Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Morris Grove Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Love MGE, so thankful we are here! Amy Rickard is a phenomenal principal who knows every single childs name and makes them all feel important. There was a lot of change in 2012-2013 but that was state wide -- the start of the new year has been extremely impressive and we are excited for another great year!

Morris Grove Elementary School 3

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
I loved this school at the start, but that is waning! The teachers are getting burnt out already with all of the new rules and tests, and behavioral problems in the classroom. There is differentiated teaching, but the gifted children don't receive a significantly different education than they would without a Gifted Teacher being present in the school. The PTA is very diverse (not just Lake Hogan Farms), but it is getting more political. All around, just not the joyful, cohesive school it once was.


Morris Grove Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
We have 3 children at Morris Grove and have been very pleased with the school. Teachers are excellent--very dedicated and well prepared. The principal is also very committed and a wonderful leader. Downsides are some very large class sizes and some students with excessive behavioral problems. Also there could be more of an emphasis on building community amongst parents.

Morris Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of 2 Morris grove students and I can honestly say this school has been a blessing. Great principal, excellent caring teachers and a very welcoming environment... My kids love going to school everyday!

Morris Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
MGE has exceeded our expectations. The principal is amazing, facilities top-notch, and our child's teacher is nationally board certified. We have loved the diversity at the school, and appreciate the involvement of all families with a vibrant PTA. Redistricting will solve a lot of the crowding issues (some grades have no issue here at all), but, having come from a small private school background, our child has thrived even in a larger classroom size (studies show that it's better to have a great teacher in a larger class than an average one in a smaller one).


Morris Grove Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
I love Morris Grove because of the teachers. They are the best!

Morris Grove Elementary School 4

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Our children love Morris Grove, but the district's zoning choices mean that Morris Grove is going to be the elementary school with the largest enrollment for several years to come. The Principal, Amy Rickard, does an excellent job structuring the learning environment and communicating with parents, but the rapid growth in enrollment means that there are many very young teachers who are learning on the job. Also, the reviewer who mentioned the overwhelming influence of Lake Hogan Farms (a nearby housing development with many very high-cost homes) is correct. The school culture is slightly different at Morris Grove than at other schools that include a more socioeconomically diverse population.

Morris Grove Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
We have been absolutely thrilled with our experience at Morris Grove Elementary. The leadership is fantastic creating a very positive learning environment. The staff is highly motivated and professional. My child looks forward to going to school.


Morris Grove Elementary School 4

Posted January 24, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Morris Grove Elementary School 4

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
Fantastic principal and staff! New and beautiful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Morris Grove Elementary School
215 Eubanks Road, Chapel Hill, NC  27516
(919) 967-8211
Last modified Morris Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Morris Grove Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.