Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chapel Hill High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
Yes as far as the everyone besides the leadership within the school. Those in power need to waken up to what a day is like in the school.

Chapel Hill High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
I feel the teachers do an OUTSTANDING job each an every day along with bus drivers, cafeteria workers, custodians, BUT as far as leadership - NO!


Chapel Hill High School 1

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
This principal is a bully, hates kids, treats my child's teacher poorly and hides in her office. Send her back to Ann Arbor where she came from. She has turned this school upside down and has destroyed the morale in the building. She uses scare tactics to get what she wants and parents are fed up with her.

Chapel Hill High School 1

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
The principal runs the school as though it were a prison. Her response to my complaint about the mishandling of an issue was to have an assistant principal follow my son from class to class and sit in on the classes in an effort to intimidate him.

Chapel Hill High School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a community member
Hats off to the Volleyball Team who just won their third regional match in Swansboro ! Like


Chapel Hill High School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a student
This is a very competitive school within a great school district. Many students enroll in challenging AP, honors, or accelerated courses. Many options are available for classes including many languages and upper level math and sciences. The teachers, for the most part, are well qualified and dedicated to teaching their subjects rather than dishing out A's. Although they are often tough on their students, at the end of the day, every student understands the material. A vast majority of students continue on to four year colleges, many of which are well-know universities. Extra-curriculars as well as academic and service clubs are often stressed, being in a college town where sports like basketball and football are big focuses. Our athletics tend to be good, but they of course vary from year to year. Our arts department is very established with a various musical opportunities, a large theater that often teams up with the tech crew to create well-known and original productions including a yearly musical. Overall a fantastic school, by far among the best in NC.

Chapel Hill High School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
The 5 & 6 grades for all the high schools in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City School District appear to be caused by the supposed ~50% pass rate for the Algebra I end-of-course test. I highly doubt that these scores are accurate and there must have been a glitch in the uploading of this data.

Chapel Hill High School 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a parent
I don't know how "GreatSchools" comes up with a grade of 5 for this superior High School (one of the best in the state). All three of my children attended the school, received a great education, went on to good colleges and then successful careers.


Chapel Hill High School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a teacher
The school is amazing. It has it's failings. The Achievement gap persists thought the black and white kids outperform the national average and similar schools. We still haven't found a great plan for our Burmese refugee students, but all around the kids are great, the sports teams are great, the teacher s work hard, and the curriculum is rigorous.

Chapel Hill High School 2

Posted September 23, 2011
- a student
Chapel Hill high school, is a school for quick and psychologically strong kids. If your child is not bright and cant deal with stress well I wouldn't recommend it. Personally, my experience goes against the crowd. This school has hurt me academically, and I've lost all confidence I've ever had in myself. Instead of learning, the teachers are way to concerned about grades, gpa's, and SATs. That is all any of the teachers care about. Not the actual learning part of highschool, just the percentages and the outside looks. If you don't have a's you have nothing. The teachers individually are all usually nice, but do not make an active attempt to help you learn. They give you little to no references to complete assignments, as well as give challenging tests with little to no preparation. All in all, my 2 years here have been incredibly traumatizing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chapel Hill High School
1709 High School Rd, Chapel Hill, NC  27516
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (919) 929-2106
Last modified Chapel Hill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top