Advertisement

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

We are known for our strong academics, safe environment, and values.
 
 

 
 

Living in Burlington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $725.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

Wonderful school with a safe environment! I currently have two children at BSS and I could not be happier. They have a small teacher to student ratio, so my kids receive individualized instruction almost daily. The teachers go out of their way to make learning exciting. My children are happy, safe and the academics are challenging. They have a full elementary and middle school science lab and use a rigorous science curriculum called Lab Learner that has my little ones in lab coats doing full science experiments at a young age. All middle school students receive a 9th grade level Algebra 1 course in 8th grade and are also doing HS level science labs weekly. Their new school wide STREAM initiative (STEM with Religion and Arts) is truly exciting. My little ones are also able to participate in sports, such as track, pep squad and basketball and soccer. Parents have weekly communication with the school in their Knights Chronicle and the administration has an open door policy. I have absolutely no reservations in sending my children to BSS! Values that I teach my children at home, such as respect, manners and kindness towards others, are reinforced everyday at BSS. GO KNIGHTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Awful Middle School program! My son was NOT prepared for high school! We decided to switch our younger child so he would be better prepared when he got to high school, so glad we did!! Stay far away! Wish I could rate it 0 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

I wish that the art class would do more art work! The pictures that we receive are all paper and crayons. We would love to see some clay, paint, construction paper, stickers.....Anything that could help our child experiment with different art supplies. The preschool students do not do preschool artwork. It would be nice for them to emphasize more arts and crafts rather than coloring. The Kindergarten students do more artwork in their classrooms than seen in the art room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

This school is an exciting place to be right now. I have two children currently attending who have flourished in the small classroom environments. My older child is having amazing scores on the IOWA test each year which confirms the school has successfully met the educational needs. In addition, the school is currently implementing a new curriculum called STREAM. This curriculum is challenging the old way of teaching and really encouraging teachers and students to change the way they think and teach. Kids are having more hands on opportunities. I believe this curriculum is going to assist my child in the future as it is teaching the students to think like an engineers, to problem solve and to find new information. I have found that the teachers and staff and BSS really care about the students as an individual and try to challenge them to do their best not just academically but also as a caring, respectful and responsible citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

As the mother of two students who attended BSS (pre through 8th), I couldn t be more delighted with this school. Despite its wide socio-economic makeup, BSS students consistently rank in the top 90% on national standardized tests. Students at BSS are frequently given opportunities to excel, to take on leadership roles. Not only do they learn to lead, they also learn to serve. Parents are welcomed and encouraged to be an active part of the school community. A child s needs are not just met, but they are loved and cared for by a nurturing staff and faculty. Children are given the opportunity to bloom! On multiple occasions I have observed a teacher take note of a child s individual talents and seek out opportunities to help them shine. Kids love BSS too. They skip into the building with smiles on their faces. My kids described their teachers with words like nice , good natured , devoted , optimistic and professional . I am delighted with the new leadership. The new principal has brought renewed energy and enthusiasm to the school. Although I do not believe that one school can be the perfect fit for all families, I know that BSS was the perfect school for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

My wife and I sent one child to this school, and pulled him out after preschool. We were dismayed at the extensive "jet-setting" that goes on at this school... Certain families--and their children--were given preferential treatment over others, depending on the social/economic status of those families and on the degree of involvement those families had with the church to which this school is affiliated. I hold a PhD in English Composition and American Literature. I found the quality of teaching in this school to be average at best. The school culture appeared to lean towards regimentation and away from independent, creative thought. Trust me - this is a poor preparation for the increasingly competitive world our children will enter. I strongly advise any families that are: a) lower-middle class or lower in socio-economic status; or b) not Catholic in religious orientation to steer clear of this school. Otherwise, they risk setting themselves and their children up for a potentially frustrating and demeaning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

I sent 2 kids through Blessed Sacrament School and believe the value of the school is immeasurable . Teachers who care, small classes. Peer to peer respect that no other school can rival. I certainly would make this choice again. I highly recommend this school !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

We have been a part of the BSS family for 16 years and both of our children received excellent educations. Our oldest son excelled in high school and is currently studying at a top university. Our youngest son starts high school in the fall and is very well prepared. As parents, sending our children to BSS is one of the best decisions we have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

I went here up until middle school then i switched to Saint Pius X in Greensboro and within a quarter my math grade went from a C to an A. BSS is not a good school . Im a junior at Bishop and if i never switched schools i would be behind. BSS holds your hand they dont teach you anything.


