Advertisement

Heartwood Montessori School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cary

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2010

My child spent two years there and it seemed to me that many classmates would have had an IEP had they been in public school. Unlike most private schools, they will take any child regardless of behavior or learning issues, though I'm not sure they're professionally trained to handle either. The educational background of the directors has been questioned by former parents. My child complained about the noise level and dogs ran around freely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My child went here for 4 yrs, grades 3, 4, 5, and 6. It was a GREAT school in comparison to our magnet Wake county option. It is not for every child, but if your child is motivated or curious about learning, and you want to be involved in your child's education as well as enlighten your child through exposure to the surrounding area through many field trips and hands on learning check it out. If you want your child to sit and be stifled in a classroom waiting for the 'no child to be left behind' to catch up to yours then stay where you are. I know of many children that have had their foundations built here and then continued on to some of the best schools in the area including Raleigh Charter HS. You can get what is needed here and more. Check it out :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

My children have gone to this school since they were two (for four years now). This is a wonderful school, an amazing foundation for their young years. Tons to explore at their own pace with teachers who teach them and nurture them at the same time. Lots of outside/outdoor time, which is what children need. Children are allowed to be children here, not robots or not 'perfect' as it is the trend nowadays, they are accepted and loved just how they are! Once in, you will fall in love with Heartwood- it will become your child's real second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

School is wonderful - truly teaches the students - not the subjects. When we moved our son from public school, his teacher said 'what's wrong? he's going to pass?' - We wanted a more personalized education that would allow him to grow - and receive extra attention. He got it! His teachers ensure he gets his work done and he is thriving in math, spelling and reading. A wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

School is lacking academically. Teachers are not held accountable for poor performance or test scores. Kids like it because they don't have homework and spend days out of the classroom on field trips .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I have had two children attend Heartwood for four years now. I have been impressed with the curriculum taught in both the preschool and the lower elementary classrooms as well as with the dedication of all the teachers and staff to advocate for all the students of the school. My family couldn't be happier with the school ~ when your child looks forward to going to school each day and is sad to go home at the end of the day, what else do you need to know?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

Overall school personnel is very caring but not well trained academically especially in the lower and upper elementary levels. Math is extremely deficient. Very poor record keeping. School more for profit and business than educating children in the true vision of Maria Montessori. The sanitation can use some improvement . Eating outside is great but among flies is a bit 'too much nature'. There are too many parents who have become teachers for a reduction or free tuition with kids in same class as parent teachers. I have witnesses those same kids receiving preferential treatment with regarding to snacks and classroom attention academically. Ok to send your child if you really want some Montessori education but do not expect first class for your very high tuition. Not much else in the Cary/Raleigh area. Only find those schools in Boston, New York or Florida. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 53%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 4% 32%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hispanic 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (919) 461-8386

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 Byrum Street
Cary, NC 27511
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 465-2113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT