Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grey Culbreth Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Kay Edwards (reception) and Kendra Rone (bookkeeper) in the front office are very helpful and a pleasure to students, staff and visitors!

Grey Culbreth Middle School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
I have been in and out of this school for years, and I know many of the teachers and staff. I have also worked in other schools and I can say this middle school is a great one. No school is perfect all the time for everyone, but the atmosphere at Culbreth is good and the staff are positive. This community is full of highly critical, highly educated people who often have little understanding of how much work goes into a school or how much baggage students bring from home to a school environment. There is also, unfortunately, often a condescension toward teachers from many parents who see teaching as a second-rate profession. In addition, given the educated population here, many, if not quite most, students qualify for some kind of gifted services, and there is a scrum to get students into "LEAP" or "highly gifted" classes or designations. Quite a bit of humble-bragging goes on as many jockey for a spot in this or that "gifted" program or Duke TIP, or whatever. Not every teacher is great and not every great teacher is great all the time. But I am quite happy my child attends Culbreth. Like most things in life, a school is what you make of it, and supportive parents will always find teachers who go out of their way to help children.


Grey Culbreth Middle School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Culbreth. My daughter transferred to the school in the middle of 6th grade. The counselors, teachers and administration all made her transition incredibly smooth. Every teacher I have met has impressed me enormously and seems to truly cares about the kids. Most public school environments are so terrible these days that it is refreshing to see enthusiastic and high quality teachers and seemingly strong school morale. No one (parents, teachers, staff) seems to say anything negative about this school, which is rarely the case with public or private schools! My daughter likes school and loves her teachers. She's done very well academically in school and on standardized tests. So glad I moved her to Culbreth.

Grey Culbreth Middle School 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
This school is one of the worst schools my kids have attended. It is a negative environment. The curriculum is not challenging. The administration will not work with parents to get kids in a class that is the best fit for them. Principal is flaky. My child has 10 minutes of homework per night - at most! - in 6th grade and is not being challenged in the classroom. Look elsewhere if you want a postivie, challenging school.

Grey Culbreth Middle School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My two sons both attended Grey Culbreth, and had very positive experiences. They are building a new science wing, which will be ready for the 2014/15 school year. Excellent teachers, support staff. Good music and arts program. Love the chorus teacher, Mr. Jones.


Grey Culbreth Middle School 2

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Culbreth for the past two and a half years, and our daughter will finish eighth grade soon. While middle school is arguably the harder years for students, our daughter has scored very highly in outside programs, via Duke TIPS, for example, taking her ACT in seventh grade and scoring in the 90th percentile among HS students. The teachers do their best, but high turnover and continued cuts to the system have made this school suffer. We appreciate the overworked gifted specialists and teachers most, but some teachers are not as good as others, and the principal is the worst I have ever known. There is more emphasis on sports than academic teams by the principal, and little creative thought as to how to leverage the many benefits we have living so close to major universities. Would have chosen Phillips if we had to do it over, but all the schools are suffering now.

Grey Culbreth Middle School 1

Posted February 28, 2013
- a community member
Principal is horrible! Discipline and student safety issues are handled by administrative interns instead of principal!

Grey Culbreth Middle School 1

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
PRINCIPAL IS AWFUL! My student was intentionally tripped in the hallway and even though the principal knew about the incident, she handed it off to an administrative intern! The intern informed me that even though a videotape confirmed that the student intentionally tripped my child, no disciplinary action would be taken; she did however recommend that my child should "try to avoid the other student, just to be safe." What is the principal's job, if not to ensure the safety of the students and enforce the student code of conduct?


Grey Culbreth Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
New Principal, even better experience, with good communication and caring for kids. The principal now is focused on the kids (has one in the school) and is a beloved staff member from the local high school. It's early in the year and we're already feeling welcomed. We had a great experience over the last 2 years, and with 2 kids at the school now are loving the teachers, the teams, the athletics, and the whole experience!

Grey Culbreth Middle School 4

Posted March 19, 2011
- a community member
THIS PRINCIPAL IS HORRIBLE THE PATHFINDERS ARE NOT ALLOWED TO RUN AND PLAY AT PA ALL WE CAN DO IS WALK AROUND THE TRACK WE ARE NOT ALLOWED TO HIGH FIVE OR W WILL GET ISS

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grey Culbreth Middle School
225 Culbreth Rd, Chapel Hill, NC  27516
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (919) 929-7161
Last modified Grey Culbreth Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top