the only good grade. After taking concerns to the director I was greeted with hostility and defensiveness, and somehow the problem became my fault. It's like an alternative school for special needs kids. Jackson County schools are so much better and my kid is thriving.

Mountain Discovery Charter School 1

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
This school has serious problems!!! The Middle School faculty are dysfunctional and incompetent. My child was treated poorly and the Director blamed him for mot being able to learn. Everything is all hunky dory until you have a problem. Then they gang up on you. We are so sorry we wasted a year of our life listening to the hype.


Mountain Discovery Charter School 4

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
MDCS is a wonderful school. I could go on forever. Visit mountaindiscovery.org to learn everything you need to know anout this great school.

Mountain Discovery Charter School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
MDCS is and extraordinary school that provides an outstanding educational experience! We are confident that our children are being prepared, academically and socially, to succeed in high school and beyond. The experienced and highly qualified staff cater to the individual needs of each student. Experiential learning abounds at this school! The director is fair and impartial, diplomatic and easy to approach. All decisions made are done so with the well being of every student in mind. In the 8 years we have been at this school, we have never felt that our safety was in jeopardy. If school has remained open during winter weather conditions, it has always been communicated to families that students should be kept home if driving conditions are unsafe. Families have always been told that absences in such a case are excused. We truly believe that MDCS has gotten better each year that it's been in operation and look forward to the future!

Mountain Discovery Charter School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
I am a very proud MDCS parent and have two sons who have attended here for 4 1/2 years. I appreciate the diversity and the unique experiential learning that is displayed in each class. The teachers and staff here are excellent and committed to their students. We feel honored to have the choice to send our children here and we know that when they leave they will have a quality education behind them.


Mountain Discovery Charter School 1

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
Kindergarten is great! After that it goes down hill fast. The teachers are condescending, Especially the 4th grade. She has no problem cutting off your conversation when you are not saying what she wants to hear. Our son has been going here for 4 1/2 years and we will be taking him out in the middle of the school year because it has gotten so bad. She shows favoritism to her daughter who is in her class this year. There is very little experiential learning, that we were looking forward to and is the reason we started our son's education here. The principal has no clue as to safe conditions during the winter. When other schools in the area are closed due to weather he will have the school remain open at risk of student safety. We are very disappointed with how the school is turning out. Each year we had hoped things would get better, but it seems to be going the other way and we will not subject our son to inferior education and teachers.

Mountain Discovery Charter School 5

Posted October 06, 2011
- a parent
My children really love this school and are enjoying learning. Small school environment gives chance for individualized attention. We are very satisfied with our choice of school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain Discovery Charter School
890 Jenkins Branch Rd North, Bryson City, NC  28713
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (828) 488-1222
Last modified Mountain Discovery Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8
Top