Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davis Drive Elementary

Public | K-5 | 966 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

I have three children who attend DDE. We love the school. The teachers are nurturing, caring and keep children engaged. While I do agree that the school is academically demanding, we have seen that encourage out children to do their best. They have each excelled in different areas: math, athletics, and the arts. They have all been praised individually and allowed to grow in their strengths. We cannot say enough good things about the administration and their daily involvement in lessons and character building as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

We moved to a specific house to be close to DDE. Don't love the house, but the school is worth it. The teachers and administration are involved and invested. I would't be there otherwise. In this day of mult choices for schools, I feel DDE is a gem. I'm lucky to be there. The teachers work really hard to engage the kids, which excites the kids about learning. I wish I had teachers like this when I went to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

The "10" high rating on this school is deceiving. It is a very high pressure school, that is way, way over crowded. If you child is not perfectly behaved, and also advanced academically, then your child will eventually feel as if they are not as "normal" as the highest achievers. We spent 5 years in this school. We watched it get so over crowded, that eventually special groups had to get cut: 4th grade chorus and all of the jump rope teams. If you are lucky to get a great teacher, then that's good for you, but with 6 classes per grade level, you only have a 1 in 6, or a 2 in 6, shot at getting a good teacher, each year. Instead of spending hours doing homework, the kids should have been taught those topics during the school day, but how could they, if they spent most of their time waiting in line, walking, etc? During one of the years, I was having to re-teach all of the topics every week. Thank goodness my kids won't be going onto overcrowded DD Middle school, and onto "Green Dope" High school, where I hear the pressure gets even worse...and there are only 2 paths: either excel onto an Ivy League college, or end up on drugs due to the high pressure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My kids went to this school for 2 years. If you have an average child or a special needs child, then this school is NOT for you. Too much focus is placed on high achievers and parents of average children are forced to seek tutoring. My son started at a 6 reading level, and ended at a 7, while the rest of the class finished at a 23. Too many issues between administration, teachers, and PTA. No unity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

I have gone to this school ever since kindergarten to fifth grade, and this school has left behind lots of wonderful memories. The teachers are caring and thoughtful and quite funny. Plus, the environment is quite friendly. I would recommend this school to anyone.


Posted December 7, 2011

If you are already a winner, this school might help. I am feeling sorry to write this but for my son who is in his current 3rd grade (2011-2012). English is not his mother tongue . He is having difficulty in reading, comprehending the stories beyond couple of pages. We understand he is struggling at his class. The teacher, in stead of showing us ways to to cope up the difficulties, she sends in the complaints everyday and blame him for not following the class. The way I look at it is that the teachers are just 'covering' the subjects and do not care individuals if falling behind. The more they are stuck, the more they will be neglected without helping. We moved from California last year and are facing the issues only this year. This means, he was good in his 2nd grade and is having tough time this year for his 3rd grade. I have no other choice than pointing out his teacher. She may be good her own pace. But may not be a right choice for kids that need help and support. If the race is only for the top students, then I say it is not fair. Some may be in the second layer and need little push. In a way, this forces us to spill out extra money for tuitions, outside teachers. But why?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

Davis is a school of excellence year after year. Its students always come first. The teachers are selfless and donate their time and talents to acheive exceptional students. The staff and teachers are truely helping students well on their for lifes challenges and be be great societys contributors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I have nothing but good things to say about DDE. The teachers are all, as far as I know, great, they seem to work as a team, the academic standard is high, the new principal is organized and well liked - any changes to the school he's helped put in place seem to be good ones. Our kids have enjoyed attending Davis Drive and the many activities organized by the PTA. They welcome parents visiting and being involved in children's learning. There is not a crazy obsession with EOG's but those that seem to need extra help/practice do get it. The teachers we have had have been fabulous with stressing reading and creative writing skills. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I've had two children go throught Davis Drive Elementary and they both graduated elementary well above the other students in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

I really researched the area when we moved here from a great school district in Pennsylvania. I read the rave reviews here and really looked at the test scores. But, they don't tell the full picture. DDE is an excellent school if your child has no learning impairments or disabilities. Several times I was called in for a conference regarding my child, only to be belittled and scolded d for not appropriately teaching her at home. In reality, my child has a hearing issue and she has very little confidence in large classrooms. And her kindergardten classe was plenty large - with 22 kids. For tFor a number of reasons, we have elected private school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

This is an awesome school! My two boys attended for two years, 1st and 2nd and 4th and 5th. The teachers work very hard, the students are committed to learning and the administrative support is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

Excellent school, super learning environment. Parent involvement is an important part of the success. We relocated from New York and have found the level and quality of education our child is receiving to be superior to what was received in New York. Communication is the key to DDE's success. The communication throughout the school is excellent, within both the teaching staff and administration. We could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

Wonderful school, teachers, atmosphere, etc. And there will be additional parking soon! Yeah! This is my child's 2nd year there and she is very very happy and has many friends. The standards and expectations are very high for everyone - teachers, parents, and students. If you are looking for a 'slack' school, this isn't it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

We absolutely love the school. Our daughter has been going there for 2 years. The atmosphere, quality of work, and the warmth and friendliness of the staff is A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

An outstanding school! Superb parent involvement, outstanding leadership and teachers--one of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

Davis drive is a wonderful school. The principal sets high standards academically and the teachers are great. The parents are really involved and my son was extremely happy here. I would highly recommend Davis Drive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Excellent Presidential Blue Ribbon school. Voted School of Excellence year after year with a strong curriculum, continued high student scores, leading school in the Wake County with 100% parental participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

I am very pleased with DDE. This will be our 4th year at the school. All of our teachers have been terrific. The volunteerism has a very positive impact on the school. And Mrs. Andrews runs the school with authority and kindness. Our scores tell the story. It is a well run and incredible learning environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

An incredible and nurturing environment. This is a high-tech school with a small town feel where all the parents get involved. Davis Drive is my children's home-away-from-home of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
>95%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female89%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities43%
Non-disabled students92%
Limited English proficiency71%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian85%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities43%
Non-disabled students84%
Limited English proficiency36%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian-95%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities68%
Non-disabled students92%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian88%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities32%
Non-disabled students88%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian-95%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities67%
Non-disabled students94%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities67%
Non-disabled students84%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Academically gifted94%

Science

All Students95%
Female92%
Male-95%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged-95%
Students with disabilities80%
Non-disabled students-95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English-95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 52%
Asian 33% 3%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Black 2% 26%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2151 Davis Drive
Cary, NC 27519
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 387-2130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT