Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cochrane Middle 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
The school has some great faculty but the students are ruthless, undisciplined and already off to a bad future. I have never had any discipline problems from my daughter until she started going to this school. Students are picking at her, telling her who she can be friends with and what to say to people. She feels intimidated and don't want to go to school. The students are wearing anklet bracelets and is on probation. They need to be in an alternative school vs. regular population. They are an obstacle for students who want to learn as my daughter. She wants to go Duke. She wants to be a Peditrician. Now she so focused on not going to school its disappointing and very upsetting.

Cochrane Middle 1

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
If you can help it, DO NOT have your child enrolled in this school. As a new resident to the Charlotte area, the office staff assured me my son would continue hisEngineering studies but he was NOT assigned to any such thing. I was informed to contact CMS but wasn't given any details regarding how to have this done. After it was done (he transferring from regular to Engineering classes), he still remained in his original classes for nearly 2 weeks. I originally decided to change my son from this school because of the ratings on this site but the office staff assured me everything would coincede with his home school's schedule. THAT WAS NOT TRUE. I also find that the teachers are either unconcern to maintain contact with the parent or condenscending in his/her attitude. "Can't wait for a change to come!"


Cochrane Middle 2

Posted December 25, 2010
- a community member
As a former student I can say Cochrane is not a bad school but is far from being good. MANY times the teachers complained about the limited resources this school had to offer and the staff definitely could have been more encouraging. Cochrane Middle School did not have a positive impact in my education I would not recommend this school to parent's who VALUE their child's education.

Cochrane Middle 4

Posted August 20, 2010
- a community member
The 6th grade language art teachers are hard working and really care about their student progress and achievement. It would help if more of the parents would encourage their children to make education an important part of their future. Great things are happening at Cochrane but, it take everyone, the students, teachers, parents and the administrators to make a great school.
1 person found this helpful

Cochrane Middle 1

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Cochrane Middle 1

Posted September 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cochrane Middle 3

Posted June 10, 2008
- a student
I am a former student at this school and yes this school could use a lot of improvement but overall this is a good school. Yes the test scores may be low but some of the students at this school do try really hard. I know that there are rumors about this school bvut if you plan on sending your child here go ahead because if you know that your child wants to learn then yes tis school will bea good one. The school doesnt make the child the child makes the school.

Cochrane Middle 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2008
- a parent
Good school for Kids interested in Science


Cochrane Middle 3

Posted January 01, 2008
- a student
This is a very good school. People should not dought it. Maybe you should come and visit it.

Cochrane Middle 3

Posted March 22, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cochrane Middle
6200 Starhaven Drive, Charlotte, NC  28215
(980) 343-6460
Last modified Cochrane Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cochrane Middle Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.