Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Green Hope Elementary 4

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
My assertive child excelled both academically and socially, while my less assertive child did not get the attention needed from teachers or mix well with the large number of highly assertive/ more aggressive kids. The teachers use a lot of class time redirecting these kids. The gifted program looks to the CogAt and ITBS tests for placement. I highly recommend tutoring BEORE these tests to fully expose your child to the broader subject content. The level of AIG placement matters-very strong, strong, etc. This placement can determine whether your child takes advanced classes. There are some great teachers, average teachers and frankly some very poor teachers at GHE. Write a letter to the principal asking for a teacher with the qualities that suit your child's learning style best. If you don't know the best teachers, find out which teachers the children of the PTA board have. The PTA is strong at GHE and there is a lot of parental involvement. The principal is friendly and seems to care about the kids. If you have a negative experience - go to the principal and advocate for your child. For less assertive children, I would suggest private or charter schools with smaller class sizes.

Green Hope Elementary 5

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school... Mrs. Fornaro is the best !! She loves going to school..


Green Hope Elementary 3

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
We went to the Cary Park adjacent to Green Hope to use the facilities. At the same time several classes were also using the equipment, 4th and 1st grades. We were quite surprised to see teachers sitting on benches, talking amongst themselves, or reading instead of watching and interacting with the children during recess. There were several children preventing anyone attempting to use the playground equipment from doing so, yet no teacher even noticed because the teacher responsible was literally 50 feet from the kids. I just expected that during recess teachers were mingling with the kids, not standing at a distance talking and reading. It was disappointing.

Green Hope Elementary 4

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
Because my children love it - They are happy , engaged learners at a great school!

Green Hope Elementary 5

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
When my son first started Kindergarten I was not too excited about the school. But, since he has started I've come around. I really appreciate all the parent involvement. (The level in my son's class is astonishing!) I also appreciate that the teachers treat all (not just gifted or struggling) the kids with age appropriate learning opportunities.


Green Hope Elementary
no rating

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
We attended this school last year. My child had a horrible teacher. She had gifted students grade her papers. Papers sent home had many errors on them. My child brought home many of her work papers that had completely wrong answers that were never graded. This school is very overrated! The principal lacks leadership and does not respect parents.

Green Hope Elementary 3

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
We moved to Cary this summer and are new to Green Hope this year. So far, I have been more impressed by the teacher's aides and lunch room helpers than the teacher. She doesn't teach the children the 'basics' but instead is teaching towards the 'No Child Left Behind' test. My child went from being at the top of her class (in the state we moved from) to struggling with almost everything on a daily basis. Keep in mind, my frustrations are with this one teacher and not the school as a whole.

Green Hope Elementary 5

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
Green Hope is an excellent school with lots to offer students. Parents are very involved and offer numerous resources, in addition to the current resources that the school already offers. In addition, teachers at Green Hope are the 'best of the bunch.'


Green Hope Elementary 5

Posted April 01, 2007
- a teacher
This was my first year at this school and I am very satisfied with all aspects of the school.The parent involvement is incredible and I belive that makes all the difference.

Green Hope Elementary 3

Posted March 08, 2006
- a parent
Green Hope comes with alot of hype and doesn't quite live up to it. Its not a bad school but not a great one either. Mediocrity is the name of the game. Parents seem content to have their children go their but that is where their involvement ends. Very average.

Nearby schools

Green Hope Elementary
2700 Louis Stephens Dr, Cary, NC  27519
(919) 388-5270
Last modified Green Hope Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top