Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cary Academy 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Love Cary Academy! Strong teachers, challenging curriculum, and a dynamic, diverse student body as valuable to my child's education as the classes themselves. We picked Cary Academy because we assessed it to be the most inclusive of the academically rigorous schools in the area. Sometimes wish it we more explicit with support for minority students, esp. gay and transgender students, but reading reviews like that submitted by the close-minded parent below make me appreciate how much it does do for the students most vulnerable to marginalization and self-hate.

Cary Academy 2

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Solid academics, caring teachers, tech heavy and WAY over the line exposing students beginning in 6th grade to inappropriate sexual & personal topics in the name of "acceptance" and "diversity". Parents are not informed and students are required to participate. The faculty recently distributed condoms and "taught" details of a gang rape case to middle schoolers. Keynote graduation speech, endless school newspaper articles, assemblies & class discussions with both genders and multiple grades focusing on private, personal & family topics like sexuality, STDs, sex changes, feminine hygiene, etc. This is not limited to health or sex ed classes; it is ubiquitous. Parents and students both are treated like outsiders if they disagree; concerns raised to the administration are respectfully acknowledged but ignored. For families who believe some topics should be kept private or within the family, or that kids ages 11+ don't need to be exposed to TMI, you are misaligned with this school. Let's hope the new school head reins this in before further hurting kids and families, seriously damaging the school's reputatation and eroding future applicant pools.


Cary Academy 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
Cary Academy is a top-notch, academically rigorous college prep school. It does a wonderful job of preparing young people for the world beyond middle and high school in every way, academically, socially and emotionally. The teachers are outstanding, energetic and deeply committed to the young people they educate. We have yet to have less than excellent in the teaching department. The school also welcomes parental involvement. We have been very happy with CA on every level. It is a tough school, however, so your child needs to be academically motivated to succeed and thrive. The student body is cohesive and a nice group of kids. We have not experienced any meanness or bullying issues or any problems at CA.

Cary Academy 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
We are parents of a sixth grader at CA, just completing our first year at the school, and we could not be happier. We feel warmly welcomed into the CA community, and our child has had a wonderful, nurturing first year of middle school. We have been very impressed by the quality and commitment of the faculty. The academics are rigorous, but you can literally see how much your child is learning and growing every day. I can't think of a finer middle school experience!

Cary Academy 3

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
I took my children out of Cary Academy when we moved to North Raleigh and enrolled at North Raleigh Christian Academy. Of the two schools my children and I both prefer NRCA because I believe the overall learning atmosphere is better. Cary Academy has an element of "troubled youth" that is unsettling. That troubled youth element is non-existent at NRCA. The course work and homework requirements are more rigorous at Cary Academy (which I personally prefer) but I have no doubt that NRCA is preparing my children for college.


Cary Academy 5

Posted July 08, 2012
- a parent
Great school ! Founders are really behind this school and support faculty, students, and parents in every way they can. It seems the founders have a true love for the success of students and their community. Their commitment to the school and excellence in education is a key to the success of CA. Parents are mostly professionals and committed to their children s education. It is a total school for learning and achievement. Faculty are very much into teaching and are positive. Students like attending the school. Financial resources, technology, faculty, campus, and many more offerings of CA make it a top school. We have had one successful graduate and have a second child at the school and are VERY happy with CA. Many thanks to founders, leadership, faculty, and parents who are behind CA. A total team effort has made CA a shining example in secondary education.

Cary Academy 5

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
CA is great at developing a kid's potential and helping them blossom into independence and adulthood. Lots of handholding and homework starting in the 6th grade leading to less handholding and more independence in the 8th grade. The Upper school focuses on learning using lots of creative methods to engage all the kids. Lots of club, arts, sports and other extracurriculars. 100% attend college. They really seem to 'get kids' and get kid behavior and channel all that energy into effective learning. You rarely see an unhappy face on the very welcoming campus. The parents are welcome and encouraged to join in and lend their talents at many different activities throughout the campus. Not in the classroom like elementaries did, but throughout the school where needed for assistance, time and talents. These kids are smart, and the teachers know how to manage these smarts kids and turn them into (hopefully) lifelong learners.

Cary Academy 4

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
I am a parent of a female 8th grade student who will enter CA high school next year. As a parent of a middle schooler, I communicate and 'observe' the happenings of the many high schoolers we come in contact Fort those considering Cary Academy, I am breaking down my review in 5 topics: 1. Student comfort,, social fitting in 'how the student feels about himself/herself' : Cary Academy does exceptionally well in this. Students feel at home with no peer pressure or groups/cliques., Not tied to tiers of social or economical stds. 5 Star. 2. Academic: Very good -humanities and language arts & social studies etc., 5 star 3. Math and Science, Technology: Very good, though some highly driven 'merit based' Charter and public schools are doing equally well and better some times. Given the cost, this is a 4 STARS 4. College preparednes& proficiency: CA Prepares kids well, especially in college ramp up etc., but given the nature of lower educationsal standard of NC , local alarea, CA studfents do not end up at very high rates in top rated colleges. LAst few years, about 20 % students end up. 4 Star 5. Value: For a private school CA is GOOD VALUE. 5 Stars.


Cary Academy 2

Posted November 13, 2011
- a community member
Good for academics... teachers are very good and very challenging coursework. However you have to put up with: *rampant homophobia and bullying *lots of rich preppy jocks who act like they own the place *money is not spent wisely (like buying every student a laptop they don't need) *faculty that is not very interested in your problems... especially about bullying *in the high school you can only take up to a certain amount of AP classes and no more. This is because they don't want certain students looking better than others (even though they are and they should have the ability to take as many honors classes that they want). *more interested in the parents rather than the students because they are the ones who pay

Cary Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2011
- a parent
Very happy CA family--Every child is unique and blossoms into their individual potential. We've had superb teachers-expecially in history, science and the Fine Arts.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cary Academy
1500 North Harrison Avenue, Cary, NC  27513
Last modified Cary Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Cary Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews.