Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bunn Middle

Public | 6-8 | 686 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2013

I go to Bunn Middle, and it's a terrible school, in mine, and other students opinion as well. The teachers tell you that you're never going to get anywhere in life, and you're going to fail, and they make you feel terrible about yourself. These last years there have been the worst of my life. My teachers lose my work, and give me punishments for NOTHING. The staff doesn't do anything about bullying either. I'm severely bullied, and they haven't done anything about it. They judge you as well, I'm always judged by the staff there. I was diagnosed with depression a while back, and it was when I came to this school. I've never felt this terrible about myself, and it's because of the staff.


Posted December 8, 2010

I feel lucky that my child attends a school with great teachers and principals that are caring and responsive to parent concerns. If you compare this school to others like it (demographics, test scores, etc.), you'll find that we're very lucky to have the fine folks at Bunn Middle School educating our youth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

My son attends this school and last year I was called in for 4 meetings in withing 2 months. We had a 1 hour conference with all his teacher and came up with a game plan and it never happened. There was no follow through by the teachers or the principal. I think it's great that they have the board on the internet so I can check and see what he has for homework as he tends to lie about that! At my friends sons school the teachers are required to sign the agenda book for every subject and do it everyday. The parents then have to sign it every night, this way we know the work is getting done. But there are loop holes where that is concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

No communication between the school and parents! Haven't figured out way they will not? the school is clean..test scores are ok teachers could use a little work on communication with parents also
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

this school is very strict. i have been attending BMS since my 6th grade year and i am now in the 8th grade. i used to think that the school was to strict but now i see that with some of the students there,that the teachers must be strict. but as long as you are not being rude and direspectful your school year will go by nice and smoothly. the teachers are only there to help. although sometimes it may not seem that way
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

It is my opinion that this school does not carry the same 'excellence' as it did under the guidance of Mr. Hawks. I feel the high standards formerly expected have been cut to second rate and it is our students who will suffer in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

Bunn Middle School has a very safe environment. My children have always been safe there. The new principal has done an excellent job in this regard. He is firm, allows NO bullying, allows NO child to be 'picked on'. He is very fair. The availability of music, art, sports, and other extracurricular activities is high and the choices are many for students. The quality of all acedemic programs is high and teachers really try hard to prepare the students for high school. The transition from elementary to middle school is very hard and the teachers try hard to emphasize the needed changes that are necessary to start your student thinking like a middle school student. Our overall rating of the school is exceptional and violence is not a word I associate with this school at this time. Also, most teachers encourage student, teacher, parent conferences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

Bunn Middle School has experience tremedous improvements under the leadership of a new principal. My child's test scores and overall school experience improved during the 2004-2005 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

This school needs a lot of overall improvements. the principals and staff lack the tools to educate and they do not involve parents. The adults in this school do not provide adequate attention to safety matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students28%
Female29%
Male26%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%
Academically gifted77%

Reading

All Students45%
Female47%
Male42%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically gifted82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female26%
Male32%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically gifted78%

Reading

All Students39%
Female37%
Male41%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students20%
Female18%
Male21%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students22%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Academically gifted63%

Reading

All Students30%
Female30%
Male30%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students34%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically gifted78%

Science

All Students50%
Female46%
Male54%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students55%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students48%
Female40%
Male57%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted68%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 52%
Black 27% 26%
Hispanic 14% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Roosevelt Alston
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 496-1404
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4742 Nc 39 Highway South
Bunn, NC 27508
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 496-7700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Terrell Lane Middle
Louisburg, NC


East Wake Academy
Zebulon, NC


Zebulon Middle
Zebulon, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT