Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Albemarle Road Middle

Public | 6-8 | 1138 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

This school isn't as bad as people say it is. The teachers at this school actually care about the students grades and their well-being. The teachers dont waste their time trying to get the students to shut up like they do in Mint Hill. There also aren't any fights and i dont see any bullying going on. The students here are very friendly and its a very diverse school.


Posted January 5, 2014

Was to get one more report I'm going to the brorder education I'm to the point I'm fed up whith this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Pathetic is more like it. The staff says it isn't their job to keep kids form fighting, they just suspend/expel. This is by far the worst example of a school I have ever seen anywhere outside of a film. The staff doesn't care about the kids, they intimidate them, lie to them and bully them as much as the other kids do. This is more like a juvenile reform institution than a school. Parents, do your children a favor, run away screaming if anyone ever tells you that you have to send your baby to this cesspool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

We came to this school in October 2012 every since then my child has been bullied on several occasion. They do not handle bullying issue well. They just sweep it under the rug.They let students threaten other students and do nothing about it and like I said, sweep it under the rug.I don't think that they know that this could cause problems on students as well as for the parents. I feel that the school needs mooooooore training on how to work with students that are bullied. If I had to request this school but, I'm not but as for my children he said give it an F. He said,that the teachers are OK . Parent involvement that's a joke.This school don't even have a active PTA.I have never seen anything like this in my life. I just want someone to really get this school on the right track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

A lot of peer pressure 6th grade teachers are good teachers the rest I don't think they care. In my opinion this is just a terrible school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

this school is good but the behavior and the way thing are handled is very distastful and also the school floors in the class room definetly needs to be clean
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

My daughter was an A student until she started attending Albermarle. The teachers seem unconcerned and don't care. I have made attempts to talke to my childs teachers and they seemed unconcerned. My daughter has several classes where she is not allowed to bring home her books. This school needs more dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

This school is very unorganized. In order for a school to run properly the administration has to be on point. The administration waits until the last minute to send out notices on everything. For example, the picture day slips came out a day before the pictures were to be taken, leaving alot of parents having to run out and buy new outfits. I was one of them. They're more concerned about the dress code than being proactive. Some of the teachers are nice but there are some that are questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

On the flip side there are some wonderful teachers at ARMS. I am looking to move out of this area just so my child does not have to attend this school again. They are not organized, do not have any kind of field trips and they don't do anything for these kids. This is a major let down from something I had such high hopes for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

My daughter attended Albemarle Road two years ago and was there from 6-8 grades. The major plus about this school is the IB program. Parent involvement was terrible. The students did not abide by the dress code nor was it enforced. Students were disrespectful to the teachers also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

As a parent I will give Albemarle Road a D+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

I must say the negative things said about ARMS had me a little concerned. But, this is my daughter's 2nd year there and she loves it. She has maintained honor roll while there and has what seems to be very caring teachers - there was '1' teacher that was sort of rough on the students, but she is no longer there so my mind is at ease. I am thankful my daughter has had a pleasant experience at ARMS, Ms. Baughknight and Ms. Jackson, just to name a few are the bomb! I love them and wish they could go on to high school with my daughter. Only thing I would adjust is Open House especially and PTA should be a little later in the evening to accommodate working parents...... Overall, I give ARMS an A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

My son has attended Albemarle Middle for 3 years. I have seen him mature and enjoy school in such a positive way. He loves his school and has much school spirit. The teachers are very concerned and have always communicated any issues concerning my child. You will always have discipline problems no matter what school, but for me to see one child, mature and obtain such a self esteem about himself and his school says to me that Albemarle Road Middle Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

Albemarle Road Middle School is lacking in administration and good teachers. I was a previous teacher at Albemarle Road Middle and left due to those reasons. Students are not disciplined in an effective manner and behavior problems are clearly visible within the school. Instruction comes second to discipling students at Albemarle Road Middle.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female40%
Male28%
Black27%
Asian37%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students38%
Limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students29%
Female36%
Male23%
Black30%
Asian16%
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students33%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students26%
Female27%
Male25%
Black22%
Asian44%
Hispanic28%
Multiracial36%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students28%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students32%
Female34%
Male29%
Black32%
Asian31%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial36%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students35%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students18%
Female19%
Male17%
Black12%
Asian13%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students19%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students29%
Female37%
Male22%
Black26%
Asian21%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students34%
Female34%
Male35%
Black28%
Asian20%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiency16%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students80%
Female85%
Male74%
Black82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students80%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 26%
Hispanic 35% 14%
White 6% 52%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Toni Perry
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (980) 343-6501

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6900 Democracy Drive
Charlotte, NC 28212
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-6420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Northeast Middle
Charlotte, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT