Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reedy Creek Middle
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
The principal is the biggest one who needs a thanks from the whole school. He has come forward and made this a much better school. Many teachers from the elementary school have transitioned to the Middle School because of the principal. >75% of the people in this school deserve a huge thanks.

Reedy Creek Middle
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
The teachers are amazing except for a tiny bunch. They teach normal subjects and are fair with the amour of classwork given to you, except for some teachers which constantly give you work but not homework, making it a stress for you to be in their class.


Reedy Creek Middle
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
The school does not give enough homework. As a student myself, most weeks I do not get much homework at all. I go out for some days and it is hard to catch up with the work, because not all teachers are willing to help people individually. The school definitely needs to give out homework, at least 4 times a week. Math is the subject homework is given the most. The school is not too challenging.

Reedy Creek Middle
Develops respect: Agree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
The school, teaches well as I previously stated. The teachers talk heart-to-heart sometimes and teach the children lessons that they will remember.

Reedy Creek Middle
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
The school has good morales. The school teaches the children well, and there are more than several teachers who are willing to care for their students, but are not able to because of the trouble-making students not caring about the school or their education in general.


Reedy Creek Middle 4

Posted January 04, 2016
- a student
RCMS has come a very far way from where it originated. Reedy Creek in previous years had chaotic kids, and it still does. The test scores for this school are overall bad, because of most of the children in the school not caring at all about their education. There is a lot of children in this school that treat others well and are very quiet and respectful to the teachers, and in the long run help teachers a huge amount RCMS is overall a very good school. The bullying is a minor issue. The staff and new principle, Mr. Evans, is very friendly and knows what he is doing and how to make this school efficient. The school will soon be turning into a Magnet school in the category of Technology, and will bring the grades up high. If you are thinking of a new school to go to, don't enroll your students this year, but wait until the year of 2016-2017.

Reedy Creek Middle 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
My family has been very pleased with our experience at Reedy Creek Middle. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The band program is impressive. The principal is very involved with the various schools' activities and is always present and accessible. He makes a point of knowing each child and is very focused on making the school the best it can be. My children have never been bullied and have excelled in both academics and the arts (band, drama). My oldest transitioned to high school this year and was well-prepared for that transition. The school has made a dramatic improvement over the last three years (since the new principal took over), and I look forward to seeing the exciting changes ahead as it becomes Cary's first magnet middle school.

Reedy Creek Middle 5

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
I am now on my second child that has attended Reedy Creek Middle and we have had a great experience. The former principal left much to be desired but I will say that my first child that went through during his time still succeeded with wonderful teachers and continues to succeed in high school so no real harm was done. The current principal, Mr. Evans, came in 3 years ago and has completely changed the atmosphere of the school. He cares so much about the students and wants the school to transform into something great. He is always open to parent suggestions and responds back quickly to emails. He has made some really great hires for new teachers. The school has had lower than desired test scores but that is a reflection of the population of free and reduced lunch students at the school. To remedy the situation, the county has now named RCMS a magnet school starting in Fall 2016. The theme will be Computer Science/Computer Programming and the school hopes to attract students that want to incorporate these skills into their daily life and use them to help with future career decisions. RCMS continues to have an excellent band and unique Animal Science program. To me, the most worthwhile elective that my oldest took was Peer Helpers where they got to work with the ID-MOD classroom. It really opened his eyes to accepting the differences in people and their struggles. He loved getting to accompany the students to the Special Olympics to be their coach and cheer for them and he continues to work with special needs children in the community through things like Miracle League baseball. It was a life lesson that we could have never taught him otherwise. The school's operating hours of 8:15am-3pm work better with my RCMS student's schedule so he can sleep in a little longer than his friends at other schools and aligns better with the time my elementary student gets out of school. The school has a very strong, committed, and welcoming PTA. Ignore the old, out-of-date comments on this site and send your child to school at RCMS - I have one more that I will not hesitate to send to RCMS under its current leadership!


Reedy Creek Middle 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a teacher
Reedy Creek has come a long way in the last couple years. Even though the school has had poor leadership in the past, my children had a positive experience and excelled in high school. I expect the same from my child currently attending RCMS. The Principal, Mr. Evans, has done a great job of hiring new staff, building a solid team, and improving academics and communication between teachers and parents. He is committed to improving the school in all areas. With the announcement of the magnet school status, RCMS will continue to grow and prepare students for high school. I highly recommend RCMS!

Reedy Creek Middle 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
excellent principal and PTA board members. hard working administration and faculty. smart students who go above and beyond.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reedy Creek Middle
930 Reedy Creek Road, Cary, NC  27513
(919) 460-3504
Last modified Reedy Creek Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reedy Creek Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top