Advertisement

Cary Christian School

Private | K-12 | 810 students

The curriculum is taught in a three part educational process called the Trivium.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cary

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $228,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

I was a HS student at CCS, for almost 2 years. There were a couple of good/decent teachers and lots of bad/terrible teachers. I got straight 'A's. Lot's of busy work but very little actual learning. Mostly easy 'A's. Lot's of homework, but just silly stuff, to keep you busy. Like most students at CCS, my study habits were ruined (didn't need to do any better) and I was bored to tears. In the end, I had very little respect for a lazy and unaware administration. Ignore the hype. Don't do this to your kids.


Posted April 7, 2014

Hello That was a really nice post. My daughter is going to 7th Grade next year and she will be attending CCS. I see the mixed reviews about the school and I really wish I could reach out to parents that the school is working for them. She is attending public school now and I feel she is not really getting the education she deserves, and to be honest I would like for her to be in a environment where students share her values that are being taught at home. I'm on the fence, but I have to try something different she a really good student and I don't want her to get lost in the system. Thank you again that was a very positive post.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

We've had 2 children at CCS for 5 years. We think it's a great school but take it one year at a time. Yes, it is academically very tough and that's the principle reason many leave. If you want a solid Christian education with college prep type academics this is the school for you. Ask them for their test scores and list of colleges graduates attend. For the price of tuition it's impressive but may not be for everyone. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

Go figure, but, I m not sure how anyone could consider this school academically strong, or tough, or challenging, etc. There s a big difference between academically busy and academically challenging . This school specializes in busy work (read wasting you kid s time). My HS children practically slept through many of their classes and got straight A s (and NO, they re not little geniuses and they don t walk on water maybe a bit above average, academically). People leave (regularly) because they are disgusted with the poor leadership, non-christian environment, and poor (POOR!) teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

This is really not a Christian environment and it's certainly not "excellent" or "fantastic" above the 5th grade. My husband and I cannot figure out how anyone could come up with these glowing reviews for this school. I suppose some "drink the coolaid" more readily than others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

CCS is a fantastic school where teachers and administrators are dedicated to teaching a distinctively Christian worldview in all subjects. The course work is academically rigorous from K through 12th and biblically faithful. I couldn't ask for a better school for my kindergarten aged kids. It is the best value for your money in the triangle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Always loved the teachers and staff at this school. However things have changed in the past two years or so since our head principal left. Disappointed with the bullying at this school. We are leaving after being there many years. Our child has been begging us to leave the past two years and now we see why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

We have 3 children in MSl at Cary Christian and couldn't be happier. It is definitely a challenging academic environment, but that's what we want for our children. This is the kindest, most nurturing environment full of warm, empathetic teachers so I can't imagine how anyone would have such a polar opposite experience than what we have had. Some of the comments here seem...from out in left field, honestly. Some people just have a problem with Christian schools I reckon. But this has been such a blessing for our family. We could finally find peace knowing that our children were in a safe, respectful and loving environment. The staff and teachers not only talk the talk, they walk the walk. It is inspiring and motivating for both the kids and the parents. Its not a big school, but its big enough to have many competitive sports options and arts electives. There are enough kids that they can find a like-minded set of friends, but not so big that they get lost. We have tried public and private in this area, and this has definitely been the right fit for us. That said, you have to be ready and willing to follow the rules. We knew what were signing up for and couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This school is a disaster no matter how you look at it. There should be a way to give less than one star to the category of Principal Leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

Cary Christian School: This an christian school first, then academic. I have found, with four children currently enrolled, that it is academically challenging. Many families tend to leave because of two reasons. First, because it is too challenging for their child. Secondly, the social interaction between the males and females is not enough for them. The focus of this school is Christ and academics. Those that find this a challenge leave. This school is not for everyone. We are at this unique, " Classica,l" school because, as of now, we are very pleased with the results. Our child made the top 5% in the Duke Tip Program and is socially active, in this school, with the other like minded families. No school is perfect but this one fits our Christian family well and is academically challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

Despite sobering warnings, we enrolled our 2kids, who happen to be the compliant & high achieving type (thank you God). We soon began hearing a steady stream of troubling reports about what was& was not happening in their classes. I finally sat in on 1of my son's mid school classes& 1of my daughter's HS classes (The handbook says CCS supports this but they seemed put out when I asked I was even told parents never do this). What I saw, in the younger class, was a group of unusually willing, even eager students being stifled& at times even shut down by their teacher. In both classes I was struck by the lack of any real interest& ability in the teacher & this while on their best for me. Now the worst part When I reported these things& a separate instance of abuse by a teacher, the accusations AGAINST ME began to fly. The staff s "You think your kids are perfect!" response morphed into You re a menace to the school (& maybe even a stalker!). Stomach-turning stuff no doubt. Anything to hide the inappropriate conduct of the staff. Of course we left the school & we thanked God. While there are some lovely families at CCS, I don't think they understand what this school really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

