Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cary High

Public | 9-12 | 2310 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2013

Teachers are very good but administrative staff very unorganized and apathetic. Children who are disruptive and should be suspended after multiple incidents are not disciplined. Staff too lazy to bother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

My son began this year and we have been impressed by the whole community spirit and multitude of option my son can explore .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

My son graduated from Cary HS in 2013, fourth in his class. He scored a 2230 on the SAT (770, 770, 690) with no tutoring. He also earned 30 hours of credit for college (through Cary's fantastic AP classes) at UNC - Chapel Hill, again, with no tutoring. If you want your child to be the best academically, Cary High School can make that happen. Teachers are excellent with very high standards. He was in band and tennis also. His two sisters are currently attending Cary too. Moved here six years ago, did research, and only looked at houses zoned for Cary High School. Very glad I chose this outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

We loved Cary High School, the tradition, the teachers, and the students. At freshman orientation, Principle Tillman really inspired the kids to take pride in their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

Cary High School has a lot of subjects and alot of languges that any body can choose from to learn and even sports to join like football, basektball and more.... I love the way that everybody gets to get along and communicate with everybody there. GO IMPS! BLEED GREEN ALL THE WAY! CARY HIGH SCHOOL IMPS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2013

Cary High School is a terrible school for special education students. Throughout my son's school years we have had him in many different settings and different states, but Cary High School is without a doubt the worse school. My son's teacher had no control of the classroom and did not encourage parent involvement because then she would have to actually teach the students instead of letting them sleep - which is what we saw many times when we stopped in for other reasons. Parents do whatever you can to get your son or daughter with Special Needs out of Cary High School. Cary might be a good school for students going to college or talented in sports but for students who have significant cognitve limitations it is not much more than a warehouse - SAD !!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

my daughter and son-in-law both attended chs and thrived!! my son-in-law graduated in 2005 and my daughter in 2007! thanks to chs, my daughter is now a teacher herself!!! you probably know who they are!! because my son-in-law played football for cary high! THANKS CHS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I have a junior and a sophomore right now and we love the school. The teachers seem to care about the kids and they talk to them on their level. Both kids are in honors classes and one in marching band. Seems like everyone gets along well and the principal is amazing at relating to the students. Band program is bar-none! Imps really do bleed green :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

"One word...Tradition!" We have many good things to say about Cary High. It is a multicultural, socially diverse environment and the kids seem to get along very well with one another. The teachers are responsive and willing to help and the AP classes are challenging. The community/student support for the extracurricular activities is very good, the band program is amazing. Each year CHS just gets better and better. Two things that need work are: 1) the buildings are old and need some TLC (the school is in process of working on that) and 2) more parents need to join and support THE PTA! Over all, a very good place to send your children to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

We have two daughters who are thriving at The Cary High School. Cary High is different from other Wake County schools in many key areas. Teaching staff is stable (low turn-over) and willing to assist students during lunch and after school. Principal Thilman is highly visible through the school day and at after-school activities - he "participated" in band camp. The students generally come from households that do not entitle them (ie: they are not driving fancy cars or dressing in designer duds). The music, sports, and ROTC programs are distinguished in big ways, every year. We cannot imagine our family at any other school. Yes, we bleed green, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

My last of 3 kids has graduated from Cary High and is off to start her college adventures. Cary High has done a great job of preparing all three of my kids with the tools they have needed to succeed in life. Each child had different areas of interest and this school provided them all the opportunity to explore and grow in their specialized areas. The principal is youthful and involved with the students...they love him. Teachers and staff are supportive and caring. Music and sports programs are top notch. As a parent, I encourage you and your child to get involved and make a difference. This school is rooted deep in tradition(s) and school spirit. Thanks to the many at Cary High who have helped us to raise happy, educated and well-rounded children. Imps do bleed green:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

Cary High is certainly not the best.. Cary high has some get teachers don't get me wrong but that school is so unorganized to me I'm glad I'm no longer going to Cary High I'm now going to go to Panther Creek , which is a Way better school . Good Luck fellow IMPS !
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2011

This school has been great for me so far. It has been very open minded and accepts everyone's faults. Even though there are sometimes fights, it is only the troublemakers. I have excellent teachers and very good friends. It is a much better school than what it is rated on here for.... so far. Plus, the CET program here is AMAZING!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2011

My grandson just started 9th grade at the school. While he likes his teachers and friends, he and his parents are cautiously waiting to see how the school is and what the kids outside of his group are like. Someone set fire to the bathrooms 3 days this week and the fire department was called. Bad behavior is one thing but this goes beyond.


Posted June 19, 2011

My daughter just finished her freshman year. It was fantastic! I really feel that the teachers and the school leadership care about the students success. I absolutely love the diversity at the school. I know that is a very important part of the schools success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

I used to attend cary high and loved every second of it. The teachers were approachable and the classes were challenging. Teachers were available all the time for help or just to go and hangout with when you have spare team. The athletic department is top notch and are teams are always pretty good, i loved being an athlete for the imps. The kids i met there are good people and i miss roaming the halls of cary high. Best high school in the triangle!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2009

I feel that CHS is a wonderful school. The teachers there really care about their students and try to help them succeed. As an Alumni i can attest that many of us come back not only to visit for home coming but to also give back to our school and community. CHS has great AP classes, and EXCEPTIONAL extracurricular program (go gang green!!!). For the negative posters below, by the time you get to high school you shouldn't have to be spoon feed and told how to talk and what to do. that is a choice that you consciously make. It is not the job of a HIGH SCHOOL teacher to hold your child's hand and tell them what to do. any 14-18 is more than capable of doing their work and following directions. Teachers can only teach if you are willing to open your mind and listen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

CHS fosters a positive environment academically and socially. The variety of electives and availability of AP courses are unmatched. I took 9 AP classes and countless electives with incredibly dedicated teachers who showed a passion for their subject and a love for their students. Likewise, extra-curricular activities abound, ranging from athletic teams to service organizations to honor societies to special interest groups. Each student has an opportunity to get involved with extra-curriculars that correspond to his/her interests. This, along with the rich traditions, cultivates an environment and school spirit that is unique to CHS. Alumni return not only for the typical homecoming festivities, but just to visit their esteemed teachers. Hearing about other people s high school experiences has shown me how fortunate I was to attend Cary. I love my school--the teachers, the students, the traditions, and plan to return as a teacher upon graduating from college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

CHS is a disorganized school where students 'slip through the cracks' because the administration just does not care. Students and parents are treated rudely by office personnel. Teachers have no power to change the system. Bright students basically teach themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

The classes and electives are excellent, however sometimes the time spent on homework per day exceeds the time spent in school per day. My child spends aprox 30 hours per week on homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

578 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

470 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

470 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

642 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

559 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

227 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

555 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students32%
Female25%
Male39%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiency29%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students73%
Female71%
Male76%
Black45%
Asian64%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial76%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities48%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically gifted-95%

English II

All Students64%
Female70%
Male57%
Black41%
Asian47%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial76%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities40%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 52%
Black 20% 26%
Hispanic 18% 14%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Improv

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Jacob Bryant
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 460-3573

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Improv
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

638 Walnut Street
Cary, NC 27511
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 460-3549

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT