Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hominy Valley Elementary 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Great shcool. Principle and Staff is wonderful and dedicated to the students. I have three that goes to the shcool, 5th 4th and kindergarten. I wouldn't want them to go anywhere else.

Hominy Valley Elementary 2

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Although we love this school, the major problem is the principal. Like many other have posted, she cares about herself and her well being than the well being of the students or the teachers. I honestly can not believe she is still allowed to run this school because in our opinion, because she does not care and she is running this school into the ground. It's a shame to see how bad it has become.


Hominy Valley Elementary 1

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers . . . but terrible leadership. All creativity is gone and all administration seems to care about is test scores. Never see them out of the office. Not very child friendly or welcoming.

Hominy Valley Elementary 5

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
HVE is a school that is committed to excellence. A wonderful environment for learning and top scores. The staff and administration are dedicated to the students, and are amazing.

Hominy Valley Elementary 5

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
I have been very happy with my child's educational experience at HVE. He has been blessed to have excellent teachers and assistants both years. His teachers not only address his educational needs, but foster a loving and nurturing atmosphere. He has grown academically and socially while attending. Also, the principal is responsive and involved and makes sure to know her students, teachers and parents. We are very fortunate for our child to attend HVE.


Hominy Valley Elementary 2

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
We left this school because although many of the teachers were wonderful, the administration was unwelcoming and unresponsive to concerns.There was a rigid, punitive atmosphere, rather than a collaborative attitude and willingness to hear feedback. When asked why the gym teacher never (not once) took the children outside, the assistant principal said "because it's easier to control the children inside."

Hominy Valley Elementary 5

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
This school is a blessing for us and our daughter! The Principal and Teachers are wonderful and my child has done so well her 2nd and 3rd grade years. I feel very welcomed and the office staff greets me with a smile every time I show up. This school is Top Rank! :)

Hominy Valley Elementary 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Hominy Valley Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and staff and parents are wonderful!

Hominy Valley Elementary 1

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hominy Valley Elementary
450 Enka Lake Road, Candler, NC  28715
(828) 665-0619
Last modified Hominy Valley Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hominy Valley Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top