Advertisement

Chesterbrook Academy

Private | PK-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cary

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $228,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

This is our second year at Chesterbrook, and we couldn't be happier. The staff is excellent and tailors the curriculum to the level of intensity the students are capable of and our son is challenged to do his best. We are so impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

Cannot comment yet since we are starting at this school in Fall for Kindergarten - we loved the school at tour (which is why we selected it) - the only reason for this review is to correct the information here ... the school is ONLY an elem school now (upto grade 5) - the middle school grades are closed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

Chesterbrook is a fantastic school! We have experienced both public and private school and CBA is far superior to Wake Co Public schools! I could not disagree more with the reviewer regarding school leadership and sub-par teachers. Our experience has been excellent and worth every dime!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

Great school. My daughter has been attending since Kindergarten and we have just enrolled her again for 4th grade. Teachers are very good and caring. Class size is small. We are a multiracial family and the school is very, very diverse which was important to us. The school has PE twice a week and they have a paved blacktop and huge soccer field. My child is very active so having a large area for physical activity was important to us. Spanish is mandatory, technology, music and art too. We had a bit of trouble with my daughter adjusting to the demands of 3rd grade. Met with teacher and principle. Staff was very accessible and listened to our concerns. Again great school! We are not fans of Wake County Public schools because of the constant student reassignment, so we are happy to have found Chesterbrook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

Outstanding school with unbelievable teachers that are willing to individualize instruction. Yes, the school is pricy, but it's worth every penny in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2011

Overall an okay school. Facilities are good. The previous principal who left last year was great. Unsure about the new principal. Teaching staff is good. Academics are okay but we are contemplating a move to a public school (Davis Elementary) next year. Not getting enough benefit to justify the amount of money we are spending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

Chesterbrook is struggling in multiple areas and as a result I have decided to send my daughter to public school next year. There is no strong leadership within the school, several of the teachers are sub par and I have yet to see anything "challenging" about their academic programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

I feel that the quality of my child's education is far superior to their friends that attend other, even private, schools. The expectations are set high, and the teachers are unbelievable. This is the only school that I would want my child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

Great school, great teachers and staff. you can't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I could not imagine a better school for my child. This school offers a warm, caring, and supportive community where my child thrives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I agree with the other posts about the teachers, especially first and second grade. The teachers really know how to meet the needs of the individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Overall is a good school. You can debate on the added value compared to Cary public or charter schools. Teachers are nice and friendly. Upper management not so much. Quality of teaching will depend like everywhere on the specific teacher you get. It is a nice looking school in a good area. It offers very good Summer camps. Overall, good but expensive. (3.5-4 stars)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

They seem to care more about your money at this school then your child... very unorganized!


Posted February 26, 2009

I agree... I think the teachers are amazing and really make learning challenging yet fun, especially in k-2
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

We had a very creative and enthusiastic second grade teacher. This was my son's best year of school yet!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 53%
Asian 8% N/A
Black 3% 32%
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS/CASI

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 Towne Village Drive
Cary, NC 27513
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 319-9622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT