Advertisement

Hopewell Academy

Private | 4-11 | 50 students

Hopewell students gain the knowledge to succeed and the confidence to lead.

 
 

Living in Cary

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $228,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

Hopewell is a great school! Besides the fact of bullying. The teachers are well qualified, and very professional. The only problem is bullying. The school does NOTHING. I would do your research on this school before coming here. I would recommend this school, but STAY ALERT FOR BULLYING!!!!


Posted April 11, 2014

This school is awful. I wrote a really great review last year, but the school has gone downhill since then. The academics are okay. The new teachers are definitely better than last year's. But there are some things that are lacking. The way vocabulary is taught is appalling. The students get assigned a chapter in the vocabulary book then have to work independently on the words with absolutely no review before the Friday test. They don't know if they're doing the exercises correctly, and they don't know if they're understanding the words at all. The teacher grades vocabulary on Friday just before the test, which is no help at all. They also teach nutrition from a questionable source - a parent of a child. We don't know the qualifications of this person, and the video they showed in the class was completely inappropriate for the students. The documentary was biased and did not have scientific information. The video itself was unsuitable for the children in the middle school. There is NO discipline at the school. Children insult each other and the faculty on a daily basis. There is so much bullying, and the school does NOTHING. Do not even think about sending your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

If you would like your child to simply be moved on to the next grade without the knowledge and skills that he requires to succeed, then send your child to Hopewell. You will be paying (dearly) to have your child moved on. This school does not provide a college preparatory education for your child. Our child was not challenged, but simply moved along. Sadly, most of children that attend Hopewell do so because they would not survive in the public school environment, and for that reason they attend Hopewell. Do not be fooled into thinking that if these children and their parents had any other choice in schooling, they would still attend Hopewell. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

My family and I are glad we enrolled in Hopewell. Hopewell Academy has lived up to our expectations in every way. Our daughter is safe, happily engaged in challenging high school classes, and planning for her college visits this year with the school counselor. Like the rest of her classmates she scored 3 years above grade level on her Iowa Tests and scored above average on her PSAT and SATs. With high number of returning students and faculty members and a rock solid principal, Hopewell is clearly moving forward. Everyone is glad that several families and their children did not return. Those children and their parents will not be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

This school is outstanding!!!! I have seen my son go from a student with anxiety who school was a nightmare for, to a confident student with a love of going to school. Seeing his grades just keep improving every semester is amazing. His confidence and peace is what all parents want. The teachers are outstanding. They personalize the learning to each student's needs and are totally focused on every student being successful. For the first time for me, this is a true partnership between a school and parents to make our child be the best he can be. I spent years being fobbed off by schools because my child's learning style does not conform to the very narrow definition used today. This is how all children should be taught - because we all learn differently. The smaller teacher to student ratio is a blessing. I encourage parents looking for a better school to go visit and see for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

Hopewell has exceeded my expectations for three years running. In the past my child had been struggling with school and we just were not finding anything that helped. We went through three public schools, tutoring, and another private school with declining results. We saw an immediate improvement after our child came to Hopewell. The staff is great and really know what they are doing. We now have a very happy child who's grades and learning experience are all we could hope for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

Hopewell is an incredible school and our son is so happy there. We were in a local WCPSS school where his needs were not being met from an administration who was not accommodating and with a teacher who did not try to understand how our son learned best, only telling us what he couldn't do. At Hopewell, they care, listen to any concerns, and truly try to help you. You are not fighting for people to help your children, they want to help you, and try to understand how your child learns best. If modifications are needed, whether to enrich a child who needs more advanced classes, or assistance if a child is struggling, they do it, and are happy to do it.. The caring and nurturing is gone in most schools, and if a child learns differently, or needs something different, that child is made to feel that they don't "measure up." At Hopewell, they are getting an outstanding education, WITH the nurturing, and they genuinely care about your child. If you speak to the Dean, he stops and always listens to you, and always follows up and does what he promises. Hopewell is a family, a collaborative effort where everyone works together to help your child. That is the way it is supposed to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Much stronger start to the school year. Expectations have been raised and new staff is wonderful. Truly impressed so far. Dean is open minded and willing to listen to suggestions. Teachers willing to assist our child in all areas. Wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Advertises inconsistently on a number of websites. Very small number of students with some grades not represented at all. Large turnover. Would caution anyone after our experience with the past year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

