Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cochrane Middle
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
English was an amazing Language Arts teacher, it's criminal her talents are wasted in such a school. She devoted herself to her students and taught everyone so well, but many students dismissed her lessons. I was not a good student, but she was there for me and she went above and beyond to care for me. Thanks again.

Cochrane Middle
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
They all are caring, respectful, and they bring their 100% to the table, it's the students who cause all the issues.


Cochrane Middle
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
Teachers don't bother to teach seeing as students don't bother to listen and they outright disrespect the teachers.

Cochrane Middle
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
It tries, but the students refuse to gain these traits. Honestly it's all due to the nearby community and horrible parenting

Cochrane Middle
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
There is no respect among students for teachers nor each other. But, the teachers give their respect to the students to have it crushed.


Cochrane Middle
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
They thrive to teach students to care for their fellow man, but the students don't listen.

Cochrane Middle
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
They try to promote it, but the discipline structure is a joke and the students are all disrespectful.

Cochrane Middle 1

Posted July 11, 2016
- a community member
As a former student who is now off to college, my year at this school had taught me many things. I used to despise school and I went to some really great schools, but I learned to value the schools I went to and ended up going to. Almost everyday there was a kid, or various students who started a distraction in the classroom and sometimes even a fight. The result being that the teacher refused to teach and graded the good students greatly for doing nothing. I also learned that the teachers were people too. I would not call myself the best student, but I had an amazing time conversing with all the teachers and they truly cared for the students and wanted them to be their best. Sadly, no other student saw this in the teachers leading in a massive disrespect for authority. Parents beware the re-branding as Cochrane Collegiate Academy means nothing, seeing as they have gotten no improvement. It is still an Alternative School.


Cochrane Middle 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
The school has some great faculty but the students are ruthless, undisciplined and already off to a bad future. I have never had any discipline problems from my daughter until she started going to this school. Students are picking at her, telling her who she can be friends with and what to say to people. She feels intimidated and don't want to go to school. The students are wearing anklet bracelets and is on probation. They need to be in an alternative school vs. regular population. They are an obstacle for students who want to learn as my daughter. She wants to go Duke. She wants to be a Peditrician. Now she so focused on not going to school its disappointing and very upsetting.

Cochrane Middle 1

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
If you can help it, DO NOT have your child enrolled in this school. As a new resident to the Charlotte area, the office staff assured me my son would continue hisEngineering studies but he was NOT assigned to any such thing. I was informed to contact CMS but wasn't given any details regarding how to have this done. After it was done (he transferring from regular to Engineering classes), he still remained in his original classes for nearly 2 weeks. I originally decided to change my son from this school because of the ratings on this site but the office staff assured me everything would coincede with his home school's schedule. THAT WAS NOT TRUE. I also find that the teachers are either unconcern to maintain contact with the parent or condenscending in his/her attitude. "Can't wait for a change to come!"

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cochrane Middle
6200 Starhaven Dr, Charlotte, NC  28215
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (980) 343-6460
Last modified Cochrane Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top