Our daughter is currently a high school freshman at Cary Christian School, and her experience since kindergarten at CCS has been very positive. We value the Christian worldview, the rigorous academic standards, and the emphasis on written and oral communication. We also appreciate the recent focus on augmenting high school offerings and look forward to continued improvements in the areas of math and science. There are many extracurricular opportunities available in both athletics and fine arts. We have been very impressed with the quality of drama and concert choir training and performances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

We have three children in this school and it has been a blessing to our family. The learning environment is top notch and our children are challanged daily to learn and grow mentally and spriritually. There are many activities offered that provide variety of extracurricular opportunities. We have been very happy with this school over the last nine years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Cary Christian School is an excellent school both in its focus on a Christian worldview and a classical education. As you can see from the other reviews here, there is room for improvement. However that is the case in all schools and in society in general. There are less than perfect students, teachers, administrators, and families at CCS, just as there are at other schools. In spite of that, CCS shines in the areas that many parents have a concern with, including academic rigor, order in the school and classroom, and the overall atmosphere of learning. Take note of the tone of complaints about the rules and the uniforms. Our experience has been that such families are not generally on board with the CCS model and vision, so they tend to complain about it and want to change it. CCS is not like other private schools in the area and it is unashamedly so. It is not for everyone. Most families that we have seen leave have done so for less academic rigor, a greater chance for their child to play a sport, or for fewer rules of other private or public schools. If you are considering CCS, do not commit to the school unless you understand the model and can support it honestly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

The school has an extremely strong Logic, Rhetoric and writing program as well as teaching the students how to explain themselves, how to present and defend whatever point, subject, topic they are discussing, etc. The atmosphere is reverent towards Christ and is service minded. The Math and sciences are getting stronger as the school seeks excellence in this area as well..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

Cary Christian provides an academically challenging environment coupled with a Christian world view. The student body is comprised of talented young people who strive to achieve excellence in their academic, athletic, and social lives. My two sons have attended for several years and we cannot be happier with their development as young men preparing to attend college and face real life challenges. The administration is top notch and the faculty is composed of skilled teachers with a genuine passion to help students learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

We have two sons in school, one in 3rd grade and the other in 1st grade. They both started in K, and they both love to go to school. In addition to the Biblical world view and classical education system, we are delighted with how the teachers are empowered to hold students accountable. The children are truly being educated and it harkens back to yester-year when we expected more of students in school. We are excited to partner with CCS to raise our boys into young men who will be well equipped to be good citizens and contribute to the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I'm not sure about grammar school grades but middle and high school educational and conduct standards (of the staff) are sadly low, overall, with too few bright spots. My 3 childrn somehow managed to always get the 'A's but that doesn't change the fact that the process was often arbitrary and capricious with some students unfairly treated. Some remarkably incompetent and unprofessional teachers linger on, year after year, with little or no real accountability from Administrators/ principals or the Board...and some of these can be nearly vicious if you catch them on a bad day. Bottom line...this is a nominal Christian school that has simply lost its way, from top to bottom. The real puzzle is why so many parents would give this school 3, 4, or even 5 stars and seem completely oblivious to the realities (even as it relates to their children.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

Our daughter has been going to the Phonics school for two years and really loves the teachers and fellow students. After any school holiday, she is happy and excited to go back to school. While sometimes challenging, she thinks school is fun. We have been happy with the academically challenging environment. The class room is structured and children are encouraged to learn appropriate behavior which has positive benefits in all aspects of her life. We appreciate the fact that children from K through 12th grade are all within the same school and interact with each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

I went to this school in middle school. I had some amazing teachers here, and some really awful ones. since there are no set consequences for breaking the rules, it is all up to the staff s discretion. if a teacher doesn t like you they often will pick on you and look the other way for other students. The principle and many of the teachers use intimidation to make you behave. The academics were challenging but if you struggled academically several of the upper-class men tutor younger students at reasonable rates. each grade was split into about 3 groups of 20 and each group went to classes and ate lunch together. If you end up with your friends, it s great. End up with a bad group all year and it will make you miserable. There are too many rules at this school. The polo s must have only 1 button undone, the shirts must be tucked in,, NO cell phones can be turned on or they will take them for 2 weeks, no ipods ever, no music except classical can be played at school. The principle disbanded a bible study in the school because it was co-ed and the young girls should learn from their fathers not other men. He made the girls and boys separate and have different bible studies.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 53%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 4% 32%
Hispanic 1% 11%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dell Cook
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS
Fax number
  • (919) 367-7558

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Debate
  • Interact Service Club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1330 Old Apex Rd
Cary, NC 27513
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 303-2560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT