Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Hope High

Public | 9-12 | 2197 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2009

I have had three children graduate from this school since it open in 1999. It is great. The children were well prepared for college, better than most. The teachers went above and beyond to help when needed and so did my children to do well. You can't beat it academically. Wonderful staff and leadership. Not noted for football yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I have a student in Green Hope High.. Do not belive every rating, The school may rate a 10. But is the service you are getting from staff and pricipal a 10? conselor do not care, and do little or nothing to fix the problem. My daughter was so excited to go to Green hope High. She was so eager to learn, But when she was tease and called name and bullie by other students. I complaint make so many phone calls and visit the school.. nothing was done, my only option was to pull my daughter out of Green hope and now she is happy at her new school, I see her smile again without tear in her eyes everyday. Be aware you are not going to get any help from the conselor or assistant principal maybe a phone called they not sure when investigation will be over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

I am a little disappointed with the counselors and administration. This is our first year here and our first year with the block type of classes. I have really had to struggle and put in a lot of unnecessary effort to get any help or input. There are so many newcomers; someone should put a program in place to 'show us the ropes.' This could have gone much more smoothly for our whole family if only someone could have shown us the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

This is a great school. Many fine teachers, counselors who work with you, administration that cares about students, and staff that is over-worked and underpaid. I have been witness to irate parents acting childish and the staff handling it with dignity. GHHS is not perfect, but try to do what they do with the limited resources and being undermanned. Kudos to them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Do not expect administration to go outside the status quo and overexert to help your children. Some teachers are wonderful and dedicated. Counselors will not make effort to even know your kid's names - they will read your kid's file may be 2 minutes before a meeting. Profound overhaul of administration is what GHHS needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

This is a great school for me to go to, with the classes they offer, the great quality of the school equipment, awesome teachers, and a variety of extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2009

We relocated from New york. Due to the high standand we hear about the school, We enrolled my daughter. The first months my daughter became the victim of bullie. Spoke to several team member of the school. They did little or nothing.The school is not want expected to be, The aministration at the front desk unfriendly. Principal do not do anything to solved the problem. And with all the new students relocated from different zone. are making the area and school not so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

Terrific High School- Have one graduate and 2 currently in the school. We spent 9 years in private school.This school has very high standards and excellent teachers; administration and counselors, who keep order over 2200+ kids.These kids don't get away with much. If you keep your high schooler on a Honors Track with a of couple AP courses- they will complete one of the best Private/Public education available. I have an advanced degree from Duke, so I look for a very high quality educational experience.The Guidance Couselors , teachers and adminisration go out of their way to help if you ask. Make sure you go in, meet them with your student- be involved.I have gotten much more responsiveness, timely help and advice from this school than our private schools.I don't know how they do it with this many kids, but they do!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Great school,teachers are great. Staff is wonderful. they have alot to offer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I did not realize how great Green Hope was until I graduated. When I went off to college I was nervous about being able to keep up. However, I soon realized that I had a great advantage over the other students. The education I got from Green Hope instantly put me at top of my class at a University. Having that sort of education made the transition much smoother for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2006

Need administration and support staff that acknowledge people when they enter the building. Very unfriendly and uncaring. Green Hope lacks leadership in the new principal. No one seems to care about the new students getting what they need. Registration is a nightmare...mass confusion. The principal needs to get the drug and alcohol problem under control. Teachers are good and seem to communicate better than the administration. Athletic dept needs to add JV and freshman teams to other sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

I've had 3 kids graduate from Green Hope. Green Hope provides a first class education for those students who want to take advantage of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

Due to family relocations, we have experience with Private, Public and Home Schooling. Green Hope High School far exceeded all others. It met our needs by providing upper level academic coursework, a good music program and a safe environment. As a result, our student was accepted to a top univiersity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

it is a great school and it has a great football team and a great art program.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

490 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
>95%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

469 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

598 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

508 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

538 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

560 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

479 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students35%
Female28%
Male40%
Black9%
Asian50%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities24%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
Black54%
Asian90%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial91%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities38%
Non-disabled students87%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Academically gifted-95%

English II

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Black52%
Asian83%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial93%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities46%
Non-disabled students88%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 52%
Asian 18% 3%
Black 6% 26%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr James Hedrick
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 380-3712

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Carpenter Upchurch Road
Cary, NC 27519
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 380-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT