Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
599 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burlington Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
While it presents itself as a Christian school the teachers are not necessarily Christian. Plus most of the kids that attend there are taught they are better than others by their parents and the teachers. Any type of volunteering that is done there is only for the benefit of school and how it will look to the public. Even the recent feed the hunger pack-a-thon was not to benefit poor and needy children in foreign countries but the money that was left over after paying feed the hunger went to the school to help build the new high school building. The newspaper came and took pictures and made it look like they were doing something great, when in reality it was a fundraiser for the school.

Burlington Christian Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Carroll a third grade teacher is fabulous, committed to teaching an educating. Mrs. Atkins (3rd grade) is great, calm, sweet, loving. All of the K-5 teachers are good and Mrs. Wrenn (1st grade) is also wonderful, fair and calm. Mrs. Johnson (6th grade) is terrific, loves the students and loves teaching. These teachers represent Christ the best way they know how. They deliver fair, unbiased, loving, quality education to the children. If the whole school was like them it would be great. Unfortunately, it isn't.


Burlington Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Some of the teachers are good others are not. We have had some wonderful experiences and then some terrible experiences there. Not all teachers have a teaching degree. The Middle School teachers seem to be the worst overall. Not every one of them but many of them. One of the teachers is on her cell phone all day instead of teaching the students. The current High School Spanish teacher does not have any credentials that I am aware of. She is loved by most students because she calls them names like princess and queen and brings Starbucks to class. She posts pictures of the children on her personal instagram account without permission from the parents. She also gives out answers to tests. Of course the children love her! Does that mean she is delivering a high quality education? Absolutely not!! Administration is aware that she has given out answers to tests but chooses to ignore it.

Burlington Christian Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
Most grades are inflated to make the children think they are smart. In addition, the bar of education there is very low. When children leave BCA to go to public schools they are behind and make poor grades. It is sad that the tuition is so high there but the quality of education is so poor.

Burlington Christian Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a community member
I have worked at BCA for 23 years, but have been associated with it for 25 years. My oldest daughter started in the K4 class in 1990, and attended BCA until 2000 when she graduated from the 8th grade. That was the highest grade BCA had at that time. My youngest daughter was able to attend BCA's high school and will graduate in June 2016. Both girls received an excellent education that prepared them for college and also for life. More importantly, they belonged to a "family" at BCA of teachers and other staff that loved them and encouraged them every step of the way from preschool to graduation. I wouldn't take anything for the time my daughters, and I, have had being a part of BCA's family.


Burlington Christian Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a community member
I sent all of my children to BCA. Each child has their own experience. Each child made live long friends. I still have teachers and staff memebers call and talk to my children. I love that BCA is a family.

Burlington Christian Academy 5

Posted December 16, 2015
- a teacher
BCA is such a caring community! The parents and teachers work well together. There is a bond that carries for years, even after the students have graduated. The positive influence shows from administration to teachers to other staff members.

Burlington Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
Thank you, Michael Brown, for continuing to lead BCA with integrity and honesty. You are an excellent example to our families and students.


Burlington Christian Academy 5

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
I am the parent of three children and have been at Burlington Christian Academy for 14 years. My children had excellent SAT and Advanced Placement scores and were admitted into the best universities in the state. I am convinced as a Christian and former public school educator that there is no better place in the community for my children. There is no perfect school but the teachers and staff at Burlington Christian Academy are teaching and leading with superb academic knowledge and with the love of Christ in their hearts.

Burlington Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I wish to thank Michael Brown for his tremendous leadership. He has created an environment in which students can thrive and teachers can teach.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burlington Christian Academy
621 East 6th Street, Burlington, NC  27215
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews.
Last modified Burlington Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top