Posted April 20, 2012

Our children have been at this school for over 6 years. This has been a loving supportive environment for them. They have blossomed into confident students who love to learn. This school is a community and is much more than just one person. I am super excited and confident of the new leadership for next year. I have never had a problem getting the information I needed for my children to be successful. I love that the teachers all know my children and can cater the instruction to their needs. Looking forward to what the future holds!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

We had such high hopes when our son started kindergarten at BSS. He has received an adequate (although far from superior) education, but the administration needs an overhaul. The current principal is leaving (thank goodness) but we don't have enough faith in the appointed principal for next year (who is the current assistant principal) to send our son back. Add to that the consistent lack of communication, and it leads to a very frustrating experience. The biggest reason, though, is because the building is old, and has a persistent mold issue, which exacerbates our son's asthma. The school did a little of what was recommended to address the problem, but it's not enough for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

The sense of family and respect is immediately recognized as you walk through the halls of Blessed Sacrament School. We are so happy with the supportive environment that has made getting up for school an easy task for the last 2 years. The teachers spend time getting to know the kids and parents, and it really shows that the kids love being there. The curriculum is carefully planned, and our preschooler has wonderful exposure to computers, Spanish, PE, science, and music EVERY WEEK. The teachers, principal, and office staff are friendly and make every effort to make us feel at home. Every morning, when I see the students bouncing happily into the school (and usually holding the door for me as I come in!), I know that we made the right choice for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

We couldn't be happier in our decision to place our son in this school. He is loved and cared for and loves going there. We couldn't ask for anything more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Blessed Sacrament is the BEST school for your children! I am a retired teacher as well as a parent of two children who graduated from this amazing school! The students are given personal attention ands are loved and taught by top quality teachers and staff who really care about your child both personally and educationally!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

They provided a well-balanced & caring educational place for my kids.


Posted April 22, 2008

The principal and staff make this school. This school teaches the whole child. My son loves the size and the respect that he gets in this environment. The teachers really care and are very accessible when there are any questions about homework or progress. A very special place. With a very diverse student body, my child is learning lessons for life and his spiritual walk. While we are not Catholic, the teaching of religion has made my son more appreciative of all life and God's miracles. Great new science lab!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

This school is superb in providing a safe, loving, and supportive environment for the students. The faith based component of the school is what has been the most important aspect for our family. Our child has been challenged quite a bit in kindergarten. She has been learning math, reading, science... Our family has been very pleased with her overall development at the school. The teachers are more than capable and qualified to teach the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

Great school for having that sense of family and offering a child a feeling of security. The principal knows each child by name and all of the children seem to like her very well. It seems that the same parents are involved with the school and church every year. Surprisingly, there is not a high percentage of children who are being raised Catholic here. The school has a very big downfall of providing a quality education. Their academic level of teaching is quite poor. Only a handful of teachers are worthy of teaching these children. The rest don't belong teaching in an expensive private school. I am very unhappy with the education they are receiving here. Many parents have taken their children out of the school due to the lack of academic challenges that should have been offered to the students. I would recommend the K-3,K-4,K-5 and 1st grades only.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 53%
Hispanic 18% 11%
Black 6% 32%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Maria Gomez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Raleigh
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Blessed Sacrament School, established in 1935, is a fully accredited Catholic School offering academic training which focuses on strong reading and mathematics skill development while providing a value-centered, holistic atmosphere for students of diverse backgrounds in grades PreK (3 years old) through Grade 8. Call us today to learn more about our STEM/STREAM curriculum and approach to learning!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
ABSS

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop McGuinness High School
ABSS High School
The Burlington School-Davis Street Campus
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 Hillcrest Ave
Burlington, NC 27215
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 570-0019

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Turrentine Middle
Burlington, NC


Burlington Day School
Burlington, NC


Burlington Day School
Burlington, NC


Hillcrest Elementary
Burlington, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT