Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Hope High

Public | 9-12 | 2197 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2013

My youngest child just graduated. Older children attended private high schools. Incoming parents, please note that although GH is a highly rated school, it is still a PUBLIC high school with 2200 students. Due to budgetary cuts, GH staff has been cut significantly since my child arrived in 9th grade. Take this into account when you interact with teachers and staff. My child had 2 lousy teachers, 2 outstanding teachers, and a bunch of pretty good ones. Counselors especially carry a huge workload. Your child may not get much attention until senior year when college applications are prepared. But they will get the help they need if you work with the staff politely and reasonably. Remember, if you want the same personal attention parents and students receive at Cary Academy, Cardinal Gibbons, and Ravenscroft, you'll have to pay for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

We are looking to move from Texas to the area and are deciding on schools. Any updated information?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

For those moving to the triangle area, Green Hope is arguably the best public high school in the state for both academics and athletics. They just won the statewide Wells Fargo Cup (4A) for athletic excellence - and you can see here their academic ratings (top in this area). I will have two graduates soon and both have had great experiences at Green Hope.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

A good school is one with good teachers, good parents and good students. GHHS has all these three in place. So now it all depends on you (the student) how to make use of the available resources and in turn bring good name to GHHS. We are also planning to move to GHHS from CA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

Hello I need help I am a student living in California right now and I am going to be a Freshman. Should I move to GHHS? Or not? And why? Help please!


Posted December 2, 2011

Mostly good teachers, but my daughter, who is a senior, has had some really bad ones, especially her chemistry teacher. Not too impressed with the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

I have been impressed with Green Hope High School since arriving in Cary, North Carolina almost 4 years ago. As I now have both a rising Senior and an incoming Freshman, I can attest to the school's overall professionalism, academic acheivements and excellent services. The faculty at Green Hope is "top notch" and clearly dedicated to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

I am a current student at GHHS, and I do agree with many of the other reviews that it is a decent school. Yet, there are still many unenthusiastic and honestly, depressing teachers that teach here. I would say out of my 16 teachers that I have had, so far six have been very good, while at least five have not only been incompetent in their subject, but refused to teach and where blatantly disrespectful and used biased grading with the students because they hated their jobs. Green hope is known for excellent test scores, but what most don't know is that there is a percentage of students that does so well that it inflates the average and poor students scores. The school does not look to improve their lower scoring students scores very often. If a student wants to succed in the top half of the class, a tutor outside of school is positively mandatory.The pressure and competition here is insane, while the school lacks any positive reinforcement or incentives to students, or even any inspiration. The student body knows that we are more well off than some i'n economically challenged areas, but that's no excuse for the poor education I feel I am still receiving.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2010

This school is fantastic. Interesting teachers, great students. My son had a teacher that held AP History review in the evening for those who were taking the exam. This was on his own time. Great communication from the principal as well. It rivels any private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I attend Green Hope and in my opinion its the best school around. You really cant bash it for drugs/ alcohol or sex. Thats just all high schools. Even private school's its an issue. Its just kids being kids not the school's fault. They do come down very hard on anyone they catch. The school police officer is the best ive ever met and with some of the finest teacher's around. The kids are all pretty well behaved. At neighboring school Panther Creek 8 fights have been had since the year began. At green hope 2 have happened and none of the fighters had been hurt. The faculty had broken them up before they became serious. Its honestly a clean, strict, well run school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2010

I'm a student currently attending Green Hope High School (Senior Year). Green Hope High School is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2010

The academics are pretty good, but the teachers definatly do not care about your kids (with a few exeptions) but I do not blame them, with the large class sizes. There is no school spirit and drugs and alcohol are rampant. However, there is a high graduation rate and most kids go to college. If you want your child to not be horribly bullied because of the clothes they wear, or get into alcohol/drugs/sex too early, be careful who their friends are, or even better, send them to private school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2009

The academics are fantastic and there is much diversity. Good environment for students to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Because it has really made independent thinkers of my grandkids -- and that's a good thing.


Posted October 12, 2009

It's a community of students, staff, parents, and volunteers who want all students to graduate on time, ready to realize their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Green Hope HS cares about the mental health of their students! save the teens project will be there in 2010!


Posted October 12, 2009

Green Hope is a school of excellence! It meets the needs of all students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Green Hope is a big school with a small town community feel. The teachers are more than helpful and truly care about the students. I have had only positive experiences when contacting a teacher with questions or concerns. GHHS also has one of the largest high school cross country teams in the nation, boasting over 225 runners! What a great message ot send teens ... you dont have to be the fastest runner to be on our team, you only have to believe in yourself and give 110% effort everyday. The coaching staff devotes so much of their time every afternoon and weekend and it is so appreciated. These are just a few reason why I beleive that GHHS should be voted Americas Favorite School. Elaine Mongno
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

GH meets the needs of all students...It also provides a great opportunity for my daughter to participate in Winterguard....finished 19th in WGI last year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Green Hope High has an amazing, comforting, and welcoming environment. Unlike other clique-driven schools, the students here have the courage to talk to, hang out with, and mingle with other students that aren't in their 'regular' group. I feel we aren't 'cliquey' because of the postive atmosphere many administrators, teachers, and some students try to put forth.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

490 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
>95%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

469 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

598 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

508 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

538 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

560 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

479 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students35%
Female28%
Male40%
Black9%
Asian50%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities24%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
Black54%
Asian90%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial91%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities38%
Non-disabled students87%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Academically gifted-95%

English II

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Black52%
Asian83%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial93%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities46%
Non-disabled students88%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 52%
Asian 18% 3%
Black 6% 26%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr James Hedrick
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 380-3712

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Carpenter Upchurch Road
Cary, NC 27519
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 380-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT