Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-12
Private
Chapel Hill, NC

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
We've had all 4 of our kids at this school since 1998. Our oldest is now a rising junior at UNC-Chapel Hill. We love the way the Waldorf school preserves the love of learning, encourages wonder and mindfulness, and yet provides a rigorous, disciplined, and challenging curriculum without creating competition and stress.

Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
We were so impressed with how the Waldorf curriculum (from pre-school/nursery to highschool) is designed to support each stage of a child's development allowing for the love of learning to naturally occur. My daughter loves to learn and she loves to go to school!! Emerson Waldorf is a place where a child can be a child and everything that surrounds them supports where they are at that particular moment in time.


Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
From the moment my family walked on to campus we knew this was a wonderful school. The more we learned the more we knew we had found a good place for our kids to get a solid foundation of skills and confidence to take with them as they grew up and ventured into the wider world. Emerson Waldorf teaches kids to think without over working them. It teaches them that they can be musicians, artists, scientists or teachers and that they can do whatever they set out to do if they are willing to work hard and learn from others. The teachers at Emerson Waldorf are wonderful and become more than just teachers to these kids - they are role models and mentors. The setting is beautiful, the curriculum teaches the whole child, and the fruits are visible in Waldorf graduates that have come before - self confidence, curiosity, warmth, well-roundedness, success in college and a broad array of careers!

Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
We transferred to EWS after many years in public school and I can tell you the academics at Waldorf are strong. Yes, they take a more holistic approach to learning and don't fill children s heads with facts so they can pass tests, rather they focus on teaching critical thinking skills through a diverse program that focus on emotional as well as intellectual development. Each child s needs are different, but we have been pleased with all aspects of this school.

Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
Waldorf has excellent teachers, a supportive environment and diverse academics that focus on the whole child in terms of development. I have one child in the school and we have been very pleased with the quality of the education. Part of the EWS Philosophy is the teacher is trained to move up with the class until 8th grade, so it does require good chemistry with your class teacher-which we have. I strongly recommend this school if you are looking to educate your child in an environment where they are encouraged to explore their learning creatively


Emerson Waldorf School 1

Posted September 07, 2011
- a parent
Please do not send your child to this school unless you don't care about his/her well being or quality of education. It is by far the worst school in the district. The high school is a joke and if you send your child there, be prepared to spend a lot of money on tutors since your child will not learn much from the very unqalified teachers there.

Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted July 03, 2011
- a parent
We've been at the school for seven years now, and we love it, and more importantly, our kids love it. They always want to go to school, even when they are sick. While most other schools are obsessing over test scores on very narrow range of skills, this education integrates music, art, movement, drama, history, and culture into everything they do. (Yeah, I know, everyone else _says_ they do that, but this school really does.) The kids learn to do everything, which, frankly, is what the future economy will demand of them. The teachers are highly trained and highly engaged. The parent community is diverse, smart, and fun.

Emerson Waldorf School 1

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
This school is terrible. Don't send your child here. They brainwash children and parents slowly until you realize it one day and it's too late. After being 4 years in this school, my child was so behind in academics that I had to hire a private tutor before transferring him to a different private school. It's a fun school for kids, but strong academics is just not its strongest point. Please, do a lot of outside research before sending your child to this school.


Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
A loving environment that teaches social responsibility while providing a top-notch classical education! My youngest feels like she plays, sings and moves all day long while my oldest attends a high school where graduates get into top-notch colleges and earn impressive SAT scores. What a program!

Emerson Waldorf School 5

Posted April 04, 2010
- a parent
Every child participates in activities that are usually choices or extras: music, drama, art, athletics, etc., yet our average SAT scores are higher than many area public, private and charter schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Waldorf School
6211 New Jericho Road, Chapel Hill, NC  27516
Last modified Emerson Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Emerson Waldorf School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top