Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hominy Valley Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
They aren't patient with students who aren't up to the level of the other children.

Hominy Valley Elementary
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Seriously? A second grader doesn't need an overwhelming amount of homework every night. It's too much for a overworked parent to deal with.


Hominy Valley Elementary
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
I feel like they give up on the students who aren't up to speed with the rest of the students.

Hominy Valley Elementary
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
I'm not sure about the students, but some of the teachers and principal doesn't show any of that.

Hominy Valley Elementary
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Honesty? Maybe. Integrity? Maybe. Fairness? Not at all. I don't feel like they are being fair to my son.


Hominy Valley Elementary 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
My son and I just moved here from SC and I am a single mother who works all the time with hardly any help. I had my first conference with his teacher and the principal. I was not pleased with how I was talked to about my son. I felt the principal and the teacher were putting me on trial for him not adjusting. The standards of learning here are higher than where we are from in SC and I don't feel like they care about that. I feel like the principal doesn't care and his teacher is quite rude. I also felt like I was judged for having to work so much. I am very unhappy with this school. His last school may have had lower standards of learning, but they were very understanding and helped with him as much as they could. I don't feel like this school cares.

Hominy Valley Elementary 2

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are amazing, facility is beautiful. Terrible leadership. The principal is not personable, not kid friendly, all business. Apparently she's been there forever -clearly time for a change.

Hominy Valley Elementary 4

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Great school! My daughter's third grade teacher, Mrs. Cegelis (Brundage) is simply fantastic. My child raves about her consistently. Thank you for the great work you do Mrs. Cegelis, you are appreciated! Not a big fan of the principal, seems to be solely test score motivated.


Hominy Valley Elementary 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Great shcool. Principle and Staff is wonderful and dedicated to the students. I have three that goes to the shcool, 5th 4th and kindergarten. I wouldn't want them to go anywhere else.

Hominy Valley Elementary 2

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Although we love this school, the major problem is the principal. Like many other have posted, she cares about herself and her well being than the well being of the students or the teachers. I honestly can not believe she is still allowed to run this school because in our opinion, because she does not care and she is running this school into the ground. It's a shame to see how bad it has become.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hominy Valley Elementary
450 Enka Lake Road, Candler, NC  28715
(828) 665-0619
Last modified Hominy Valley Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hominy Valley Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top