Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Elementary 1

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
Our experience in this school had been great until this year. This year has been a disaster from the start. We have a new principal and several teachers are new to the school. Our teacher does not appear to be organized or very concerned with whether or not the student's needs are being met. She refused to give my child additional assignments to work on when he told her that she was moving too slow for him and he was getting bored. Her response was that the "class has to stay together and work at the same pace." We have voiced our concerns to the administration of the school as well as central office staff only to repeatedly be told that because our child appears to be engaged and isn't a discipline problem they don't believe that he needs anything more challenging. I for one am glad to know that a small group of people that have known my child for a few weeks is so much more capable of determining what he needs than his parents and previous teachers are.
1 person found this helpful

Highland Elementary 1

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school has a lot of very rude staff members. I have stood in the office waiting for some to even acknowledge my presence everytime I've visited. I had hoped it was just the office staff that was uncaring but I've come to see that my child's teacher is also very difficult. I hate to see this attitude, especially from an elementary school. The parents are very involved but the county should work with administration on the morale.
1 person found this helpful


Highland Elementary 1

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
horrible experience for me, and for my child. wouldn't wish this place on anybody. bullies in the staffing. just awful.

Highland Elementary 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
My son absolutely LOVES going to school @ Highland. He has been there since the 1st grade & all of his teachers have been wonderful!! He is currently in the AIG program & it has been a great opportunity for him. I highly recommend this school!

Highland Elementary 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
Our daughter loves Highland Elementary School. The teachers are very patient with the kids and teach at a higher level than where we moved from. As a parent, I highly recommend this elementary school.


Highland Elementary 5

Posted February 17, 2009
- a parent
We were re-districted to Highland Elementary when it opened in 2007 and are very pleased with the school and staff!

Highland Elementary 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
Highland Elementary is a brand new school that opened in 2007. The whole school is wonderful as well as all of the teachers~ You can not go wrong with your child attending Highland.

Highland Elementary 5

Posted July 19, 2008
- a parent
We moved to Highland in the middle of the year and it was awesome. For the first year our kids actually cried when school was out. Ms. Fowler is the best K teacher!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Elementary
3720 Bonnar Bridge Road, Burlington, NC  27217
(336) 538-8700
Last modified Highland Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top