We were looking for a school with small class room sizes that would benefit our son. The quality of education does not seem to match the costs of tuition. For the one year our son as been attending the school we have seen no benefit and are thinking of looking for a different school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

We were attracted by the school size and had great expectations for the year ahead. When we toured the school in the summer of 2012, there were over 12 students in the 8th grade. However, only 2 returned for the next school year. After having experienced this school for one year, I understand why they would choose not to return. There are a few very good teachers, but the rest are not up to the standard we were expecting for a school of this size. And one that is supposed to teach to students with learning differences. Do not waste your money sending your child to this school. We feel we have wasted a year of their academic lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

Hopewell Academy is a very small school but is plagued by teacher and student turnover, including the Dean of Students and the Athletic Director in the past year. The Middle School is strong in numbers but by the time students enter the High School, most leave for athletics, social activities, and Honors/AP programs. For the 2012-13 school year there are approximately 3 Seniors and possibly 1-2 Juniors. Most of the reviews on this school are outdated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

Hopewell Academpy has been a great place for my son. He began Hopewell as and eighth grader after many years of struggling in public school. The small class sizes, the teachers willingness to teach to the individual and the overall experience at the school are what every child deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

Our son was overwhelmed in the large public school environment. With very small class sizes and personalized attention from the teachers, our son has achieved academic and social confidence at Hopewell. He now looks forward to going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

Hopewell has been a great school for our daughter. The class size is optimal for her learning. The staff and teachers are supportive and helpful. If you are looking for an alternative to large school settings, Hopewell is a good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

Hopewell Academy teaches to the students. Each student's learning style is capitalized on to make learning easy and efficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

If parents are seeking an academic environment in which their child can thrive, then Hopewell Academy is the right choice. Because the school has much smaller classroom population compared to public schools and some of the other private schools, your child is afforded the opportunity to have lots of one-on-one time with the teachers. My child's level of confidence in her ability to excel in all academic arenas has been a great plus. The teachers are accomodating and offer before and after school help if a student has questions or concerns about curriculum content. The sense of community that exist within the school also fosters student interactions that are positive and healthy. If your student needs a change from the huge population that most public schools offer, a positive and encouraging environment and one-on-one interaction with teachers, please consider Hopewell Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

Hopewell is a great school by academic standards. The students are well-nurtured, challenged, and safe at Hopewell. However, the athletics of the school have a very strong emphasis. If your child loves sports and possesses a great deal of team and school spirit and needs the diverse and small environment Hopewell provides, it's a perfect school. But a student without any athletic interest will get constantly surrounded by 'Are you going to the game?' and several other unwanted questions and comments. Parent involvement is also excellent and abundant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

Hopewell Academy has created a drastic change in my life. The school has on average 30-40 students; so we all know each other like one huge family. All the staff love teaching and everyone will know each teacher personally; even if they're not their own teacher. The school is designed for children with diverse learning styles, which is what makes the school so unique. It is a private school that accommodate even the most extreme needs of any student. I am so glad my parents have found Hopewell because in end, we both win.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

My son has excelled in both academics and athletics since beginning school with Hopewell. Outstanding athletic director. Nice, small class sizes. Great teacher/parent communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 53%
Black 6% 32%
Asian 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 11%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school From Wake County Public Middle and High Schools
From out of the country or out of state
From home schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Entrepreneurial Award in Education
  • First Place and World Record Holder, Hydrogen Fuel Cell Hill Climb
  • Quadruple Double Player on Varsity Basketball Team
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Distinguished Community Support

Special education / special needs

Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cecilia Gabriel, Nicholas Shosho
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
More from this school
  • Hopewell Academy provides a challenging and supportive environment for students with diverse learning styles. Enjoying the camaraderie of an active learning environment, Hopewell's mission, creativity, and teaching methodology provides every student with knowledge to succeed, the confidence to lead, and the skills to become a responsible global citizen in high school, college and beyond. Hopewell is ideally located to serve students in the Triangle.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
From Wake County Public Middle and High Schools
From out of the country or out of state
From home schools

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Limited school aid available annually.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
4 year colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Preston Executive Drive
Cary, NC 27513
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 481-2123

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT