Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Mecklenburg High 5

Posted August 18, 2016
- a student
The reason why I put a great is because for me East Meck challenge me to exceed in my academic average.

East Mecklenburg High
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2016
- a student
The reason why I strongly agree is because that's the way I feel about it.


East Mecklenburg High
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
The students face zero consequences for showing blatant disrespect to teachers and no regard for rules.

East Mecklenburg High 1

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
Bad school due to bad leadership. Find another option for your child! This is a terrible environment.

East Mecklenburg High 1

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
This school is terribly mismanaged. The principal only cares about his image and not about his teachers or students. The school is falling apart once you get past the front office and auditorium. There are not enough novels, morale is low, and turnover is high. There are many behavioral issues among students that are brushed under the rug so that the principal's image isn't tainted. It is a hostile work and learning environment.


East Mecklenburg High
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
Most teachers at East Meck are too stressed and burnt out to challenge their students.

East Mecklenburg High
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
Students are not held accountable for their actions whatsoever. They curse teachers and each other and act like they are at a football game while in class.

East Mecklenburg High 5

Posted May 01, 2016
- a community member
My daughter is a freshman at East . She has had a fantastic year! She is very involved in school clubs and activities and met so many new, great and smart friends. East is a great place to be! Our family will be at East for 7 more years. Best high school in Charlotte ! Rick Parker is the best school leader. He is personable, engaged with the kids and committed to their success!


East Mecklenburg High 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a student
East Meck is an amazingly diverse community of students with faculty that truly care. Especially with the IB program, students are given global perspectives in the classroom concerning real issues that we will face in our futures. I had my doubts about East Meck going in because of its "bad" reputation from incidents that occurred many years ago, but that reputation is slowly but surely going away, as it should. I have experienced nothing but happiness at this school and I am so grateful to have gone to a school with diversity. Learning at East Meck extends beyond the classroom, and my four years there have really shaped me into who I am as a person today. Go Eagles! Best school in the CMS school system!

East Mecklenburg High 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a student
East Meck has always been considered a vibrant and strong part of the cms system but can sometimes be referred to the quote "bad" school from incidents years and years ago when the lines were redrawn. Going in I though maybe it was based on all of the things I was told by friends going to Providence or Myers Park, but I quickly learned what made a great school. The East Mecklenburg family is a very diverse group of strong and intelectual individuals that strive to better the community and challenge themselves in everyday actions. Coming from being a part of it's well known IB program, I made many life long friends and learned more about how to be open to more ideas and how to be a better well rounded person. East Meck not only embraces the idea of equality and world culture but rather the idea that experiences go a lot longer that the books you read or the papers you write. My 4 years at East Mecklenburg helped evolve me into a college student, open to the many ideas life will begin to throw towards me. The East Meck education embodies critical thinking and analyzation as well as encompacing global aspects to give a more well rounded education.

Nearby schools

East Mecklenburg High
6800 Monroe Rd, Charlotte, NC  28212
(980) 343-6430
Last modified East Mecklenburg High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top