Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Penny Road Elementary

Public | K-5 | 683 students

We are best known for engaging classroom instruction.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2014

I absolutely LOVE this school! My son is head and shoulders above his same age peers & loves Penny Road & his teacher. Parents are very involved & so is the principal. I did my research before transferring to this school, Penny Rd has high test scores, however they do have a special ed and the special ed scores are counted against Penny, so the scores are actually even higher than they appear. Penny also put in a brand new playground this year- it's AMAZING! All & all- I am very happy and looking forward to many more years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

My son has attended PRE for the past 3 years and we love it. It is safe, the staff is wonderful and helpful, and the teachers have been outstanding. Parental involvement is high and I have no doubts about sending my soon to be Kinder-kid here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

This school is great. The staff, teachers and priniples are all wonderful. This was my son's first year of school and we could not have asked for a better school. If you are fortunate enough to be able to attend Penny Road you should over any other school. We were going to do the year round thing but after visiting Penny Road's open house last year we were impressed so much that we choose to go the Penny Road. Its the BEST!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

I am extremely happy with Penny Road Elementary again this year. Our teachers are outstanding- always going above and beyond. Our Principal Mary Bohr has introduced a new program called BOOST which is a wonderful addition - additional focus classes at the end of the day- sports & health/ languages/ technology/ cooking- it is AMAZING! Mrs. Bohr dedication to education is impressive and in keeping with the mission of the school - "changing the world - one child at a time"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I feel compelled to write a glowing review for Penny Road. This is our second year at PRE and I continue to be highly impressed by the proactive academic differentiation my child has experienced. Before choosing PRE for kindergarten we looked at nearly every school in Wake County from charters to magnets to private schools. Never would I have imagined that the ideal school was in our neighborhood! I knew we would require an above average amount of differentiation and possible subject advancement and honestly had low expectations for what PRE could do (prior to AG placement in 4th grade). With the full support of my child's teachers (both K and 1st), the AG specialist and Principal Bohr, we have made special accommodations for my child to be taught at the correct instructional level. From pullout enrichment groups to separate leveled reading material to subject acceleration, PRE is seriously on top of it. I would highly recommend sending your AG child to PRE and feeling free to open up a dialog with Mrs. Bohr about how to best meet your child's needs. The best part is they are all just SO NICE! Never did I have to "make a case" for support, they have always been proactive! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

I am very satisfied with Penny Road. I have two kids at the school, one with learning disabilities. They are both thriving and have had great teachers every year. I looked at a lot of schools before buying my house and got that warm fuzzy feeling from Penny Road right away. My instincts weren't wrong, my whole family has been very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

Having two children in Penny Road has been a fantastic experience for me. One of my children has always needed special accommodations for success and has never been treated as an outsider by the teachers or staff. In fact, they have gone above and beyond in trying to help my child succeed. And, they are just as good at providing challenges to children who have mastered objectives. I am thankful every day for being able to send my children to a school as caring and warm as Penny Road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

If your child has any kind of learning difference, this school is not equipped nor does it tolerate children who are not part of the pack. I am looking to transfer my child to a school where patience and trying different ways to reach children are all part of everyday teaching practices. Penny Road is not a good school to send your child in 2012 especially since there are so many great choices available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

I love this school! Our son started kindergarten one week after we moved to NC. We opted out of the year round school and went to Penny. Every day the teachers in the drop off/pick up lane are smiling and friendly. When I have to go into school, everyone is very nice and helpful. The principal is always there and very involved and friendly. My son's teachers are wonderful and he is doing very well. We may have to switch schools next year due to wake county reassignment mess which makes me terribly sad and frustrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

We have a kindergarten student who just started school at Penny Road. We are very impressed with his teacher, Mrs. Foster and her staff as well as the principal, Mr. Barber. Parent involvement is very high and highly engagning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

The staff is wonderful and caring. Everyone from the principal, admin staff, and teachers care about the children. My children have received an excellent education, offering additional challenges when needed, and continue to be nurturing. I would not change schools unless forced to do so. My kids love it and always want to go to school. I have enjoyed becoming friends with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

