Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beverly Woods Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 753 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

This school is not one I would reccommend for a child with a learning disability or attention issues. They do NOT work together and put the childs learning first. The administrative staff does not focus on the child or following through on the IEP or 504 Plan. They are not educated enough to even know the rights of children. You will be bullied or backed into a corner during your IEP or 504 Plan meeting. I would strongly suggesst bringing an advocate who knows what childrens rights are and how to help children. They do have an EC program, but that is for Exceptional Children that are NOT mainly in a regular classroom. Just because a school scores a 10 does not mean it is for everyone. This school year's scores on the EOG's went down very much and education is not the main priority. Every mother of a special needs child must be the best advocate they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

My school lacks adequate leadership. The current person in charge is controlling, untrustworthy and dishonest. It is no wonder that the school lacks adequate parental volunteering for car pool and the lunch room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

I love this school. Academically the best. The entire staff (Principal, teachers, assistants and including the cafeteria staff and lunch room monitor)are all very professional. I can't think of anything I don't like about this school. You can trust that your child is in a nice & safe environment where everyone cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

my child is finishing kindergarten at beverly woods tomorrow, and i can't say enough wonderful things about the school. he wasn't reading before he started kindergarten, and really disliked writing. he's reading chapter books, reads to his brother's class, and writes little books on a daily basis. i am beyond impressed with what he has learned this year, and the staff is EXCELLENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

To the person that supposedly KNEW first hand of the experience. I am the mother of the child speaking on the original post. The school never called me to come pick my son up. The YMCA Steele Creek was responsible for picking up my son daily- not myself. I never once heard from the school until a month had passed- mind you the 3rd day of school they LOST my son. He is now attending Berewick Elementary and LOVES it. We have had absolutely NO problems since we switched schools. I'm a single mother. I entrusted the YMCA to pick him up for me daily- which they did. I could not "fix" them being late if I was not made aware. However, I did fix the situation and had him removed from the school altogether. Obviously you are speaking on another situation. You know NOTHING of my situation involving MY son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

per the review about the principal calling DSS and the parent taking the child out of the school I know first hand that the child was picked up at least 45 minutes to an hour and half late every day and the mother was not cooperative about coming to get him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

this is the best school ever!!!!! They have the best teachers, and an even better principal!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

My son has been at this school for two years, and I plan on him being here through the 5th grade. This school is very organized, child oriented, and ensures the children get the instruction they need. My son has always been classified as a very smart child, and had problems being challenged ar other schools. At Beverly Woods he is pushed to learn, and do his best. Here they learn a wide array of things, and are able to focus on subjects other than just math and reading because they do so well on their testing. There is community and parent incolvement. I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

My son will be finishing kindergarten this year at Beverly. All I can say is that he has made a few good friends, and that he LOVES waking up to go to school everyday. He couldn't read before he started school, and now he's reading 60+ page books by himself that I know I wasn't able to when I was his age. He loves to learn, asks lots of questions, and is just getting smarter and smarter every day. The fact that he loves going to school is enough for me to know that this school is doing what it's supposed to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

great school- excellent staff and parent involvement- strong character and leadership development as well as academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I am so proud and happy that my son goes to Beverly Woods and I am extremely excited that my daughter will be attending Kindergarten this year. Everything about this school is excellent, and there is absolutely nothing that I could criticize or complain about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

We could not be more pleased with our experience at Beverly Woods. We have two children there now, with a third on the way next year, and have been thrilled about how each of our children has been really seen and then taught accordingly. The teachers we have had have been stellar, and go above and beyond the call of duty every day. I will say that we have personally dealt with the principal in a matter pertaining to challenging one of my children academically, and she could not have been more responsive, pleasant, and helpful. The individualized care that my children have received at BWE has been super, and the parental involvement at the school just rounds the experience out wonderfully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

I am a former teacher and the grandparent to a kindergartner at Beverly Woods. Everything I've observed says this school is devoted to meeting the needs of its students. I don't think there's a school anywhere that could have done a better job for my granchild this year, and I'm most grateful for the high expectations, excellent discipline, and the positive attitude there.


Posted January 25, 2008

We've been at Beverly Woods for 4 years now and have two children there. I can't say enough good things about the school, teachers, and the administration. Contrary to the previous writer, I believe there is a lot going on in those classrooms. Dedicated teachers who go the extra mile to make sure each child's needs are being met. Get involved and you will see the difference it makes. There are a lot of extras at BW. Things that enrich the classroom experience such as a teaching garden and in depth study of various countries. We're happy and plan to stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

My child attended Beverly Woods for one year, and I removed my child from this school after that first year. My child lost a year of education because of the administration of this school.The Principal was rude and cold, and could care less about hearing my concerns. The teacher was completely incompetent, and the Principal, and Vice Principal made me feel that it was our children that had a problem. There was no structure, or learning going on in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

We're going into our 4th year at Beverly Woods and are very pleased. Great teachers, great experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

We have four children at Beverly Woods Elementary and I nothing but good things to say about our experience the last two years. Parent involvement is excellent and I am extremely impressed with their program to help children with special needs. They do an excellent job. We tried another CMS elementary school before and there is a night and day difference. It all has to do with great leadership, teachers, and parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female69%
Male76%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students81%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students74%
Female73%
Male74%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students81%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female63%
Male77%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities22%
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students72%
Female72%
Male71%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students81%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Academically gifted95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female77%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students84%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 52%
Black 10% 26%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Asian 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6001 Quail Hollow Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-3627

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Smithfield Elementary
Charlotte, NC


Sharon Elementary
Charlotte, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT