Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Farmington Woods Elementary
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Pierce for being the strong and enthusiastic leader that you are. I appreciate how much you encourage the whole school community to do well.

Farmington Woods Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are truly interested in helping the students to achieve. They really seem to care that each child does their best.


Farmington Woods Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
I think that homework is an important part of reinforcing what is being learned in the classroom. In order to be able to compete in a competitive world. They do a good job of balancing the amount of work through the different subjects.

Farmington Woods Elementary
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Yes, they encourage their students to work hard and persevere in all areas of development.

Farmington Woods Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Through their going for the gold program they work to develop good behavior and respect among the students.


Farmington Woods Elementary
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The entire staff works hard to help students of all levels and capabilities. They really care about the growth and development of all members of the school community. They really want the students to do well and nurture them in many ways

Farmington Woods Elementary 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
I have two children that have attended Farmington Woods. My younger child is a 5th grader this year. This is a wonderful school with so many opportunities for kids to learn about the world around them. Both of my kids have learning disabilities and an IEP. This school has done a wonderful job nurturing my children and helping them to grow academically. The current principal is enthusiastic and loves working with the kids and has experience with kids with learning difficulties and works hard to support all families. I would strongly recommend this school.

Farmington Woods Elementary 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
My little one started Kindergarten this year and it has been a challenge for her. She has never went to daycare or participated in any Pre-kindergarten programs. She began her education at another school and with a little less than half of the school year left, we decided she needed a change. She required extra attention to learn the basics; in which she did not receive at the previous school. Farmington has not only met my expectations, but have exceeded them. My child has been provided with more resources, support and is obtaining a solid foundation that is preparing her to have continued success. She now enjoys attending school and is feeling more confident about herself. Thank you Farmington Woods staff.


Farmington Woods Elementary 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
My child is just now finishing 5th grade and I have to say that it is without question better than I have ever imagined a school would be. He has learned so much through the IB program and he has grown so much not only through his education but socially as well. Literally every teacher he has had since kindergarten still knows his name as well as the media center educators, the principal, asst. principal and more. I couldn't have asked for a better learning experience. With the exception of 2nd grade, the teachers have been top notch, and even the 2nd grade teacher, although I didn't personally care for her, was instrumental in setting him up for higher learning. The educational values are there as are the before/after school activities such as handbell, chorus, science club, and the rest of the activities. I'm sad to have to leave the school after this year but the education that my child has gotten will certainly help him through middle school and life in general. I would recommend Farmington Woods to anyone and everyone who was looking for great learning for their child. This IB school seriously just can't be beat.

Farmington Woods Elementary 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
FWES is truly a Great School with an awesome IB program, caring teachers, wonderful students, parents and especially the principal & vice principal. We had a rough year last year as my son was testing the waters in 5K but Im thankful I didn't let my stubborn attitude take him out of a learning environment that is helping him to flourish. My son started this school year far behind & no where near where he should have been. The teachers, helpers, afterschool workers, literacy teacher, all the way to his peers and school counselor have assisted in getting him almost where he should be to end this school year. I cannot say enough positive things about FWES especially with a struggling student. FWES Rocks & I look forward to my son staying here until he finishes the 5th grade.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Farmington Woods Elementary
1413 Hampton Valley Rd, Cary, NC  27511
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (919) 460-3469
Last modified Farmington Woods Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top