My two girls attended Penny Road from Kindergarten through 5th grade so we spent 8 years at Penny Road. My husband, my self and my girls were never disappointed. The PTA and parental involvement is high The principal, assistant principal, office staff and all of the teachers were wonderful, top notch teachers, many having been there for many years. The principal deals with issues in a very timely manner, always smiles and is genuinely interested in you and the children. With both girls in middle school now I have come more appreciate the close knit feeling that we always had at Penny Road, something we no longer have. It was a bitter-sweet last year at Penny Road and we will all miss it and hold all other institutions at a standard comparable to Penny Road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

My two daughters attended Penny Road very briefly (alas) but absolutely loved the experience and the school. The teachers were excellent and all the students welcomed the 'new kids' with kindness and respect. The principal, Mr. Barbar was amazing and always had a smile - even when loading the kids in the carpool lane after school. Penny Road is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

My son loves Penny Road, The principal Mr. Barba is oustandindg! He is always there giving his support to students and parents. The Staff is friendly,kind, & professional.We love Penny Road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Wow! We love, love, love Penny Road! The staff is phenomenal, the office staff and principal are top notch! The academic arena is different this year as all schools are doing 'curriculum mapping' so all the teachers teach 'the same thing'. It appears to be working well. Music, art, health and PE are all taught by fabulous teachers and my children love them all. Parental involvement seems above average compared to the other school we were at. We made the switch this year and could not be happier! They are dealing with some crowding due to those opting out of year round, but I think have adapted well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Because of growth the school is slipping a bit. Needs to focus on getting better qualified and experienced teachers to handle the load. Reading appears to be okay in testing, however math quality is slipping, more focus on math related programs needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My daughters both love going to school at Penny Road. There has not been a day that they don't want to go to school. The teachers and staff are so welcoming and care so much about the children. I feel very fortunate to have the opportunity for my children to attend Penny Road. I feel it would be extremely difficult to find a better principal, he is caring, while keeping each child's educational needs as his focus. He cares for all types of kids, those who are struggling as well as those who excel. His discipline style is excellent and is very effective for those who need it. If you are considering sending your child to our school, you won't be disappointed, you'll be thrilled. We have a wonderful and dedicated PTA too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

Penny is improving dramatically under the new principal's leadership. Barbar had done wonders butit still has a long way to go. I would rather my child went to oak grove a few hundred feet away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

Penny Road Elementary is the kind of school I had hoped my children would be able to attend. The teachers are outstanding. They know and appreciate the children for who they are. They set high standards for all of them, and they give them the tools and support necessary to achieve those learning goals. The principal, Mr. Barbar, has the overall welfare of all the students as his first priority. The kids' academic, social, physical and emotional well-being are all important to him. He is a hands-on leader who supports the teachers. Our kids love Penny Road Elementary, and we're thankful for the wonderful experience they are having there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

We love Penny Road Elementary. The last two years my son has flourished there. His principal, Mr. Barbar, is a dynamic leader who is always there to help. He knows the students names and is passionate about helping our children learn and reach their highest potential. In both kindergarten and 1st grade, my son s teachers were incredibly energetic and creative. They impressed me with their wisdom and years of teaching experience. They knew my child they knew his strengths and helped him with his weaknesses. We have an active PTA. It has been fun meeting other parents while working together to enhance our children s education. Penny s overall End of Grade test score rose to 95.2% in 2004 making Penny Road what we parents already knew - A School of Excellence. I asked my son if he liked school and he told me, I don t like it I Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Female75%
Male83%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students83%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female66%
Male75%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students61%
Female64%
Male58%
Black12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students69%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male71%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students55%
Female55%
Male55%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students62%
Female57%
Male67%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 52%
Black 14% 26%
Hispanic 11% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Mary Bohr
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (919) 387-4403

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Apex Middle
Apex High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10900 Penny Road
Cary, NC 27518
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 387-2136

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT