Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
We moved from Atlanta and have been involved with the Chinese Mandarin Immersion program. The education for our children has been very good, the support staff are amazing and the school administration really values the arts, science and foreign language (in addition to other core studies, of course). The thing that is beyond amazing is the amount of cultural diversity. It permeates throughout the culture of the school and has a very unique energy that sets it apart. Really fantastic...

Glenwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
we love this school! It has been a wonderful experience for our child. He is a very active 1st grader, and while the limited amount of recess was a concern, they seem to have enough activity and outdoor time during the day, with PE, science and their specials for him to not go crazy.


Glenwood Elementary School 1

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
absolutely horrible school with no concern for student safety. the new principal Ms. Ryan is a horrible woman who talks to parents like children

Glenwood Elementary School 2

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
This may be a school that is rated a "10" but all that everyone is concerned with here is test scores. The teachers are stressed out and over-reactive and defensive if a parent asks a question. They do not communicate with parents unless they have to and then it is usually with a post-it. The principal does not answer emails or respond to parents. She believes that "they" know what they are doing "Just let us do the teaching. If you are interested in your child doing well on a test , then this is the place for you. If you are interested in you child's well being, find some place else because good test scores are all you will receive. If you child is diverse but doesn't speak English as a second language, take a look at the disparity in the test scores for minorities. No recess is required at this school. In kindergarten they get 20min of recess in an 8 hour day and 20min eat lunch. When you speak to other parents about your concerns, all you get is one of their battle stories. Not once have a heard a parent say, This is a good school. It's always, "Yeah, we're frustrated too!"

Glenwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
In her second year in the Chinese Dual-Language Program my grandaughter is dong very well and is learning to speak Chinese through a half day emersion program.


Glenwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Principal Goins recognizes each and every parent by face - a remarkable achievement, in my book. I have 2 grandchildren attending Glenwood. They have learned to read, to do math, and appreciate science - plus they have a lot of fun in school! Glenwood has an international population, and each culture is celebrated. Each student is recognized for their individual skills. The teachers are very accessible and communicate frequently with parents.

Glenwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
One son completed two years in the LEAP (gifted class) program at Glenwood, and another completed pre-K here. The principal (2007) is a joy and truly outstanding! We highly recommend the school.

Glenwood Elementary School 2

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Glenwood Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2007
- a parent
Hi. My kids have been going to Glenwood for about 5 years and I am very satisfied with the school's curriculum and just atmosphere. I am very proud that my kids are going to Glenwood.

Glenwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenwood Elementary School
2 Prestwick Road, Chapel Hill, NC  27517
(919) 968-3473
Last modified Glenwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.